This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest

Reviews of Eagle's Nest

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eagle's Nest and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eagle's Nest.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

75% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Zebra

10% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"What a place we LOVED it!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"We stayed in one of the cabins ( Eagle's View) and it was fabulous. We adored the location and the view over the desert which was like an ever changing painting of subtle hues. The accomodation could not be faulted, spacious superbly equipped and clean.

We ate one evening in the restaurant and then had a BBQ pack the second night. The pack was HUGE - it would have done for 4 people and we did suggest to the owners that maybe they could consider introducing a European sized pack.

Breakfast, which we also had in our room was equally generous in range and portion size. Would return here in a shot" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"'Da Rock'"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2010
"We are very pleased that we took your advice and spent a night at the Eagles Nest. We were in a cabin named the Rock, which seemed to me to have the best position of all the cabins - not overlooked by anyone else and had an elevated position to watch the sun go down and the game meander across the grassland.

A magical evening, with the Braai pack option, a bottle of wine and a private verandah!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Suffolk

"The Best of the Nest"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our return here. The new Eagles View chalet was beautifuly appointed and we spent a wonderful night enjoying the stillness, peace and magnificent starry sky listening to animals passing by outside the veranda. Having our own braai was a highlight and we love the walks from the doortsep.

The pre booked food packs were very good although it was shame we had to return to the reception (half an hour round trip) to collect them a couple of hours after our arrival as we didn't really want to move from the accommodation once there! Although ordered in advance it was only when we asked about the packs that there was any acknowledgment of this and even then the receptionist persisted in telling us about meal times and menus so maybe there had been a communication breakdown.

Next time, we will phone ahead with our arrival time and/or do one of the marked walks from the main lodge while waiting for the packs to be prepared.The quantity of meat (and very little vegetable or fruit content) meant there was easily enough for two not just one dinner for our tastes while the breakfast platter was slightly unbalanced with eg a ratio of just one mini serving of Flora to 8 slices of bread!

A wonderful overnight experience and we can't wait to return again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr B
London

"fabulous sunset views"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"Receptionist was very aloof and surly on check in but seemed to warm by the next day.

She told us that the Sedina had stopped running and so we couldn't book it !! However she did book us on the catamaran which was fine but not our preferred option.

We could not book our own boat as the phone number provided by Expert Africa was incorrect.

We had some problems with our food, eg they gave us a breakfast platter full of meat and the starter at dinner had chicken in it. This was despite us reiterating that we are vegetarians. They rectified this on day 2 with both a veggie breakfast and dinner." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Woking

"In the desert"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"We stayed in the furthest of the lodges, Eagles View, which was huge, very well appointed, clean and comfortable and with endless views across a surprisingly populated (at least by birds and animals) desert.

The 7km drive from the reception and restaurant initially felt daunting but was fine - despite rounding a corner and meeting a kudu fairly close up - even in the dark after dinner. We opted to eat in the restaurant for our first dinner and breakfast and then take advantage of the braai and breakfast pack on the second day. Both were excellent and it was good to have the option of cooking for ourselves, although we were slightly embarrassed to find that they provided so much food that some of it was wasted.

It's a lovely spot although without a great deal to do - we visited Luderitz but it's a long drive and the two sites we were most interested in - the ghost town and the Goerke Haus - closed by the time we got there." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Stockport

"Utter peace and seclusion at Eagle's Nest"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"The scenery and view from the 'chalet' was amazing. It felt so isolated, but we had everything we could want. The rooms were big enough for a family to live in. And two verandahs.

We only had one night and opted to take the barbeque pack with us. It took a little extra time for this to be prepared before we could drive out to our chalet, but they had really made an effort to prepare a good vegetarian meal - not that easy for a barbeque. Watching the sun set and sitting out cooking under the stars was a highlight for us.

Fridge was really well stocked too.
All very cosy and comfortable." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms F
Essex

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2010
"Due to a mix up at the accomodation end we spent one night in desert horse inn and one in Eagle's Nest. The owner could not have been more apologetic and made up for it with free meals and wine. On balance I preferred the inn as although the Eagle's Nest was beautiful and remote, it was also visited by field mice who could smell our food from our BBQ which was not ideal for a phobic like myself! It may be an idea to warn people booking in advance.

Trip to Ludderitz and boat trip was out of this world - saw penguins, dolphins, and a whale!

Klein Aus Vista works with local community mentoring locals in business and hospitality so would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"The best place to chill out"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2010
"This lived up to it's wonderful reputation in terms of location; and is probably our favourite! We had the Desert Vista chalet with the most amazing views we have ever experienced. The colours of the grasslands and the sunsets were wonderful during the time of our visit in May.

We had our meals at the main lodge. They were ok, but we did not take a BBQ or breakfast pack.We did one of the self guided walks which was the short one; and came back down over a mountain - rather hairy descending!

We also took part in the sundowner drive and saw many Kudu, wild horses and other animals. This is a place we would definitely return to. As with everywhere else on our trip, staff were wonderful.

En-route to our next stop, we visited the Commonwealth War Graves, which were quite intersting - especially seeing the names of British Soldiers; but sadly the site has not been well maintained and had a very run-down feeling." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Rock! Rock! Rock!!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2009
"Our favourite location by far is Eagle's Nest and in particular 'The Rock'. Having said this all units are good and in a fantastic position 7km from the main reception down a sand track.

We chose to eat dinner at the main lodge and bring breakfast back to the unit. This is easily fridged overnight to eat at leisure on waking whilst watching the colours of the sunrise spread across the valley from the distant mountains and desert. This is place to stay for more than one night to chill, relax and walk at leisure without the need for a guide.

A visit to Kolmanskop and the wild horses is recommended if time permits. On chilly evenings it is wonderful to light the ready prepared fire and choose a bottle of wine from the rack." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Eagles Nest - another highlight"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"Wow, what a fantastic place - it was really special with rooms built into the rocks and not near other rooms - only 7 boulder rooms and we didn't see anyone else, although the place was full.

We opted for the barbeque pack, and did our own barbeque - fantastic - we were given wood, firelighters and everything we needed to be totally self sufficient for the rest of the day and evening. There were some lovely touches such as the wine tree rack with wine, the biscuit barrel with home made biscuits, and a great barbeque. A fantastic experience complete with desert storm overnight, and the odd mouse scampering about.

The owner Piet was particularly welcoming and chatty, and the walking trails were well marked and good fun." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 85
96%
85 reviews of Eagle's Nest by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (62 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


90% (50 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa