This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses

Reviews of Chobe Princesses

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Princesses and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Princesses.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Good, but not great"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"We thought our stay on the Chobe Princess would be the highlight of our trip. Somehow it wasn't quite that. Our room was lovely though the aircon controller holder was falling off the wall, and the toilet seat was wobbly, even after trying to adjust it myself. We had a deck all to ourselves and that was brilliant.

The activities consisted of the same thing - trips in the tender boat up and down the river. We saw lots of elephants and hippo, water monitors and birds, though we felt it was all a bit of the same each time, and we seemed to spend ages just going slowly next to reeds. Most of the water activity involved the tender boats whereas we had thought we'd be cruising up and down on the main boat.

The plunge pool seemed to be filled with brown river water rather than clear water and as a result nobody got in despite the heat, which was a pity and didn't match up to the images of clean clear water on their website.

Food was OK but had the feel of microwaved pub food you get in the UK. The staff were perfectly nice and friendly though we felt they didn't go out of their way to make sure we had a good time as much as other lodges. It was still a good experience but in our opinion we would only do this once." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V
Boulder

"Fantastic river safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"I was unsure what to expect as this was a recommendation by Expert Africa. Since our family had already done a land safari, on a previous trip, and we knew we would be doing them at sites after Chobe, this river safari was really special. It gave us an experience and a view of the animals that is almost impossible to get from land. Also, we've been on river boats before.

I really liked that our cabin was above water rather than below. We got as close as humanly possible to elephants and crocodiles. All the activities on the smaller boats were great as well. We took advantage of fishing one morning as well as seeing the animals much more closely. Our main guide's talks about the animals and the village on the river were very informative.

The only thing that could have worked out better was if John was more helpful in confirming our next day's flight from Zimbabwe airport back to Namibia. In the morning of our last day, I asked John to check with the local tour company that was going to pick us up to check on our flights. He said he would see what he could do. He never got back to me and I failed to follow up. The next day, after we got through immigration and passport checks to get to Zimbabwe airport, we found out that our flight was delayed by 8 hours! Later, we learned that all other travelers were notified by their travel agencies about the delay and the travel agency had found accommodations/activities for them to do during their delay. That was not the case for us and one other couple from Spain. We ended up staying at the airport for 8 hours. Even the other couple's travel agency came and picked them up and took them back to their hotel for most of that delayed time. I think both John at Chobe Princess and Expert Africa could have alerted us to this situation as other travel agencies seemed to have been able to do so.

I will say that on the boat we did receive our luggage. It finally caught up to us and I believe this was due to the efforts of Wild Horizons/Africa Sport & Leisure, as well as Expert Africa, Avani and the Peech hotel, as well as South African Airways. We thank all of you for the herculan efforts to get our luggage to us 6 days after the start of our trip." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Chobe Princesses review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"really enjoyed our stay. a totally different experience and relaxing. saw lots of elephants and a great variety of birds. food was excellent, staff very helpful.

our room was good but could probably do with a little updating, but ok considering recent change of ownership.

as at little kwara our last night we had no water of any sort in all the rooms. full marks to the staff in getting it running again by the morning." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Chobe Princess - An enjoyable experience"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2016
"Our two night stay on the Chobe Princess was an enjoyable experience giving us a different perspective to viewing wildlife.

Getting to the boat from Kasane involved exiting Botswana and entering Namibia through immigration on Impalila Island. This was an adventure in itself and added to the sense of 'doing something different'. All arrangements went like clockwork and we were warmly greeted by Robert on arrival at the boat. Our cabin, one of five on this particular boat , was nicely decorated, well appointed and comfortable. The focal point was the large windows which allowed us to watch passing scenery and wildlife from the bed. The bathroom had a good shower though the availability of hot water was a bit variable. One cabin had its own private balcony and another was on the top deck with full length sliding glass doors these might be worth requesting.

The communal dining and seating area was well furnished, bright and a pleasant area to be in. On deck was a hot tub, though no one used it on our stay. The upper deck had a four chairs , a table and one lounger, a few more of these would have been nice. Mealtimes were communal and it was interesting to chat with fellow guests. The food was delicious and plentiful. All staff were friendly and helpful. Robert, the captain, managed staff, guests and arrangements particularly well.

During our stay there were 11 guests so a 'full ship'. This was good socially but could have been a bit tricky if different parties had wished different activities as there simply weren't enough small boats for this. We asked Robert if we could have a birding river drive and he took us out himself for a morning. It turned out to be one of the highlights of our whole trip. He was very knowledgeable, a great spotter and great company. We saw many birds at very close hand, various animals and even two lions about to mate. Our other excursions were also very enjoyable.

We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay on a Chobe Princess." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"A novel African experience not to be missed"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"Spending 2 days on an African cruise is a great way to see the birds and game that abound on the Chobe River.

The boat was very comfortable and the crew always attentive and the guide we had knew his river well. We even managed to see and photograph a group of three lions one evening.........from a boat!

To drink with elephants was a new experience though I expect the elephants were well used to tourists in boats and were happy to have us quite so close." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T
Chester

"perfect start to holiday. Relaxing"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"three nights was ideal. relaxing way to start holiday. good game from the outboards. good food.

only disappointment was inability to travel further due to water levels therefore had to moor in same spot each evening" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Shropshire

"Not for us"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"We were collected by small boat and arrived in time for a late lunch. The boat was nicely furnished and our room comfortable.

A small, very efficient staff team do everything, from guiding to housekeeping. Food was very good and you could help yourself to drinks and snacks.
There were 6 guests on board and the 3 couples were taken out separately in the late afternoon in small boats. This was a plus, as there is not much privacy on board, where we were sharing a small space with strangers. For a family or group of friends holidaying together, it could be a lot of fun, but 1 night was long enough for us.

We were surprised to be told at dinner that there would be no morning activity, as the boat had to be moved so that we could all get off at 9.30am!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Great water based game/bird viewing"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2015
"Excellent houseboat accommodation with very good meals. This was a return trip and the bird and game viewing exceeded our 2013 trip - including three separate lion viewings with one pride feasting on a buffalo kill.

Multiple tender boats allowed the group to undertake different activities at the same time, although the fishing trips provided better bird viewing results than tiger fish!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"A wonderful way to view the Chobe Park"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"We were delighted to find how relaxing it was to cruise gently along the river able to view the game and birds from anything from river level veranda to upper deck level where we could see over the river bank. The staff were friendly helpful and attentive and our guide was available take us on a game boat drive whenever we wanted.

We were lucky to see from our speed boat a pride of 10 lions (including a big black maned male) feeding on a buffalo kill and a leopard wandering the river bank until she was chased away by a big baboon. We also saw the elephants crossing the Chobe River.

Altogether a very enjoyable experience!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"Good idea from Tracy Lederer to start our safari with two nights here after flights from London overnight. Met by our guide, xxx, and our bags were loaded on to the small boat with us. We were taken to the Namibian immigration control, as the boat would be moored on the Namibian side of the Chobe.

Had a wonderful trip to the houseboat that afternoon immediately after leaving immigration, when we saw several types of birds and many animals, including elephants crossing the river. After we had arrived and had a welcome drink and the probable itinerary for the days we would be there, we went off on the small boat for our evening safari. We had morning and afternoon boat safaris the next day, and another on the morning of our third day, when we transferred to the first lodge.

Good to go with another couple, as only 8 people on the boat and some language problems with the other visitors." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 57
96%
57 reviews of Chobe Princesses by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
8
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa