This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp

Reviews of Impala fly-camping

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala fly-camping and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H & Mr W
Norfolk

"Selous Impala fly camp great adventure"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"We went for 2 nights fly camping from Impala, and that was an amazing experience. A brilliantly run set-up and we enjoyed it enormously.

We were by a lake and the hippos and giraffes wandered around us quite happily. We had expected we would be 'roughing it', but quite the contrary. Everything was provided and the staff were outstanding.

To be able to sit by a camp fire, chatting with our guide under millions of stars and to see a leopard going to drink at the lake says it all." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L & Mr DB
Oxshott

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"though we spent only a short time at the fly camp, we were happy with the service and the game drives" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Rwanda; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Camp two and a half of four!!!!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"The camp location was superb. The food excellent. Great experiences, even the rain storm when out bush walking (the guide assured us it never rains in August)!!!!!!

Well looked after and glad we had two nights - this is a must - one night would not have been enough!!!!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr S & Miss P
Avon

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2011
"Wow. What an experience!

Our own tent out in the bush with a guide, a cook, a ranger and a host. The level of service the guys provided was amazing considering where we were. The food was some of the best we had on our trip and some of the photos I took of breakfast made it look like we were in a top restaurant rather than in the middle of a game reserve.

Our guide - Ezra - did everything possible to make us feel comfortable and we really enjoyed chatting with him in the night, talking about his life and sharing our experiences together. Such a relaxing experience, even though we could hear the crocdiles and hippos entering the lake not too far away!

The Game Drive that we did with these guys was fantastic too as they managed to find us a leopard and very skillfully tracked it down when it initially ran away. Very patient and dedicated to getting us the pic and viewing that we really wanted.

If you want to get back to nature and feel waht it's like to be on a 'real' safari then give the fly-camp a go!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B & Mr R
Bucks

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This was GREAT fun - such an experience! Just try it!

I would reccomend the fly-camping which was one of the many highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Wimbledo

"The highlight of our safari"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Brilliant - it's incredibly exciting and you really get to feel the atmosphere of the bush. We loved the overnight camp and listened with some trepidation to the sound of hippos outside the tent.

Evening drinks watching the sunset were lovely and we were then served a simple but delicious evening meal prepared by the fly camp chef before heading off to our comfortable tents - to be recommended" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms O
London

"Lions as neighbours at Selous Impala fly-camp"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2009
"We stopped to look at a pride of about eight lions just moments before reaching Selous Impala fly-camp. At first it seemed very daunting that these magnificent creatures were our neighbours but given the camp's staff of six, including a ranger with a gun, we gradually chilled out. And we enjoyed the ingenuity of the facilities, complete with wash tent with canvas bucket shower.

The luxury extended to a dining area where the white jacketed chef served wonderful cuisine. Our guide was enormously knowledgeable and entertaining, regaling us with animal stories in the evening and taking us on a walking safari the next morning when we saw the tracks of much game that had been walking almost beside out tents the night before - from leopard and lion to buffalo and hyena." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Devon

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"We expected our fly-camp to be back to the basics of camping but we were in for a surprise! We had a tent by a beautiful lake with its own warm bush shower. The food was exceptional and was provided by our own kitchen team! Having our guide Hussein join us for dinner was great as we had chance to talk while the sun went down and the camp fire burnt beside us.

Waking up to the sound of Baboons making alarm calls during the night was a bit disconcerting but added to the whole experience. We found Leopard tracks behind the camp on our bush walk the following morning. We highly recommend the fly camp and a bush walk as you feel more part of the surroundings." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hawksworth

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"We were prepared for and had expected a more primitive or "closer to nature experience".

This was still luxury camping admittedly at a temporary camp site." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr G & Ms P
Hampshire

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"We missed our "tent" at our main camp. ;-)" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 31
92%
31 reviews of Impala fly-camping by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
11
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (278 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (221 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (169 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (82 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa