This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

82% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

62% success

White Rhino

42% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 111-120 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Germany

"great leopad and cheetah views"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2013
"good place to track the animals with their radio collars. the lodge does a great contribution to preserve wild cats.

very nice rooms, pool and main building." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
South Bank

"Wonderful for getting close to big cats"

2 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2012
"This was a different experience from the rest of our trip as the big cats here are mainly collared and so can be radio-tracked. This did not in any way detract from the wonderful experience of getting VERY close to both a leopard and a cheetah.

Our guide Rohan was one of the best we have ever had anywhere !! He was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and seemed to be as excited about seeing the animals as we were! We went with another guide, Gideon, to see the information centre of the Africat Foundation which runs Okonjima, and he gave us an extremely informative tour of the facilities.

The Bush Camp is a really comfortable, well appointed and well run camp, and with the superb guides here, we felt this was an excellent experience and a wonderful way to finish our wonderful holiday !" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"A very good lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2012
"We were very fortunate as we think we were upgraded to their bush suite, because of a big party staying at the main lodge, which was fantastic.

The bush suite was a 3 minute drive from the main lodge and the other chalets. We enjoyed some very interesting guided drives to see leopold and cheetah. An excellent stay." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Staffs

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2012
"Think we were upgraded here as we seemed to be the only ones in a very large one-off villa in main camp. Room and bathroom were stunning but very hot. Lovely food and friendly staff.

Excellent guides who were very knowledgable and helpful." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"We Were Upgraded to the Villa!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2012
"Although we loved Bush Camp on our previous visit, we had an even more amazing time in the Villa. On our final night, we had the whole place to ourselves. The facilities are incredible.

Beautiful suite with every luxury and wonderful views of the bush from our bed. Drinks and laundry were inclusive and the meals, cooked for us by the chef at the Villa, were delicious. Clive was an excellent guide and we had some really great sightings of leopards, cheetahs and much more besides.

We definitely plan to visit Okonjima again." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2012
"an excellent place to stay with great activities, I would recommend a three night stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs K
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2012
"An excellent place to spend time on the way back to Windhoek. Very professionally run." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Sidcup

"UPGRADED - Fantastic time at the Villa!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2011
"We were at Okonjima for my husbands' 60th birthday and we had a fantastic time. We were upgraded to the Villa as there had been problems at one of the other camps.

The staff were wonderful and made our stay there superb." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms T
Oxon

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2011
"Outstanding experience!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr G & Mrs Y
Walton

"More exclusive than Main Camp"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"Same luxury as Main Camp but more secluded.

The night hide is more reliable than Main Camp for porcupines and honey badgers." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 220
97%
220 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa