This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr Steve King
USA

"OR Tambo- Convenient"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"Nice place for the plane weary traveller." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Extremely convenient stopover"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"It’s location is it’s main selling point. Adequate rooms. Breakfast was ok, basic buffet fare, nothing special.

If I had to overnight in Jo’burg again, I would stay here just for the convenience, so to avoid lengthy road transfers and being dropped off at the airport way ahead of the flight time." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana; 5n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms H
Washington

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"The staff were great, the rooms clean and comfortable." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Carter Caravan
USA

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Family G
UK

"Overnight in Johannesburg"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"This large hotel within walking distance of the terminal was excellent - No need to worry about taxis and getting back in time for your next flight.
The rooms are comfortable but do check that your window fits well otherwise the noise of the winter winds whistling will keep you up.


" See all these reviews: 5n in Mozambique; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Ms M
Ontario

"City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"Is this the hotel in Kigali - the Quiet Haven. My comments are for that hotel." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W
Ontario

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"This was an easy hotel for us to get to especially since our flight was delayed. We only had 3 1/2 hours there - arrived at 2:30 am and had to be at the airport at 6:30 am. We felt rushed.

We were not there long enough to see facilities or activities." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs V
Boulder

"Great airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2016
"We enjoyed our time at OR Tambo hotel.

We asked if we could stay an extra half day before our flight and, although, there was an additional charge, they were able to accommodate us.

We also had dinner and breakfast there and both were fine meals, especially breakfast." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms F & Ms K
USA

"City Lodge Johannesburg Airport"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"City Lodge was easily accessible from OR Tambo Airport terminal, and was good value for the price. Our room was spacious and well appointed.

Breakfast (included in our room rate) was excellent.

We would recommend City Lodge to anyone needing to overnight when flying through Johannesburg." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Seychelles; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa