This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

88% success

Elephant

48% success

Hippo

45% success

White Rhino

16% success

Showing 141-150 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr S
Oxford

"Great location for Victoria Falls."

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2011
"A welcoming and attractive hotel. Would like to have stayed longer!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
6
Whangarei

"Large resort, excellent location"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2011
"Excellent location, close proximity to Victoria Falls. Free access, easy walking distance to viewing areas.

A typical large resort with lovely pool and outdoor bar and restaurant areas. An extensive buffet is prepared for all meals which caters for every imaginable taste. The food is good. Watch for the cheeky vervet monkeys particularly at breakfast time - they will jump on to your table a steal the sugar sachets, and anything else on offer.

Livingstone probably has the nicest woodwork and carvings we saw anywhere on our trip if you're after souvenirs. The helicopter ride over the falls is highly recommended. Because of the high volume of water when we were there, there was masses of spray at ground level near the falls, it was good to get the perspective from the air. Staff at the Zambezi Sun were VG, service was good. Our room flooded from below (some plumbing problem presumably) and we were moved to another room.

Internet is free using their computers (3 available and slow) but charge to use Wi-Fi." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr E
USA

"Zambezi Sun"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2011
"Great location especially to walk to falls. Fun to watch monkeys stealing peoples food" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Fun by the Falls"

3 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2010
"This is a very comfortable and well run hotel ideally positioned for (free) access to the Falls and with interesting bird and mammal life in the extensive grounds.
We would probably have rated it "excellent" overall had it not been for:

(a) the (possibly seasonal) loud-ish around the pool and dining/bar area for most of the daylight hours and all evening during our stay; and

(b) the hotel's apparent inability to provide help to guests on activities other than the admittedly extensive standard offerings." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs L
Lyndhurst

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"We enjoyed our stay at the Zambesi Sun. We chose it instead of The Royal Livingstone because we thought it would be more fun and so it proved to be. We enjoyed sitting by the pool listening to the african band.Unfortunately the evening buffet was expensive and very poor quality." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs D
Twickenham

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"After 11 days safari this was a hideous culture shock, arriving in a noisy busy environment full of Saga package tourists and financial business conference delegates. If anyone suggests staying here again, PLEASE recommend the Vic Falls hotel on the Zimbabwe side, that was heavenly. We would gladly have paid the extra.

We had to change rooms because the door lock needed fixing then the widnow lock was a bit dodgy. Rooms were not terribly clean. Non-stop music in the central bar was a drag.

Food a bit ropey." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Ms M
Ottershaw

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2010
"In my opinion the hotel was perfectly clean and the staff were helpful and pleasant.

However the Victoria Falls from the Zambia side is uninspiring, especially at this time of year. I am very glad that I did not end my trip here.

The river trip was very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms FM
SW London

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"A bit of a shock to be in a large hotel after the camps! But it was a good location and the room was perfectly acceptable.

Food and ambience was standard for a large mid quality hotel so we took advantage of the much nicer sister hotel for sundoweners the first night and evening meal the second night - dinner booking essential, hence we only managed to get in for second night.

We walked across to Zimbabwe on the whole day that we had there which was well worth the cost and effort. And the sundowner cruise on the African Queen was a great way to spend the final sundown of our holiday." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The P family
Richmond

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2010
"Perfectly placed for Victoria Falls. My room door was extremely difficult to open and shut. A great last night to a wonderful holiday." See all these reviews: 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 220
85%
220 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
111
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa