This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Desert Lodge
Wolwedans Desert Lodge
Wolwedans Desert Lodge
Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

81 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

90% success

Giraffe

11% success

Wildebeest

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 81
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F
Amsterdam

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2018
"What a special place and spectacular setting. The silence of the desert is overwhelming. The room makes you really connect with the surroundings, we left some of the canvas walls open during the night to catch the fresh breeze. It's not about top luxury here, to some the rooms may feel a bit too rustic for that, but it's all about being part of a landscape.

We were a bit spoiled by the excellent guiding at Desert Homestead Outpost where we already learnt a lot about desert life, so the excursions at Wolwedans did not add so much in terms of new information. But we still enjoyed driving through the breathtaking landscape and the kindness and hospitality of our guide Jason.

The communal dining table works well, we had wonderful conversations with fellow guests while enjoying great service and good food. There was always an option for a private table however.

We can easily imagine ourselves going back to Wolwedans in the future, just doing nothing, soaking up the landscape, contemplating, like a retreat." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

2 sightings

Linda & Paul
UK

"Memorable location"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"The location of this lodge is truly memorable and the rooms were wonderful too.

One member of the party who has stayed here before commented that the lodge was not of the same highest standard as it used to be.

Additionally, our guide during our stay was not very informative and did not take us to particularly good photographic locations." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2018
"What a place and what a location. We were the only guests for both nights and the staff really went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We loved the singing prior to dinner as well as the introduction of the menu. The drives were excellently done very informative" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Mallorca

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2018
"sensational - one of the most incredible places ever" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & E
UK

"Our favorite stay of the trip "

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2017
"Just a wonderful relaxed place with great service." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2017
"Still excellent [Ed: See their review below]" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2017
"Wonderful. Beautiful location, lovely accommodation, great food, amazing staff who we all felt were like real friends by the time we left. They all went the extra mile for us and made us feel very special.

We loved all the dancing and singing. Our guide, who had 11 sisters was absolutely amazing and very knowledgable and fun ,coped very well with the 4grannies!!

We would all love to return." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr N
October

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Absolutely fantastic lodge - location, ambience, architecture. Lovely staff.

Tabita was an excellent guide.

We had one issue which we took up directly with the resort manager, Jack, and would like to understand whether things got resolved - would you be able to get his email address please?" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Horsham

"Wolwedans lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"A good lodge on top of a sand dune which made walking around a bit more difficult as you crossed the sand

Staff were helpful and considerate. Food was good with staff singing before the meal. This would be better after eating as when you are ready to eat you want to get on and eat" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Desert Luxury.."

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Regrettably we were only able to spend one night at Wolwedans Dune Lodge, but that allowed us sufficient time to ascertain that there is little not to like and enjoy there. The location, design, furnishings are stunning and in harmony with the location especially the communal areas. We could have stayed for three nights and not tired of simply sitting and absorbing the magnificent surroundings.

Our one night was an all inclusive package and on arrival we were very warmly greeted by our guide Tabitha who was enthusiastic and anxious to show us all that she could in the short time that we had. She accompanied us to sundowners and also a short drive the following morning before we sadly departed.

They focus heavily on conservation which is understandable and whilst requests like limiting bathing water usage can prove a little frustrating its understandable under the circumstances.

Dinner was a set time and a little later might have allowed for some more relaxing time after sundowners, but again in the location I can understand the ease and practicality of all guests dining at the same time. We were served cold vegetables which we were not expecting given the reviews we had read about their focus on food, but we will forgive them this oversight as the overall experience was wonderful.
Since we did not eat lunch on our day of arrival, they had noted that we would be provided with a packed lunch the following day, but this did not happen and we also forgot to ask, plus we were not driving so far so it was not a hinderance.

It was our wedding anniversary during our trip to Namibia, although not on this particular day, and we were touched by the acknowledgment of the lodge by placing a basket of treats and a card in our room.

Many thanks to all the staff for a superb experience. Wolwedans has created what we feel is a wonderful atmosphere and we felt priviledged to be able to share in it." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 81
95%
81 reviews of Wolwedans Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
15
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (60 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (38 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (37 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (3 reviews)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa