This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

245 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 36 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

56% success

Zebra

19% success

Buffalo

16% success

Showing 231-240 of 245
Duration
Arrival date
Mr E
Berkeley

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2011
"This is a very nice lodge within a 10 minute walk of the falls. The room was very comfortable, and the front desk was helpful. Bathroom had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. They did screw up my transfer from the airport, but they gave me a credit and an apology, so they did resolve the issue. Breakfast was included in my rate and was very good. Dinner at the restaurant was good.

The location is excellent – shopping and the Victoria Falls Hotel are all within a few minutes walk. They also have a computer in the lobby for free internet access. Wireless access is available for a fee.

My room was on the ground floor and had french doors that led out into the backyard of the hotel. Of interest, there was a small sounder of warthogs munching on the grass out there every day." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Drs N & S
Switzerland

"close to the falls"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2011
"Good place to stay for it's central position, no other noteworthy characteristics" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
T Family
Auckland

"Ilala Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2011
"A gorgeous boutique style hotel where we were greeted by friendly knowledgable front tine staff. Our room was spacious (for 3 people), we had a stunning view of the mist from the falls and the rooms were well equipped with fridge, kettle, TV etc. The rooms were presented well every day - absolutely no complaints.

The location was great - close enough so that we could walk everywhere - great recommendation !

The breakfast (Included in our package) was plentiful with a great variety of choice. We did not have lunch but found the dinner was pricey and 'OK". We worked out it would've been better value (especially with a 6 year old) to order from the bar as the toasted sandwiches etc were better value.

We booked our safari drive and sunset cruise through the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed both activities - the staff were once again friendly and informative.

The only thing that we felt let the hotel down from being excellent to good was the lack of interaction between the higher Management and the guests. We watched each morning as the Manager walked through the dining room and said hello and stopped to talk to the same 2-3 people whilst ignoring all others. This is a petty comment - but it would've made a difference." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"Lovely place to finish our holiday .

The Victoria Fallls were magnificent.

Although there were ' Tourist Police ' to escort you to the Falls and back and around town we found they were not available on our walk back and were badly harrassed by one young man all the way back to the hotel." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Yee Family
Hong Kong

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2011
"For where it is and what it is, the lodge was overall quite pleasant. Because we were unfamiliar with the area, we dined exclusively at the Lodge. The food was okay, about what we expected, despite the restaurant being probably one of the finer establishments in town! The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, but internet access was fairly difficult. Our friends had a family suite upstairs which was very nice, and we had two adjoining rooms, which we actually didn't need (the kids wanted to sleep with us anyway).

We enjoyed shopping at their local products shop on site and used their booking office for activities. Because their booking office is not the actual operator, we didn't book in time for a microlight tour (turns out the operator was already full), so instead we booked a family helicopter ride. Despite the expensive price tag, the helicopter ride over Victoria Falls was worthwhile (as the view from the ground was too misty in many places).

Note to ExpertAfrica: We found out after we got there that the microlight flights only operate on the Zambia side, which means that we would have had to exit Zimbabwe and then re-enter, thus incurring more visa costs. Should your clients require visas into Zimbabwe, it would be helpful to suggest the double entry Zimbabwe visa if clients are interested in activities such as microlight or tours into Chobe." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr G
Leics

"Ilala Lodge - relaxing"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2011
"By the time I reached Victoria Falls I was ready to relax and this hotel was the perfect place to do it.

Nice room, excellent restaurant (sit on the tearrce and listen to the falls in the distance), and relaxing grounds in which to sit. Good location for walking to the falls (10 minutes max) and for wondering into town, and an on-site agent for booking activities - I walked with lions which was amazing, if a teeny bit scary, and flew over the falls in a helicopter which gave impressive views (and great photos) of the falls and river, which I needed as the spray was so dense I had limited views from the ground when I walked by the falls (although the experience of being close to all that water was still impressive).

The lodge also had wifi ($5) which was useful to catch up and even to skype home." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The O Family
Farnham

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2011
"Although not inter-connecting, our adjacent rooms (32 and 33) on the first floor of the new "conference wing" were amongst the best positioned in this small hotel, with nice balconies overlooking the gardens (full of cavorting baboons and warthogs in the mornings) and with a glimpse of the "smoke that thunders" rising above the trees.

Our spacious room had a 4-poster king-sized bed and a separate single bed round the corner, so we could probably have all slept in the one room with an extra z-bed; the two together could easily accomodate a family of 5-6. The kids made full use of the swimming pool which was close to the colonial-style bar and dining room beyond. The included breakfast buffet was comprehensive with a full cooked option if you want it.

In the evening, the a la carte menu had some quite exotic dishes (I had smoked crocodile tail followed by warthog steak) as well as most hotel standards (ie, chicken, steak, fish etc) and there was a children's menu of the sausage and mash/fish fingers variety if needed. But for our second evening we took the short taxi ride to the even grander Victoria Falls Hotel where the "Jungle Junction" buffet and "cabaret" of local african dancing was a good fun alternative at a similar price.

The on-site travel rep is a convenient way of arranging the standard tours such as a guided visit to the Vic Falls Park (not strictly needed, as the 1 hour walk is well sign-posted once you are past the amateur guides "touting" just outside the gates) or a sunset river cruise on the Zambesi. But the best value "excursion" is the $5 taxi ride to the "bridge" - or you can walk it in 20 mnutes - for free entry into "no-man's land" between the Zim-Zam borders (don't forget to take your passport) where you can ride a zip wire across the gorge, do an upright harness jump or a headfirst "bungee" jump (or just watch).

All in all a great place to start or finish your Botswanan safari." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"Cheerful hotel next to the falls"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2011
"We spent out last night here so we did not have much time to explore. We did go to see the falls from the "Zim side" and we liked it very much.

Having met people from Zambia and Zimbabwe who asked us to tell them at the end which side is best...we are now stuck! The truth is we liked each side. From the Zim side you have a better view (and you get less soaked) and the path is longer. So we agree with somebody who said you should the falls from both sides if you can.

The lodge is relatively small, even if it felt like a grand hotel to us after two weeks in the bush. Our room was nice and comfortable, the swimming pool is great and the bar and restaurant areas are very well designed and pleasant to look at. Sitting there you can see the smoke and hear the thunder....while enjoying a good dinner with a good glass of wine!

A special note for the breakfast as the buffet we found in the morning was one of the most impressive we have ever seen!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Idyllic Ilala"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2011
"We enjoyed a really comfortable and relaxing five nights at Ilala and were consistently impressed by many of the staff there, especially when it came to organising activities for us, including ones which were not included in the hotel's normal offering, notably linking us to Charles Brightman who had been justifiably recommended to us as a first class private guide.

From the "normal offering" menu we very much enjoyed and would recommend the full day canoeing trip where we were guided by the excellent Ndoga Unganai." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms M
London

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2010
"This was an excellent luxury lodge, which felt somewhat out of place in its surroundings.

The food was very good indeed, and we especially enjoyed the breakfast, with every possible option under the sun in a lovely setting.

The room was clean and comfortable. Its proximity to the Falls (you can walk in 10 minutes) makes it well-placed too. Service was excellent.

The bridge tour through the travel agent was fantastic, and we can't recommend it enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 231-240 of 245
93%
245 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
173
62
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


94% (152 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Small, comfortable and in lovely gardens, Batonka Guest Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Victoria Falls away from the bustle of the town.


95% (25 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


91% (7 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


100% (1 review)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa