This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Thamalakane River Lodge
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge


19°53’3.1"S 23°33’16.4"E

Reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Thamalakane River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
M family
Hampshire

"Convenient for airport"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2016
"Convenient for Mown Airport, good rooms.

Good buffet for supper." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family B
New York

"Quick stay but nice!"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2016
"We stayed here just one night en route.

Very nice chalets, beautiful terrace and lodge and very good food. Very comfortable beds.

The river was dry while we were there and we didn't have time for acrivirpties, but it was very nice." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr S & Mr B
USA

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"The setting was really great. I saw incredible birds in the garden and the sunsets were spectacular.

The lodge was under new management and they were clearly not communicating well with the staff. When we walked in, we were asked for our vouchers. We explained that we did not require vouchers and the receptionist said we did. Never did he acknowledge he was wrong.

After we ate dinner, we were given a bill even though dinner was included in our booking. The new manager told us she had to fire some staff and get the place back in shape. Clearly, the staff were not happy. She talked about plans to upgrade the physical structure when I thought she should be focusing on staff morale and communications.

Food was nothing special." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr K
Southend On Sea

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2015
"Stone built rooms were very cold, but I guess they just were not equipped for cold weather." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr C
Newmarket

"A warm welcome to Botswana from staff."

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2015
"Friendly staff who went out of their way to make the first leg of this journey comfortable." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Disley

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 May 2014
"pick up was prompt and all staff welcoming and friendly

room was very dark so used our torch to locate items in our cases, bed comfy, strange not to have a door to bathroom entrance, did not use outside shower as full of dead leaves, used the immense bath instead which is great but Lesley could have done with a step up to get in and out more easily due to restricted left leg movement

evening meal good and lots to choose from

informed our transfer flight was 07.40 so needed to leave at 07.00, but breakfast served from 06.30, but when we got there the staff were just arriving. they put out some fruit for us and provided juice and coffee after 20 minutes, but we had to rush off as toast was brought. we got to the airport to discover our flight was not due for over an hour, so just waited" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Thamalakane River Lodge- Quite overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2013
"We reached Thamalakane River Lodge at 16:30 after a long 8 hour/ 610 Km drive from Kasane. Although all tarred, the drive was long and monotonous. We stopped at one roadside picnic spot, for a quick lunch between Nata and Gweta, before getting off again to Maun. Some rain came, and a miracle just happened: suddenly the road was covered by dozens of thirsty animals (goats, donkeys, horses, cows), gathering around the pools of water on the road.

Thamalakane River Lodge was a perfect choice to relax and getting organized after such a long drive. The people were attentive and courteous." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Just a stopping place on our travels. If we were staying any longer in Maun, this would have been a good place to stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Family K
London

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2013
"We used this lodge as an overnight stop after arriving in Botswana.

The location is pleasant enough, and the grounds nicely landscaped. The staff were friendly and helpful, although the service in the restaurant was a little slow.

The highlight of our short stay was finding a hippo on the river bank 5 metres from one of our chalets when we walked back after dinner." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Australia

"Great place for a first stay in Botswana"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2013
"Spending my first night in Botswana by myself, was made easy by being collected and looked after at Thamalakane River Lodge. The out of town location looking over the river at sunset was divine, with my first taste of wildlife, squirrels, various birds, a hippo further down river and herds of the local cows swimming across the river to graze for the day.

The Jacana room was lovely and spacious with a great shower, and the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. A power outage in the area limited the evening menu, but theIr flexibility still offered a variety of meals and my tasty bream by candlelight made for a nice relaxed start to my holiday. Staying at Thamalakane was a great alternative to staying in Maun." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 59
82%
59 reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
30
10
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamo Telele

Thamo Telele

On the outskirts of Maun, Thamo Telele is set in a private game reserve with walking trails and a giraffe experience: ideal at the start or end of a safari.


85% (39 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


74% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa