This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

54% success

Oryx

36% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-58 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Mega Place everyone should stay here!"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"Lovely people in a super loation" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J C
London

"Wonderful place"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2012
"All aspects of my stay at Fish River Lodge were excellent.

I would particularly like to mention my guide, Ben, who was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the area, was a charming companion on the expeditons I went on with him, and, when I lost a hat on an expedition, went out of his way to find it and make sure it caught up with me later on my trip.

I would also like to say that the room, and in particular the view from it, was fabulous. My only criticism would be that the access track from the road was terrible. I do think that for such a very good lodge they should do something to level it out/grade it." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J & Family
Dunmow

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2012
"Fish River Lodge was in an incredible position right on the edge of the canyon with spectacular views. The decor of the lodge was very chic and modern and the rooms were equally chic with an outside shower with an amazing view. The food was delicious. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. However the weather was very cold and windy and we were frozen as the lodge only has two fires. It was so windy in the night we could hardly sleep for the noise.

I also felt the activities were a little misleading. The 1/2 day canyon walk was infact an extremely taxing, rock climbing trek down into the canyon which could take up to 6 hours. This would leave you little time and energy to return to the top of the canyon in one day." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
IOM

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2012
"Excellent location right on the canyon rim: coudln't get any closer!! Lovely staff who tried very hard to make the stay special. The day trip into the canyon was excellent.

Food and wine were extremely good, especially given the remote location of the property. Our room was very spacious,and the outdoor shower was nice and worked better than the indoor one. Plenty of room for luggage." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
UAE

"Spectacular Fish River Lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2011
"Everything about the Fish River Lodge was spectacular - it matched the view perfectly. Watching the sunrise and sunset from the veranda of your chalet located on the edge of the canyon should not be missed.

We look forward to a return visit." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Wales

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"We drove 2 1/2 hrs along a gravel road without seeing another vehiicle & whilst we were driving we were wondering if it was going to be worth it. Well, without a doubt it was! The view from the main building and rooms is simply stunning. We received an extremely warm welocme & was advised about everything we needed to know. We were in room 10. The rooms were clean, had everything you needed-even an outdoor shower (private) & a very large bathroom with room for your cases.

We spent quite a few hours sat on our balcony, drinking, overlooking the canyon. Simply lovely. The staff were extremely helpful & considering how remote the lodge is the food was excellent. We went on a drive in the morning with PJ down into the canyon & it was a real highlight. Do not miss. PJ was an excellent guide & is a real asset. We swam in a rock pool, which was freezing even though it was extremely hot outside & then sat by the pool & had lunch.

We are so glad we did drive this far south because the canyon & the lodge is a definite must in our book." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Fish River Lodge review"

6 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2011
"Fantastic stay at Fish river lodge. Amazing view, very stylish, rooms, loved the outdoor shower, and the management couple were very sweet people." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Sussex

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2011
"Fantastic. Amazing location, great guides" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 51-58 of 58
93%
58 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
11
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa