This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 101-110 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Perfect Place to Rest"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"After eleven days, we must admit to being slightly fatigued and the City Lodge fit our needs perfectly. Convenient, clean, quiet, it was a good place to rest before our flight home. For a reasonable fee, we were allowed to stay in our room until 6 PM.

The restaurant was good, the service friendly. The only downside is that we were headed home instead of back to Botswana!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Texas

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Only here overnight so good for the short amount of time" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr S
Illlinois

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms T & Mr C
San Fran

"Convenient"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"Convenient location for transfer. Standard western comfort and convenience." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs O
USA

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2013
"It was OK overall but we found the room rather small. The bathroom was nice and the whole place clean.

We decided to stay at the Intercontinental Hotel on the last day of our African trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr S
Illlinois

"The Perfect Place to Stay Overnight at the Ai"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2013
"It is an easy 10 minute walk from City Lodge to the main terminal at OR Tambo. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the Intercontinental Hotel at the airport which is twice as expensive.

The rooms are comfortable and all the necessary amenities although they aren't particularly large. The staff is efficient and polite, but not especially friendly. I have to say that the breakfast buffet was outstanding and I was amazed at wide range of items available. Furthermore, everything was very fresh and the quality was excellent.

Yes It is an ideal place to stay if you have a flight the next day from Johannesburg." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs J
Oz

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2013
"For an airport hotel it was quite adequate with easy access from airport. However the lunch menu was certainly not the best and dinner menu was exactly the same" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr S
West Yorkshire

"Great place to overnight in Johannesburg."

1 night Arrived 4 May 2013
"As we were overnighting between flights in Jo'burg this hotel was ideal. You can walk to and from the arrivals / departure which was a great bonus.

The hotel was very clean and the evening meal menu was better than the hotel suggested . As an alternative you could order in a 'take away'.

There was a small gym and outside pool." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
VIC

"Handy and convenient.. Workmanlike, pleasant"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2013
"Glad not to have to wander around Johannesburg. Ease of access to airport for early start" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Edinburgh

"OK Airport Hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2012
"Journey from Ichobezi through Joburg to Bazaruto felt very long and a bit of a waste of time.

I noticed that one of the charter companies that flew us into Kasane advertised that they flew direct to Bazaruto - we would definitely like to have explored the cost of that as our actual journey was undoubtedly the low point of our holiday" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 101-110 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa