This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Thamalakane River Lodge
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge


19°53’3.1"S 23°33’16.4"E

Reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Thamalakane River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K
Southend On Sea

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2015
"Stone built rooms were very cold, but I guess they just were not equipped for cold weather." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr C
Newmarket

"A warm welcome to Botswana from staff."

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2015
"Friendly staff who went out of their way to make the first leg of this journey comfortable." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Disley

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 May 2014
"pick up was prompt and all staff welcoming and friendly

room was very dark so used our torch to locate items in our cases, bed comfy, strange not to have a door to bathroom entrance, did not use outside shower as full of dead leaves, used the immense bath instead which is great but Lesley could have done with a step up to get in and out more easily due to restricted left leg movement

evening meal good and lots to choose from

informed our transfer flight was 07.40 so needed to leave at 07.00, but breakfast served from 06.30, but when we got there the staff were just arriving. they put out some fruit for us and provided juice and coffee after 20 minutes, but we had to rush off as toast was brought. we got to the airport to discover our flight was not due for over an hour, so just waited" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Thamalakane River Lodge- Quite overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2013
"We reached Thamalakane River Lodge at 16:30 after a long 8 hour/ 610 Km drive from Kasane. Although all tarred, the drive was long and monotonous. We stopped at one roadside picnic spot, for a quick lunch between Nata and Gweta, before getting off again to Maun. Some rain came, and a miracle just happened: suddenly the road was covered by dozens of thirsty animals (goats, donkeys, horses, cows), gathering around the pools of water on the road.

Thamalakane River Lodge was a perfect choice to relax and getting organized after such a long drive. The people were attentive and courteous." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Just a stopping place on our travels. If we were staying any longer in Maun, this would have been a good place to stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Family K
London

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2013
"We used this lodge as an overnight stop after arriving in Botswana.

The location is pleasant enough, and the grounds nicely landscaped. The staff were friendly and helpful, although the service in the restaurant was a little slow.

The highlight of our short stay was finding a hippo on the river bank 5 metres from one of our chalets when we walked back after dinner." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Australia

"Great place for a first stay in Botswana"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2013
"Spending my first night in Botswana by myself, was made easy by being collected and looked after at Thamalakane River Lodge. The out of town location looking over the river at sunset was divine, with my first taste of wildlife, squirrels, various birds, a hippo further down river and herds of the local cows swimming across the river to graze for the day.

The Jacana room was lovely and spacious with a great shower, and the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. A power outage in the area limited the evening menu, but theIr flexibility still offered a variety of meals and my tasty bream by candlelight made for a nice relaxed start to my holiday. Staying at Thamalakane was a great alternative to staying in Maun." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2013
"good for one night again. lovely location by river. food was good. had a late arrival and an early start the next day so did not have much time there." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
California

"Past its prime"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2012
"Rooms were not clean. Furniture inside and outside of the rooms were not maintained. If I knew the area, I would have left.

Restaurant staff were not very knowledgeable regarding menu items. They also didn't seem to care when I pointed out that the squirrels were standing in the jars of cereal while eating same. The office tried to give us a room with a smaller bed than what we were supposed to be getting and argued when we refused it.

It is physically beautiful on the river, but there were too many negatives to enjoy our stay there." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr H
Wiltshire

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2012
"friendly helpful staff and manager , food very good , one small problem with the fan in the chalet was fixed quickly and without fuss.
allowed my son to keep his motorbike there whilst we were in moremi. a great place to relax before heading into the delta." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 56
81%
56 reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
29
10
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamo Telele

Thamo Telele

Royal Tree is a beautiful tented lodge on the outskirts of Maun, in its own private game reserve. With walking trails and delicious meals, it's ideal for a night or two at the start or end of a safari.


85% (39 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


73% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa