This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

54% success

Oryx

36% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Great stay at Fish River Canyon"

5 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"We stayed at the lodge on the first and last nights, with three nights camping in the upper parts of the canyon.

First the lodge - getting there up the 20km track was interesting in parts; we wondered whether the two wheel drive would be OK, but it was actually fine. The location of the lodge is superb, on the edge of the canyon, and the rooms are very nice. There was one minor issue with the rooms - it was very windy when we were there, and the noise of that wind over and round the lodges rooms was such that residents were offered ear plugs! It is clearly a consequence of the architecture, but it didn't in any way spoil our enjoyment.

The staff were friendly and helpful without exception, and they had a surprise for us on our first evening - a birthday/anniversary cake presented by all the staff, accompanied by singing and dancing. Brilliant, and the staff all clearly enjoyed presenting it.

The four day hike up the upper reaches of the Fish River Canyon was excellent. The walking was easy, i.e. not particularly strenuous and OK for anyone with moderate fitness. Our Guide, Desi was great fun, knowledgeable and good company. Likewise the camp crew. With Desi we learnt a lot about animal tracks, droppings, animals, plants and the geology of the area. It was just the two of us and Desi on the walk, the camps being prepared and moved by the camp crew and their pick-up truck. Camp? We were in a tent, which had camp beds, sheets, duvets and a side table. Nearby was a bush shower, and the camp crew had plenty of hot water ready f or us when we arrived at in the late afternoon. And we had a chemical toilet too. Dinner was at a table with cloth, napkins and lamplight, and comprised a full three course meal almost to the standard of the main lodge restaurant! And all with the Milky Way in all its brilliance overhead. Breakfast was also of a similar standard. On a practical note, it was heading towards mid-winter and the nights were cold, so we certainly used our thermal underwear as pyjamas. But the days were glorious, almost too hot at times. Walking, we didn't expect to get near any animals, but we did see a good range of antelope and zebra, and Desi spotted a horned Adder, which was a treat to see.

The whole walk was great, but it was in the upper reaches of the canyon, and not to be confused with the five day walk down into the deeper part of the canyon to Ai Ais. Our original intention was to do the latter, and it was only when we actually got to the lodge that we realised we were to be going up river and not down - perhaps we had not paid attention to Sabina, because we had been wondering how the camp and catering would work when we knew access is more or less non existent on the walk to Ai Ais. Although we were a little disappointed that we did not go down-river into the deeper canyon, we really enjoyed the walk we did. The important thing is to make clear to customers that this walk is not the one down the canyon, but that it has other attributes: bags are carried; meals are provided, the scenery is different and (probably) more varied; there may be a wider range of wildlife. (This is not a complaint, by the way - we would recommend the walk to anyone - it just needs to be clear what walk it is)." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2014
"Room noisy in the wind and no mosquito nets so bitten at night." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Perched on the edge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2014
"There can be few places in the world which are so remote yet which have such a stunning view - Fish River Lodge is perched literally on the edge of the spectacular canyon of the same name. The rooms consist of individual chalets which are spacious and well appointed but which lack the charm of some of the tented and thatched camps.

The food and the service was good. We enjoyed a sundowner at one of the best viewing points and this was truly excellent and well organised by a very capable guide John.

Apart from the Fish River canyon the Lodge is approached along a winding track through spectacular remote scenery with occasional glimpses of wild animals." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Bristol

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"This lodge is in the most amazing location on the rim of the canyon and we loved it! We enjoyed the sunrise and sunset walks around the rim of the canyon.

Tea, coffee and cake are complimentary mid afternoon." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs S
UK

"A long drive but to and outstanding lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"Not sure the long drive to the canyon would be justified for everyone, and in a way the lodge itself is a better feature than the canyon, especially if you've been to places like the Grand Canyon or Verdon Gorge etc." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Berkshire

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2013
"Very pleasant and helpful staff in a location that was spectacular" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Amigos
Spain

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2013
"It is difficult to get to as the road is 103 km of bad dirt, the service is problematic.

I think if I was going to Fish River with what I know now, I would go to the other side of the canyon and drive in to the National Park" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"worth the drive to see the view"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2012
"A stunning location, a very knowledgable and entertaining guide who managed to still be fresh and enthusiastic on the canyon drive even though he had been doing it every day for 3 months.

The only negative comment is the bed - it really creaked so you would wake yourself up every time you moved.

The food was good but could do with a few tweaks. Not good to put yoghurts in lunch packs that are not going to be eaten until midday in temperatures 0f 30 to 40 degrees. Just means they are all thrown away." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"Wonderful lodge in stark surroundings"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"It was worth the long drive. Perched on the ridge of the canyon with breathtaking views, the lodge matches the environment perfectly. We were so pleased to be staying two nights as we were rather tired by this stage. It was wonderful to have a view of the canyon from our own chalet. The staff were very helpful - a rather unique place." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"great place to see the canyon"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"Enjoyed our stay and freedom to explore canyon rim on our own. Guided excursions are extra Access road difficult without 4x4

Rooms are fairly stark but clean and well kept and in cool weather have no additional heating. The whole set up is more suited to hot weather.The wind at night is well known and the ear-plugs (provided) are necessary at times.

Really enjoyed an impromptu 'concert' by all the staff one evening after dinner

There appears to be a lack or consistent and visible management. We were not offered a welcome refreshment when others arriving that afternoon clearly were.Individual members of staff were outstanding...Charlie deserves a mention.

The wine list was poor many items missing...no Angusura bitters!

Lodge shop very poorly stocked and disappointing" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 58
93%
58 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
11
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa