This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Thamalakane River Lodge
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge


19°53’3.1"S 23°33’16.4"E

Reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Thamalakane River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Bertie
UK

"Good Overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2017
"Based in Maun, the lodge was a perfect place to overnight after our flights.

Set next to the Thamalakane river there are excellent opportunities to sit with a G&T whilst bird watching.

Even spotted a huge monitor lizard on the lawn!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Prof J
Salt Lake City

"there were some problems"

1 night Arrived 12 Mar 2017
"There were some problems. The shower drain backed up causing the shower to be inoperative (or allowed to be used for very short times). This caused a flood in the bathroom area of the suite.

A mouse (or other visitor) made quite a racket during the night while it ate some chocolate bars that were in the room.

But we were very tired and the service was helpful." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs S
Brentford

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"A beautiful location, rooms spacious & comfortable if a little dated. Pretty outdoor restaurant.

The guy who took us on an evening trip on the river unfortunately believed that it was appropriate to give us a good photo op by antagonising the local hippos with his boat to the extent that they would rise out of the water. Then at checkout a very miserable receptionist insisted that one one of our party had to walk back to her room to retrieve the key that she had left in the door - the same receptionist then took about 10 minutes to find change for a 100 pula banknote, while the minibus to the airport was waiting......the driver was very helpful though at all times and especially with getting all the guests checked in at the correct desks for our various flights." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
Washington

"Just okay"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr P
Vancouver

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"Great place tor rest up - lots of good bird life on the river" See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
C & J
Washington DC

"Pleasant layover en route to safari"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"We spent one night at Thamalakane River Lodge, coming in from Jo'burg to Maun in the afternoon and then leaving again early the following morning.

The setting right on the river is lovely, with excellent birding, and the bungalows are spacious and charming, very much in safari style. The staff were fantastically accommodating and helpful - I wasn't feeling well and wanted to check in with a doctor, and the woman who greeted us at the airport immediately arranged for the driver to take us back into town after we had checked in, and made sure I was seen straight away at a private clinic.

The only negative from our stay was that the sole dinner option available at the hotel restaurant was a buffet - the food was tasty with decent variety, but expensive, and it was not clearly explained why à la carte options were not available (despite being on the menu)." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr & Mrs M
Bracknell

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"Great place for a (relatively) cheap and cheerful start and finish to s delta safari.

Location is nice, food and staff are great." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Convenient for airport"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2016
"Convenient for Mown Airport, good rooms.

Good buffet for supper." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family B
New York

"Quick stay but nice!"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2016
"We stayed here just one night en route.

Very nice chalets, beautiful terrace and lodge and very good food. Very comfortable beds.

The river was dry while we were there and we didn't have time for acrivirpties, but it was very nice." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr S & Mr B
USA

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"The setting was really great. I saw incredible birds in the garden and the sunsets were spectacular.

The lodge was under new management and they were clearly not communicating well with the staff. When we walked in, we were asked for our vouchers. We explained that we did not require vouchers and the receptionist said we did. Never did he acknowledge he was wrong.

After we ate dinner, we were given a bill even though dinner was included in our booking. The new manager told us she had to fire some staff and get the place back in shape. Clearly, the staff were not happy. She talked about plans to upgrade the physical structure when I thought she should be focusing on staff morale and communications.

Food was nothing special." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 56
81%
56 reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
29
10
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamo Telele

Thamo Telele

Royal Tree is a beautiful tented lodge on the outskirts of Maun, in its own private game reserve. With walking trails and delicious meals, it's ideal for a night or two at the start or end of a safari.


85% (39 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


73% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa