This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 81-90 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"A truly stunning place to visit."

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2016
"This was to be our last destination, and it surpassed every other lodge we had stayed at. The location is stunning, the quality of the staff excellent, the lodge we stayed in was marvellous, very spacious with views you have to experience to believe.

We did some Leopard, Hyena, and Cheteeh tracking with our guide Daniel, and these were really unforgettable experiences,made even more interesting with our guide.

The whole 3 days were really marvellous, I would recommend this site to everyone. For some reason we were given the honeymoon suite, and gave us the opportunity to experience the local game at close range.

The only minor draw back was the limited evening menu. Always meat, But every other aspect of the stay at Okonjima was truly stunning." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Cheetah magic"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2016
"Our last stop of the trip and for two nights. First impressions were that it might all be quite contrived but not a bit of it. We encountered surprisingly few other vehicles on our drives (the guides actually communicate to try to avoid each other which is unlike many camps when finding a special animal). Yes many of the cats are collared but sightings don't seem at all artificial. The photographic opportunities with leopard and cheetah are absolutely unrivalled. Possibly the most magic moments of the whole trip were walking within 10 paces of the fastest mammal on the planet. The Africat Centre does a magnificent job rehabilitating and (sometimes) releasing big cats and you are missing the point if you don't make time to visit. The central area of the camp is more hotel-like than some but the chalets offer excellent accommodation with outdoor sitting room (overlooking a little watering hole and with seed to feed the birds). Vegetarian food again very disappointing." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms O
Vancouver

"We were upgraded!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"We arrived at Okonjima to find we'd been upgraded to the Villa. It was phenomenal. Two other guests joined us for dinner the first night and the next morning's activity. Aside from that we had the place to ourselves. It felt like a private house, but with a bunch of staff including a chef.

The activities were great too. Really enjoyed the cheetah tracking, especially because we were allowed to approach closely on foot. We did it twice. The first time we had to chase them down and had quite a long walk. The second time we found a pair quickly. These ones were kind enough to stay still and pose for us.

The Africat tour was very informative and provided another opportunity to get quite close to a leopard and cheetahs." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Driffield

"Supremely enjoyable from every angle"

3 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2016
"There could be no better guide than Daniel" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2016
"Arrived for lunch, poor welcome. Large, comfortable room No. 4 with separate siting & bird feeding area.

Charming guide Gideon took us on evening game drive. Saw Leopards before it rained. Good dinner for me as Sarah has upset stomach. the Lodge supplied her with Kaolin which helps settle her. Quiet day until evening game drive, seeing Wild Dogs, very interesting.

Lodge gave Sarah soup two nights running as she was still unwell.

More rain, visit the Africat Centre, worth a visit. Night hide visit after dinner, saw spotted Genet and Brown Hyena. Great." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Shrewsbury

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"By far and away the VERY best part off our trip (2700 kilometres) enjoyed every minute, excellent in every way, even the trips were half the price the others were charging and much better than Etosha, saw a great deal more and had two great nights their. The view and comfort of the rooms truly outstanding.

Recomened, don't miss it. Stayed in room No2" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
I&C
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"As always very relaxing,everyone very friendly,game drives expertly managed.

Excellent, will return" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Hereford

"Great activities at Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"Excellent service and accommodation all round and the tours were exceptional.

We took an evening tour to see porcupines and honeybadgers, a sunrise tour to track cheetahs and a sunset tour to track leopards. Our guide Daniel was excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Okonjima Bush Camp is perfection"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"We kept the best to last, this was our fifth visit, and we are now getting to know the staff and the guides as well as the Africat team

The rooms were quite fabulous before but are even better now giving a separate sitting room with wide open windows overlooking the plane , The communal areas are very attractive with loads of sitting areas,

The guides are very knowledgable and apart from tracking the leopards and cheetahs, they spot any thing else that moves, and even showed us footprints and snake tracks.

James has an interest in cheetah anatomy and was able to spend some time talking to Tristan Boheme and his vet again at the Africat.education centre

The staff always make us so welcome, we really hope we can go again before long." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa