This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Wolwedans Desert Lodge
Wolwedans Desert Lodge
Wolwedans Desert Lodge
Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

81 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

90% success

Giraffe

11% success

Wildebeest

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 81
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Location and activities"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2017
"Stunning location with the most amazing views. The activities were top class, our guide was excellent.

Disappointed by the quality of the meals and some problems in our room (there was no hot water and they did not solve it), we took our showers in the next room." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms K
Brisbane

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"This place is extraordinarily fantastic. We were happy to just sit and soak up the ambience. Can recommend the massage and just sitting and enjoying the view. We did a morning drive on the day we departed - nice to have a look around but not many animals if that is what you are looking for, great scenery tho.The only negative was that the staff seemed incapable of booking scenic flights or balloon flights - there are brochures advertising these activities but it seemed impossible to organise either." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Wow! What a setting."

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2017
"This was another of Maruska's recommendations and we spent a long time hesitating at the expense. But we are so glad we took her guidance. It was an absolute highlight of our holiday.

The chalets are no more luxurious than other lodges, but the communal areas - dining room, lounge room, bar and pool are all stunningly located, designed, built and furnished. The meals were excellent, the staff friendly and attentive.

Our two game drives with our guide,Sam, were fantastic. The landscape is superb and the sundowners each day were in magical settings." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Brighton

"Amazing place"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2017
"This was an amazing place to stay in terms of location and helpful friendly staff. Tabitha our guide deserves a special mention for her friendly welcome and trips to see the sunset and tracking animals in the desert. It felt good to stay somewhere where they are doing good work and are part of a community.
My only negative comment was that the hot water system broke and I couldn't have a wash one day!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D & Mrs C
Kent

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"Fantastic place and "Terrible Thelma" an outstanding hostess.

Rather too much food in such hot conditions.

Limited activities so perfect just for two nights" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms AC
SW London

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"Spectacular in every way!

My children are still talking about the sun-downers and all the fun they had rolling down endless sand dunes and trying to find white lady spiders." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Dulwich

"A place in a million"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"A place like nowhere else on earth; perched on top of the sand dunes.
We slept under canvas but it was definitely 5 star. My boys preferred it to Sossuvlei.
We found hot water bottles in our bed at night and were woken by stunning sunrises that we could see from our 4 poster bed.
Selma was great and our guide David absolutely fantastic. All the staff were great and there was a very special atmosphere.
The pool area was lovely too." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Arrived mid afternoon, long drive in (24km) welcomed by David at reception, then driven to Lodge Camp. Helena gave us Rock Shandies, fantastic.

Room 7 has an amazing position as do the rest. Went for Sundowner with guide Bravo, we drank whilst he changed a tyre!! Good 5 course dinner seated with other guests. Breakfast good.

All day game drive with Bravo (120km) not much to see for first hour but numbers of Oryx, Springbok, Giraffe & Ostrich grew from then on. Wonderful views across the plain. Picnic lunch and back by 5.00pm. Pool lovely and cool. Laundry well ironed but had to pay N$95? Very good dinner and breakfast.

Great place to stay in stunning location. Photographers dream." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
I&C
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"Excellent location and food." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 81
95%
81 reviews of Wolwedans Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
15
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (60 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (38 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (37 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (3 reviews)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa