This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest

Reviews of Eagle's Nest

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eagle's Nest and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eagle's Nest.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

75% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Zebra

10% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Sedbergh

"Eagles nest is amazing setting but very wet!"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2009
"The weather at Eagle's nest reminded of our home in the lake District, low cloud, cold and continuous rain. The locals were excited as possibility of snow!

The location was fantastic and the cabin was beautifully designed and furnished. Unfortunately it is not waterproof and water was dripping down the rock and into the fireplace. We had a braai pack which we cooked on the fire inside. However we would love to return in good weather as it was such an atmospheric place.

We would also recommend the Aus information and community centre where we were served good coffee. There are very informative posters about wildlife, Namaiba and local life around the centre." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Eagle's Nest review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2008
"This time we had Mountain View as our accommodation, not quite the outlook that Desert Vista had but it did have one advantage, two doors that we could open to the outside and get a airflow through the premises.

Daytime activities limited due to the very hot weather. Good food and friendly staff.P ieter Sweigers always on hand if you wanted to know about activities." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wilmslow

"Splendid isolation at Eagles Nest"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"Even with all the information we had Eagles Nest still came as a surprise - a pleasant one.

The room was very comfortable and the isolation made it feel as though we were really in the wild somewhere special.

The staff were probably the friendliest of the whole trip - and everybody everywhere was friendly. The drive after dinner from the restaurant to the room is an "intersting experience", especially in a sand storm! These necessary night drives are a good opportunity to view some of the nocturnal animals you do not normally get to see.

The isolation of the Eagles Nest Rooms also means that even timid animals such as Klipspringers will come right up to your terrace and you can watch them through the windows of the room - and much smaller animals as well." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Elegy

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"room design and fittings again, very nicely presented." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Fantastic desert views"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"We really enjoyed this stone lodge under a huge cliff on the edge of the Namib. It didn't feel too isolated, despite being 7km down a sand track from the Klein Aus lodge and restaurant.

We did our own barbeque there (they provide barbeque packs, there was a barbeque outside our lodge). Watching the sun set over the desert was wonderful, as was watching the eagles that nested half way up the cliff behind us soaring across the rocks.

The family who run the place are great company, and also very helpful." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune larks
Sheffield

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"One of the greatest views, sunsets and lodges we stayed in (and after a while you see a lot of sunsets!). Love the fact that breakfast and a barbecue can be provided for you so you don't have to go back to the lodge. Staff helpful and very pleasant.

Just be aware that if not staying in the main lodge the other rooms are bungalows 7KM drive along sand road with some big bumps. We had a 2WD and were OK but scraping sounds were slightly worrying at times.

Facilities in bungalows superb and looking back it was worth experiencing the bumps!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Pygmy Falcons
UK

"Fantastic stay at the Eagle's Nest"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"The location was incredible, a 7km drive from the main hotel. We had the Rock, courtesy of Expert Africa's influence, and this amazing house built around a large boulder was beautiful, with a little terrace overlooking the desert and its sunsets. There were a pair of black eagles in a nest on the rocks above us, feeding young, we think.

We drove the 7km to the main hotel on both evenings for dinner, and the meals and service were both very good. We had a breakfast platter at the Rock on both mornings, whcih lasted most of the day. The walk we followed was easy to follow and had fantastic views." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"Quite one of the most amazing places i have ever had the pleasure! amazing" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Bitterns
Twickenham

"On our own at the Eagle's Nest"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2008
"What a wonderful location! The staff were very helpful and the lodge we stayed in ("the Rock") was lovely, but once again very cold at night, although the open fire helped.

The food, particularly breakfast, was not quite up to the standard of some of the other places we stayed, but we enjoyed barbecuing at our lodge one evening.

Excellent way-marked walks with very challenging final descent." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"An amazing and very special place. We stayed two nights and barbecued on both and then sat and watched the stars, the first night in total isolation as there were no other guests. In the morning we found two Klipspringers staring at us through the window.

The landscape here is beautiful, the mountains appearing to float on a sea of grass.

The Eagles Nest is however some distance from Luderitz and getting to Kolmanskop to take photos ar sunrise required some effort. We also found the gates to Eagles Nest locked early in the morning and had to wait until staff arrived to unlock them. Its worth checking that the gates will be open if planning to leave early. Nevertheless we wouldn't have missed staying here for anything.

Rather than staying at the Desert Horse Inn for our third night it probably would have been more convenient to stay in Luderitz although this would have made the drive longer the following day." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 71-80 of 85
96%
85 reviews of Eagle's Nest by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (62 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


90% (50 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa