This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses

Reviews of Chobe Princesses

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Princesses and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Princesses.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Devin & Willow
USA

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"The houseboat afforded calm river cruising, excellent motorboat excursions, and fabulous game viewing. Staff was fabulous and friendly.

Dining on the upper deck while watching game and sunsets was too much fun." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2014
"Our transfer from Nkasa Lupala was efficiently carried out by Nicholas from Tutwa. He was ready at Singwali when our 4WD dropped us off and willingly complied with our request to stop at a supermarket in Katima to but some rooibos tea – the stuff you get in UK just doesn’t taste as good. While he filled up the car we had time for a coffee at the Tutwa office coffee shop – well worth a stop if driving through Katima – good value drinks and food, clean loos, a book exchange and very good Wifi.

After negotiating 4 border crossings and adding to the collection of stamps in our passports we arrived at the boat in time for lunch. It swiftly became apparent that information regarding Jane’s allergy to cheese had not been passed on as the chef had to quickly rustle up an alternative to the prepared meal – this turned out to be delicious!

Our cabin was comfortable although a bit cramped but then we didn’t spend much time in it other than for sleeping! Communal areas were comfortable and we had plenty of space even when all cabins were occupied. I even tried out the plunge pool which was bliss on my tired, dusty feet!

The atmosphere is very much that of a floating house party with communal lounging and eating so it was fortunate that we hit it off virtually immediately with our travelling companions, a group of wonderful Australian ladies. So much so that individual tender boats were abandoned and the groups joined up.

We noticed that there were quite a few houseboats on the river, in contrast to our previous trip, when only those from Ichobezi were seen. However, this is still a wonderfully relaxing way to see the animals and birds around the river – where else could we hope to watch a water monitor devouring lilac-breasted roller eggs from the nest while being dive-bombed by the parents and a passing kingfisher? The monitor, that is, not us!

We also glimpsed a leopard that morning who was still hiding in his bush when we moored up directly opposite him in the afternoon; perfect positioning! Ben, Patrick and the team took excellent care of us and the food the chef produced from his tiny kitchen was excellent.

A point to note is that any laundry has to be sent to Ichingo for washing so it is not practicable to get laundry done unless you are able to pick it up from the lodge or possibly staying on the boat for three or more nights.
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs P
York

"Great start to our trip"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"We couldn't have had a more relaxing or interesting start to our trip. After a long journey it was wonderful to be picked up at the delightful little airport in Kasane and be taken by van and boat through various immigration posts (hint - if you need reading glasses take them with you to the Namibia office. The form you have to complete is in very small print!) and chase after the moving houseboat to finally get on board. All very seamless and good fun.

The boat is lovely - spacious, beautifully decorated, with lots of different places to relax and admire the ever changing views. The rooms are smallish but very comfortable and well equipped and it was lovely to lie in bed and watch river life through the full length windows. The staff of five were great - attentive without being 'ever- present' and very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. Food, cooked and presented by chef Vincent was excellent and beautifully presented. We were lucky to be one of only two couples on board and even more lucky to have a very pleasant young South African couple as our companions.

We'd chosen to start our journey on the houseboats to have a relaxing start and the 8am morning call was great after an overnight flight the night before. The staff were very happy to let us choose what we wanted to do and when, and we had a couple of very good boat trips which were a perfect way to get up close to the wildlife and see the animals and birds from a different perspective. We saw a python sunning itself along the bank, lots of malachite kingfishers and big herds of elephant coming to the river to drink. The sundowner with elephants silhouetted against the sun was very special. We also had a trip to Vincent, the chef's, village with his brother as our guide, which was interesting and good fun, although there was singing and dancing, didn't feel at all like a show for the tourists.

We had two nights on the boat which was just enough, though a third wouldn't have been a hardship! Highly recommended as a good way to start of end a safari.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Bedfordshire

"Pride of the Zambezi"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"A wonderful 2 night cruise. So relaxing. Superbly equipped and fitted out.

Maritsa and Norman looked after us and did a superlative job, as well as the other staff, especially Robert the guide, who must be the best guide ever.

Saw lots of wildlife and birds and Robert gave us so much info. He managed to get the tender boat very near to many.

Food excellent.

Opportunity to visit a traditional village. Very interesting and worthwhile. I was concerned we would be seen as "gawpers" but that wasn't the case.

I can really recommend this houseboat." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
GoldenHill

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"A superb 3 days on the Ichobezi safariboat and a very relaxing way to view the game without the safari vans with the added bonus of the wonderful bird life on the river. As the boat moved along the Chobe river we were treated to large herds of elephant & buffalo, giraffe, lechwe, kudu, hippo...then you go out in your own boat (one per cabin) with your very knowledgeable guide complete with your drinks of choice, until sunset. Watching elephants & their babies munching their supper at the water's edge as the sun went down was an experience we shall never forget & provided some great photos.

More game viewing the next morning provided close up encounters with large crocs, several species of antelope, some incredibly beautiful birds - kingfishers, fish eagles, rollers, bee-eaters...& a walk on the Caprivi floodplains before heading back for lunch with our fellow guests, then the boat moves off again towards Serondella. As there are only 4 cabins it never feels crowded & has a comfortable lounge area & sun beds on deck. Our cabin was more spacious than expected, had a very comfortable bed, good shower & a balcony.

The food was consistently great thanks to Eustace the chef who always came into the dining room before dinner and "announced" the menu which was a nice touch, and any likes or dislikes were always adhered to. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days on this well-run boat with superb game-viewing. Thank you to Raymond for a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Peaceful cruising on the Chobe River"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"The houseboats offer a really good way to experience the river scenery and view the wildlife, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The trips on the small tender boats were good, but watching the world go by from the viewing deck of the houseboat was even better." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms B & Mr L
Australia

"Ichobizi houseboats"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"This is a very relaxing way to spend a few days on the river. If we had not had 3 nights just before at Muchenje I suspect we would have enjoyed the experience even more than we did, but the wildlife experience was very similar to that at Muchenje on the river trip.

The staff (all male) are very friendly and helpful, and the chef was great, trying out interesting recipes and doing a very good job. The rooms are comfortable and shower etc works well. Plenty of opportunity to go out on the small boats, but after the first day we found it more relaxing to animal and bird watch from the comfort of the boat. Lovely to watch sunrise and sunset." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"great location, good boat"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"comfortable, well resourced boat, excellent food.

Room's toilet cystern took 2 hours to fill and mosquito doors had half inch gap that we had to sellotape up." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
California

"Ichobezi houseboats"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2013
"To look out of your bedroom and see swimming elephants and a resident hippo! Very relaxing on the boat. The houseboat moves maybe daily; the tours are all on smaller power boats. And you get a totally different outlook than you do from a land rover.

This was the only place we met bugs - non-biting (probably flying termites), and swarming around the lights in the evening, but still annoying.
Crew was great.

We went in Nov; it was quite hot outside, and *very* hot in the bedroom (there is a fan, which accomplishes little). There is no A/C! I'd be concerned about doing this in the heat of the summer, but in the cool, it is wonderful." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"A must for any visitor to Namibia"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"Another repeat for us. 2 years ago we had 2 nights, this time 3, neither were long enough!

We were lucky to have 2 of the crew members from our previous visit, Martin, the guide, whose knowledge of wildlife is second to none, and Eustace, the chef, whose skills leave us speechless. Larry, our skipper from 2 years ago, came to the boat to greet us.
Our skipper this time, Ben, was charming. he and his crew made our stay very memorable.

We were very lucky to see Leopards, male, female & a very young juvenile. (hours of patience and good quick eyesight are needed, for the guides & the guests). This family of 'cats' really performed for us.

We spent 2 hours at Inchingo Chobe River Loge, while waiting to go the airport, where the owner, Ralph & his staff looked after us superbly" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 57
96%
57 reviews of Chobe Princesses by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
8
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa