This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 91-100 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs V
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Leeds

"A wonderful upgrade to the Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"We were upgraded to Okonjima Bush Camp which is the more luxurious camp, as were all the other guests in fact. We absolutely loved the place. It was beautiful, luxurious, and we had the best meal of our whole trip there. We wished we could stay for longer.

When we booked we were cautiously told it was a place for rescued cheetahs and that the leopards were collared. That is true but it is an enormous enterprise covering a huge area and there are truly wild indigenous creatures there as well. When the guides were tracking the collared leopards we stumbled upon a wild one as well. The guides are well informed and it was different and exciting to track the collared animals with the radio receivers.

I would go back there and would highly recommend a stay of 2 nights." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms FJ
SW London

"Luxury at Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2015
"Fabulous place to stay, could have done with longer than one night though.

Good post supper activity seeing two of my favourite animals - porcupine and honey badger." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"A wonderful surprise"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2015
"Having been prepared to find this camp touristy we were very pleasantly surprised and had a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. The accommodation was spectacular and we could have stayed longer.

If the collars gave a false sense of how easy it was to track down game it was still good to see leopard, cheetah and wild dog in a much larger area than we had expected. Also, good to see honey badger even if the circumstances were manufactured." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Newport

"WOW"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2015
"THE ROOMS HAD THE XX FACTOR WITH GOOD VIEWS

THE GAME DRIVE AND SUNDOWNER WAS EXCELLENT ESPECIALLY AFTER FINDING A LEOPARD AND CUB" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2015
"Not such an exciting place as some others but it offers walking trails and real chances to see leopards and cheetahs up close. Great scenery and views too.

One place where they might offer a birding game drive." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"very comfortable and well designed camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2015
"The emphasis at Okonjima has in the past been on the cats that have been saved from farmers traps and then released into Okonjima's reserve. This approach has various reservations attached to it and other, more commercial organisations, elsewhere in southern Africa have featured recently in critical press coverage. We were pleased to see when we got to Okonjima that they now stress that their prime activity is working with farmers to find ways of avoiding conflict between people and animals and developing approaches and techniques to decrease predation by wild big cats on livestock.

The leopard programme seems to be a real success, not least because of 'naturally present' leopards in the Reserve as well as 'rescued' animals. But we felt that the Camp would benefit from being more open about the fact that the three cheetahs and one spotted hyena in the Reserve are very unlikely to form the basis of a breeding population, and in reality their role is to be a visitor attraction and to see out their lives in the reserve.

But that being said, the camp is a very pleasant place to stay, with a resident population of wart hogs who provide entertainment, and a lot of birdlife who can provide hours of interest beside your hut, if you fill the small bird bath that sits outside. It is also a privilege to be able to get so close to leopards, with the aid of the guides and the radio collars on a number of the animals." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Halifax

"Cheetah and leopard encounters!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2014
"Luxury bungalows in an extensive grounds. The birds (and warthogs) come right to the door and some feed is provided which certainly attracts a few visitors.

On our first trip out, we found a leopard in typical pose, resting in a tree. We we're able to get up really close for some amazing photos and watched as she darted off on a hunt. Rohan (assisted by John) was our guide. He was knowledgable, humorous and above all passionate about the wildlife.

On our second day we tracked cheetah, initially by jeep, but then on foot. It was a special experience to follow a wild animal as she zig-zagged through the bush, hunting for something to eat. Suddenly the cheetah stopped and seemed nervous and twitchy. "I think there's a leopard" whispered our guide, and a few seconds later we saw it through the trees. "Whatever you do, don't run, or it will think you are food". We watched nervously for a few minutes, then retreated to the safety of the jeep. A unique experience." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Okonjima Bush Camp-Brilliant"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2014
"Very friendly,good food,leopard safari fantastic-leopard in tree with kill.

Wish we had more than one night there" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
Abingdon

"Amazing place!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"Okonjima is the height of comfort. We received a very warm welcome from Zanelle and all of the staff.

Our room was fabulous and could be opened so that you felt you were really in the midst of nature. It had a comfy sitting area, a large very comfortable bed and a lovely walk in shower. The food was excellent and served by friendly and helpful staff. Sundowners overlooking the a reserve, a wonderful stay. All the staff were enthusiastic and keen to explain the project and the reasons for its existence.

A great place to stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa