This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Reviews of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

86 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pongwe Beach Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 86
Duration
Arrival date
Miss B & Mr G
Taunton

"Beautiful"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2014
"A fantastic beach break which couldn't have been more different from the safari and Lake Manza that we had come from.

Stunning views and location." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Idyllic Beach at Pongwe"

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"Pongwe is a fabulous place to stay. Situated on a lovely beach and the lodge itself has a great bar and dining room, all open to the beach. The food here was excellent as was the friendly service with a few special touches, such as bringing fruit down to the beach each day.

The infinity swimming pool was a wonderful extra, especially when the tide was out. We had a brilliant New Year's Eve celebration here with a delicious seafood BBQ on the beach, followed by dancing. Great fun, and very well organised.

It was very hot while we were here although there was a strong sea breeze. As we were in the garden rooms, we didn't really benefit from the sea breeze. Our only disappointment with Pongwe was that we were not in sea facing rooms." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Steve H
Leeds

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

7 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2013
"Very relaxing time - excellent friendly and attentive staff and good food. the facilities are excellent and the beach area is idyllic. The gardens too are beautiful with very good birdlife

The food was very good and the only slight criticism was that sometimes there was so much lettuce with the salads that it hid the other ingredients!

The room was spacious and comfortable and the amenities provided are very good. Bathroom basic and brackish water supply for washing and showering would not suit everyone" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Fairfield

"Pngwe Breach Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"This was a great place to relax and enjoy the beach. I love the fact that the beach is available at both low and high tide." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Milton Keynes

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

6 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"The family room was great although my husband would have preferred to have a chair or two in the bedroom. Also - a few more hooks or towel rails in the bathroom/rooms would be useful. The balcony/veranda outside the family room is beautiful, and a great place to spend a few hours away from the midday sun.

The food was delicious, but the breakfast service was a bit erratic - on some days it was very slow. Also, we did feel that the staff weren't as well trained as at the Impala Camp. It could be useful for some of the Hotel Managers to be out in the restaurant/bar area a bit more (similar to Impala Camp), so that they are more aware of the service that is happening.

Nice to have the swimming pool, beach games and snorkelling." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Stockport

"A little gem!"

6 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"We stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel after a six-night safari and had a very relaxing time. The cottages were beautiful and the beach and gardens were idyllic. We were so happy that we'd chosen to stay there, it was just the right size of hotel and didn't feel like a resort, which we wanted to avoid.

The service was excellent and the food in particular was delicious, we looked forward every day to finding out what the luch and dinner menu was!! Dinner on the beach was a lovely touch, I'd highy recommend it.

Pongwe is a real gem in a stunning setting!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F family
Sherborne

"Just the perfect place after safari."

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"The beach is fine, white coral sand with palm trees giving welcome shade, and the beer is cold and the sea is warm. The staff are attentive and friendly, and the food, particularly the sea food, is excellent.

We stayed three nights and did very little. Perfect for total relaxation, but If you stay longer you may start getting restless as it is quiet and secluded." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W
Richmond

"A perfect place to relax"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2013
"We spent three nights at Pongwe Beach after a safari and it was the perfect place to relax and chill. The beach is beautiful and well maintained and the bedrooms very spacious and comfortable. The timing was just right – any longer and we’d have wanted more options for eating and activities – but for a couple of days it was great.

The food was good, but you were meant to decide on dinner choices straight after breakfast – I guess this reduces waste, but it felt a bit unnecessary. The service was very friendly, but variable at times, some long waits and once main course arriving before we’d finished the starters.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Tadley

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

7 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2013
"We absolutely loved our time at Pongwe Beach Hotel, it definitey came up to expectations. The hotel was just as you had described: simple but with all necessary mod cons and we couldn't fault any of it. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't have done more for us. Food was excellent: an uncluttered menu with everything cooked to perfection. Our little "cottage" was only just finished - I think we were the first occupants - and it included our very own plunge pool which was an added bonus.

There is no fresh water at Pongwe, as you know, and this is a problem which they will need to address. After a day of swimming, sunbathing, snorkelling, etc. it would be really nice to be able to get free of all the salt with a fresh water shower and at present this isn't possible. You never really get rid of all the salt! A very small gripe was that there are NO hair driers in the hotel - I could easily have packed mine but didn't because we were urged to keep our luggage to a minimum. They should think about this, too.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss B & Mr B
UK

"Over rated"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"After reading some really amazing reviews about Pongwe Beach Hotel we were rather disappointed that the room we stayed in ( vals room) for four nights was not as expected. The bed was really small and the room did become rather uncomfortable when the cooling breeze stopped during the night. Fans were provided but they did not seem to be effective through the thick mozzie netting.

Meals were good at lunchtime and dinner, but we would have liked more of a choice at breakfast.

Lunch menu averaged around 12$ pp which is quite expensive, dinner around 30$ pp but as we were half board dinner was included.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 41-50 of 86
95%
86 reviews of Pongwe Beach Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge is one of our favourite beach lodges. With only 12 cottages right on the edge of the old coral cliff, it is personal and relaxing.


89% (44 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat is one of the most exclusive lodges on Zanzibar, with four split-level villas each with their own veranda, sun terrace, plunge pool.


89% (9 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa