This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Danny Jury
Tonbridge

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Couldn't have asked for a better experience (except Sacha/Ian not finding us a Leopard when the other team did!!!).

The staff were amazing, made us feel very welcome and were very warming to us on the drices, walks and evenings.

Exceptional!!!!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Rickmanswo

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"Our stay at Beho Beho was perfect in every way. The accommodation was fantastic, the most amazing view from the open verandah onto the plain below - spent many magical moments just watching animal life unfold below.

Tam and Sacha and all the guides were always friendly, smiling and eager to please. The food was always excellent and it was good to meet the other guests each day and swap our stories.

Cannot fault anything about Beho Beho. Would very highly recommend." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Henhem

"Great safari at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"We loved Beho Beho. The rooms and main areas are spacious and beautifully appointed. The view from our room was stunning. The staff are friendly and attentive, but it is the standard of guiding that makes a safari such an enjoyable experience. All the guides at Beho Beho are extremely knowledgeable not just on the wildlife but also on the trees and flowers. Our special thanks go to Sasha who is not only a brilliant guide but saved our lives when an angry buffalo charged towards us whilst out walking.

Their is a choice of activities each morning and afternoon ranging from walking, driving to boating, and all are amazing. You really get to see these animals at close range. We also enjoyed our 6.00 pm sundowner each evening in a different location. Such a nice touch. We cannot recommend Beho Beho highly enough.

The food is delicious and plentiful. Beho Beho was our first safari experience and we think we have found possibly the best. There is absolutely nothing we would change and would return tomorrow given half a chance." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
St Albans

"All round great safari experience"

5 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2010
"A superb meeting of safari and welcoming country house experience. Hosting, guiding and ambiance is of the highest quality from start to finish. The Lake Tagalala day and the walks were particular highlights but we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The bush camp, whilst a delightful experience might strike seasoned safari travellers as a touch soft. Quibbles?, well, the game is relatively skittish (it didn't stop us seeing a leopard, though!), and the bountiful procession of food nearly overwhelmed our digestive systems (we would happily of foregone the rich evening meals for lighter catering at the level of the delicious lunches).

Overall, a great stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Devon

"Luxury and Wildlife at Beho Beho"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2010
"Everything about this camp is of the highest quality - the accommodation, the staff, the food, all the guiding, the setting and the game near to it. A wonderful place to relax and from which to watch the game down on the plain below or at the waterhole, and also from which to venture out on expeditions.

After our 3 days of walking we first had a very pleasent afternoon game drive with Heribert, visiting the overcrowded hippo pool. Over the next 2 days we were guided on walks by Sacha and Ian. Plentiful game. Sat under a tree having our morning tea with Sacha as 300+ buffalo walked by to their shady spot.

On the evening walk with Ian we walked on the outskirts of the forest listening to the low rumbling noises of elephants invisible to us amongst the trees. Drove to a hyena den early on our last morning where we watched as bloodstained members of the pack made their way home after their night's exertions. Watched the submissive rituals of the male as he approached the matriarch and the frolics of a young cub who tried to emulate his mother's yowls.

This camp is a perfect safari destination." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2010
"Mashaka from Selous Safari Camp drove us all the way here – a new experience for him as he'd never been to Beho Beho before.

We arrived to welcoming smiles from Sacha and Tamlyn and cool drinks and towels provided by Mr Simba. We were a little surprised to have been asked to arrive so early as our room was not going to be available until after lunch. However, shortly after Tam's introduction Sacha bounded in and pulled us outside to see a rare Scop's owl perched in a nearby tree. It was very obliging and posed perfectly while we, Sacha and Salum photographed it. It was great to see how enthusiastic they were at this sighting.

Tamlyn said she had not been informed of my cheese allergy so had to make some amendments to lunch but was really careful thereafter, even standing guard over my personal loaf of bread so that it didn't disappear before I could have some. Lunches and dinners were excellent (even better than SSC) and accompanied by very good South African wines. The quality of the food would be exceptional in a major hotel but considering it's cooked in the bush it's incredible - huge prawns and crab for lunch, varied salads, very good meat at dinner, the best snapper we've ever eaten and lobster thermidor on the last evening! Plus delicious puddings. The variety was wonderful.

We were less impressed with breakfasts in the bush but clearly these are designed to be carried by a walking guide so cannot be as extensive as those planned for driving expeditions. Breakfast in camp was very good on our last morning.

Hospitality was excellent – nothing too much trouble – and there were some little touches which made it clear how much thought had been given to our comfort. For example the squirrel-proof box in the bathroom to save our toiletries from any more nibbling. We loved the spotting scope on each balcony too. Bandas were comfortable, bathroom well equipped and spacious and even a washing line and hairdryer provided.

There is a very high emphasis on walking trips here, led by Sacha or Ian. These are varied to guests requirements, from a gentle wander to a mixed driving/walking morning to a 6 hour yomp through the forest.

Most game drives head towards Lake Manze but I (Jane) also shared an excellent final evening drive with another lady through the sandy riverbeds around camp, seeing some new birds as well as loads of elephants, giraffes and even colobus monkeys. Meanwhile Martin and the other walkers were trying to find their way around buffalos.

Beho Beho is a class act and deserving of its great reputation." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A family
Yorkshire

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2010
"Wonderful atmosphere and excellent but not for a first safari.

Too many flies though also the pool needs a revamp and enlarging.

Otherwise amazing as Sacha's knowledge is awesome backed by a fantastic team.
Memorable holiday" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F & family
London

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"A truly amazing experience - from the moment we arrived. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, without being overbearing in any way. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable, the accommodation is fantastic.

This was our first safari, so we can't make comparisons, but there's a real sense of being in the wilderness when in the Selous. We rarely saw another vehicle on our game drives. We saw the immediate aftermath of a lion kill on our first afternoon, and elephants digging drinking holes in a dried up riverbed about an hour later - quite a start.

The Beho Beho staff provide great surprises for the guests - sundowner drinks in spectacular settings, and meals in a variety of locations, for example. The guides are so enthusiastic about their surroundings, and made every outing seem special, whether by jeep, boat, or on foot.

We were out for 10 hours one day, with so many experiences one after another." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms L
London

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"Terrific location overlooking a valley; great staff who look after you - very cheerful, helpful and informative, great accommodation and great food.

Above all a great experience in the animal kingdom." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F & Mr F
UK

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2010
"Beho Beho is full of nice surprises and adventures. Staff is excellent, always smiley and very helpful and entertaining. They never seem to get bored of bush stories although I'm sure they heard them a 100 times! The rooms and the view are great, full of art work and nice furniture from Africa. Great to sleep with open curtains and listening to the noises of the valley below...

One small problem: the showers in the bathrooms are quite hard to handle and it takes time to get to an ok temperature - (not a lot of pressure either but I guess it comes from the fact are in the middle of the bush!)

The Bush night was fantastic, not many guests knew about it so that made it even more special for us, a fabulous honey moon experience with camp fire and bubbly!

During the day out to the lake and the hot springs a few of us would have like to have more regular meals or snacks as were really hungry towards the end of the day (after only a big breakfast in the morning).

But overall, we met great people and had a fantastic time. Every day is different at Beho beho; not only the walks and drives (all done by great guides) but also the location of lunches and dinners, and we think four nights including a bush night is the perfect length of stay to enjoy it fully without repetitions." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa