This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp

Reviews of Chongwe River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

112 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chongwe River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chongwe River Camp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

53% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

89% success

Spotted Hyena

74% success

Zebra

44% success

Aardvark

24% success

Eland

6% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 112
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Beds

"Memorable experience at Chongwe River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2009
"Chongwe River Camp is in a delightful location, absolutely fabulous area. We had some very memorable experiences in the camp with the Elephants that came through every afternoon and at night to eat the fruits that fall from the trees in camp, some fantastic photo opportunities. Our guide Patrick was also very knowledgeable, particularly with the birds and good at tracking lion. We had some lovely encounters with Lions in the early morning. Also the variety of birds were fabulous.
We saw far more animals around the camp than in the National Park and were disappointed in the game seen within the park boundaries.
Our accomodation and service received by Debbie, Cariline, Neil, and all the staff was really great. Unfortunately Chris went down with a tummy bug which lasted through to our next camp (Tena Tena). We can't be sure but suspect it must have been caused by something consumed at Chongwe as the Doctor seen by Chris at Tena Tena said it would have been caused by something she ingested. Note I only mark down the Food below because of this occurence." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"lovely camp in beautiful setting."

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2009
"the camp and surrounding area were superb. we had elephants in camp each day, so close you could almost touch them. great photo's taken from my bed!!

water excursions excellent. unfortunately the park where we spent most time on the drived was almost devoid of game for the whole of our visit.

patrick was am excellent guide and the camp staff were also great." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr R
Birmingham

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"An idyllic setting at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambesi rivers.
Excellent rooms with a very high standard of service.
Food very good with nice wine.
We really enjoyed the fishing for both tigerfish (biggest 8lbs) and bream. The tigers are catch and release. We did enjoy eating the bream as bar snacks...very tasty. On our last day, another guest in our boat hooked a huge Vundu catfish which he landed after 30 minutes or so. Not able to weigh but estimated at 80-100 lbs. It was 5 feet long with a head the size of a large shovel. Davey the guide wa svery helpful
We also enjoyed the canoe trip on the Zambesi.
We were somewhat disappointed by the game viewing although we only did one long drive.
For us, this is a place to end your trip and relax on the river." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Italy

"Chongwe River Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
H family
Cheshire

"Chongwe River Camp, fishing discovered!"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"When they say animals in the camp, they mean in your space! To the point of feeling unsafe. Hippos separated us from the bathroom at night and elephants came into the sitting room. It is a large spread out camp and the nightwatchmen always seemed a long way away!

We stayed in the Albida suite which was great to have family time having spent previous 10 days eating communally. Edward looked after us very well and was an invaluable help. However it did cause problems as we did not seem to get information on trips and activities or to know the staff as well as we had in other places. We definately felt we were slotted into activities that the guides were organising rather than those we were interested in. eg. We wanted to go canoeing but ended up bird watching whilst the guide paddled. Communication between guests, managers and guides seemed problematic.

Discovering river fishing was a highlight of our stay at Chongwe. David's quiet, patient and gentle manner whilst teaching us to fish was inspirational. My youngest daughter and husband are now converts.

One of my daughters had previously picked up a stomach bug and was very ill during our stay at Chongwe. Debbie, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Notts

"Chongwe River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Large camp with plenty of activities but slightly disadvantaged by not being in the Park. Exciting 4x4 drives through river fords with steep cliimbs. Terrain very varied in Lower Zambezi Park and camp provided excellent guides who, again, displayed outstanding knowledge of the animals and of the location.

We enjoyed a boat ride on Chongwe River and Zambezi River and would recommend this as part of the stay. 5 elephants in camp every day eating the Winterthorn pods and staff took great care of clients when they were about. This all added to the magic of Africa. Plenty of animal river life in particular.

This was an enjoyable experience although the camp was a little larger than we had anticipated. Excellent tent accommodation though our ochre and pebble bathroom decked out like a Victorian grotto was possibly in need of some refurbishment." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Northumber

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"We enjoyed the variety of activities including boat and canoe trips as well as game drives and walking. Lots of interest with interaction between the different animals and very lucky with our sightings.

Very pleased to be recognised by Daniel (guide) from our visit to Chiawa 5 years earlier!

Location superb and all in all an excellent few days to complete our trip in spite of DSM still being unwell." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Boston

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"This camp has great facilities. I liked that the tents had doors and curtains, and also appreciated the lamps, as I usually read before I go to sleep. The bathroom was very nice, and the hot water was plentiful and immediately available.

Caroline was very warm. The guides were all very good.

The range of activities was great. I went canoeing and fishing, and also on game walks and drives. The visit to Chongwe Falls was particularly fun." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D party
Belgium

"Super whole day drive with lunch!"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2009
"We had a very nice stay at Chongwe.

The experiences on the Zambesi (by boat)were very nice, interesting , relaxing, and also a little bit exiting because of the hippo's and crocs!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms Y
UK

"Chongwe River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2009
"The kayak trip down the Zambezi down the narow cut was excellent.
Helpful guides and staff.
The comment below about the food is because we were comparing it to the Kapani where the catering was first class." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 112
96%
112 reviews of Chongwe River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
92
17
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (104 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (75 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (35 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa