This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 271-280 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Okonjima Bush Camp review**"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2011
"** We were actually upgraded to Bush Camp so many thanks if this was due to anything you mentioned (although I'm sure Main Camp would have been pretty bearable too).

What an amazing experience - I really did think I'd died and gone to heaven here!!

For me there aren't enough superlatives for Africat - everything was just perfect. Brilliant accommodation (everything just right - 'natural', well-thought-out luxury), delicious food, lovely posters on walls of cats who actually live there, staff great - particularly our guides, really nice touches, e.g. staff 'drumming' everyone in to dinner, each chalet having supply of seed for feeding birds, torches for finding way back to chalets.

We'd spent quite a lot of time enjoying ourselves at Lake Otjikoto and Tsumeb on our way to Okonjima so we thought we'd probably arrive there too late for the first afternoon drive. But we rang Africat just to let them know to expect us that evening and when we did arrive our nice guide (and lovely German family who made up the rest of our group) had kindly waited for us. No sooner had we parked our car (and signed the accident indemnity form and had a welcome drink!) than we were off in the back of the truck to spot leopards - as you do!

All of our drives/walks were successful as regards the animals we encountered - 3 leopards, more cheetah than I can remember (particularly two who posed beautifully for ages on top of a mound in the early morning sunshine), hyena, hunting dogs and porcupine (who make far more noise than I would ever have imagined as they rattle their quills to push each other out of the way to get at food). We were incredibly lucky, though, to be at Okonjima during a visit from the vet to do routine dental checks and treatment on some of the cats - we saw (and stroked!) a leopard and later a lion on the operating table at the clinic there. Hope we didn't get in the vet's way too much.

The daily 'routine' at Okonjima seems to be early wake-up call at 5.30am (!) for light breakfast (cereal/cake/juice/coffee) then out animal tracking by 6.45am. After successful cat-spotting thanks to our brilliant guide - a really friendly, enthusiastic, humorous and knowledgeable young man called Rohan - we returned to camp at about 9.30-10.00am for delicious brunch and then about 4 hours free to relax as you wish - snoozing, dipping in the pool, sunbathing, feeding the birds, etc. Coffee and cake at about 3.00pm before going off on another drive for more animal tracking followed by sundowners in good company looking out over the Okonjima estate - bliss! The lovely dinner was at 7pm with an optional night drive (to see porcupine, honey badgers) for those with any energy left.

Africat definitely lived up to my expectations and provided the highlight of an already amazing trip around Namibia. We shall have to start doing the Lottery so we can try and go back one day!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs C
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2011
"An awesome experience. We had Bush View rooms, which were out of this world. Going to sleep to the roar of lions, waking up to a view of oryx and warthogs!

The rooms were really nicely decorated. Everything ran like clockwork there, you went to get your dinner, handed in your key, then got it back with a torch later. The food was excellent. Paid for lunch on the first day, which was a little over priced really at $100. [Ed: that's N$100 which is about US$14, or UK£9, at today's rates] The following day we had a late breakfast after going leopard tracking at 6am, so the breakfast then lasted us till we had coffee and cakes at 2.30 before the afternoon activities.

The activities were pricey (as there were 5 of us) but equally excellent value for money when yo considered what you got to see. The guides were excellent too (ours Jonas was very enthusiastic and very amusing) When you got back from the night drive or a visit to the night hide, it was lovely to find hot water bottles in your bed!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr O & Dr J
Hungary

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"View room was actually a spacious chalet furnished with style and the view was beautiful. The activities were very good, Daniel was a perfect and professional guide.

It was no internet access, and as we flew out next day, we could not make our check-in online, fact which complicated our travel later on. We were offered that they call for ticket confirmation, and then charged us for the call, which partially spoiled in the last morning my good feelings about Okonjima." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The E family
Bath

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2011
"A long way from the main road to the camp itself but well worth it when you arrive.

We were given details of activities when we arrived but it would have been useful to have had details of these especially cost in advance to allow for budgeting. Saw cheetah, leopard and wild dogs on activity drives at close quarters." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Cheshire

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"Excellent all round. Only spent one night here but the team made sure that we had 18 hours packed full of activities - hence much better value for money.

Fantastic trips to see leopard by jeep (evening) and cheethas on foot (morning). Excellent guides." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Notts

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"We should have stayed 2 nights!!

The accommodation at Bush Camp was exceptional but we were so busy with all the activities that we didn't have enough time to really appreciate our lodge. Our guide, Rohan , was excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"Between Etosha and Okonjima we diverted to the Hoba Meteorite - this was well signposted.

The camp was 24km from the main road and this would be tricky in the wet season but arrangements have been made to cater for that. Okonjima was a superb camp although it was very quiet during our two nights there. The game drives were excellent with very good sighting of cheetah, leopard and hyena. Highly recommended as part of any Namibia trip." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Belgium

"Okonjima- cheetahs and leopards"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2011
"By far the largest rooms we had on our trip. Two large double beds facing a single large window (almost floor to ceiling) to give you a view of the plains. Food was also excellent.

The highlight of the visit (and of course why everyone comes) is to see the cheetahs and leopards that they rehabilitate. The cheetahs are radio collared (making it a very different experience from spotting game at Etosha) but this at least gives one the opportunity to find them easily and get up close. The camp is quite busy (it seems to be a "must do" for most) so expect that there will be two or three 4x4s setting off at the same time as yours. This place has more of a "business" feel to it, but having said that, the opportunity to come close to cheetah was too good for us to miss." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Ramblers
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2011
"Staying at Okonjima for the last night of our trip was special and we regretted not staying longer to enjoy more of the facilities. Our View room was enormous and superbly equipped. Our guide Daniel was excellent on the leopard tracking and we were delighted to see not just a leopard munching on a steenbok, but other game too. The evening meal was of a very high standard and the staff helpful. The camp is 24km / half an hour along a rough track, and you need to time your arrival before the activities start at 15:30 (winter)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
USA

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2011
"Second best dinner of trip. Fabulous room and view." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 271-280 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa