This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp
Impala fly-camp

Reviews of Impala fly-camping

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala fly-camping and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Oxford

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2009
"We were a bit nervous about this to begin with as it felt a bit scary to be camping out in the bush, but in the end it was brilliant and memorable experience, and of course there was nothing to worry about! Even when staying in an open camp like Imapala, the fly camp brings you even closer to the wildlife. We were camped on the shores of a lake with a great camp fire, 200 meters away from a pride of lions with Elephants walking through the camp in the night.

The tents are obviously more basic than the main camp, but even so it is very comfortable and has everything you need including a shower and toilet, and they even bring you warm water to wash with in the morning!

The food is as good as at the main camp and they still bring you your early morning tea when you wake up!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mopane squirrels
UK

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2009
"We have had difficulty grading this.

It was as described but we would have preferred a more authentic experience, perhaps cooking and eating around a fire rather than served food at a table formally set. Although we ate with the guides it gave the feeling of living in the bush in colonial times.

We really enjoyed walking in the bush particularly the long walk back to Impala. A great experience we would not have missed." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Camping, but not as we know it!"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2009
"Great experience: felt safe and comfortable but also "out in the bush".

Quite luxurious compared with camping in the UK!

Unfortunately we slept through any animals prowling in the night, but our guides reassured us that they had been awake all night keeping the wildlife at bay! Lovely to go for an early morning walk following the tracks." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"We enjoyed the experience of the fly camp and the chance to be out of the main camp.

The service was great and the location by the lake was good. We had a walking tour in the moring before breaking camp and enjoyed this early morning walk." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L & Mr A
London

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"I think I was under the impression that the fly camp would be much further away from the main camp and therefore different area altogether however it realistically it was probably only 1/2 mile away so the activities were the same as if one was in the camp.

The experience of being remote, bush showers etc was fantastic but I have probably been spoilt by staying at Footsteps in Botswana or the walking experience in Zambia. However, it was all done very well, apart from the fact one felt that the food had just been driven down from the camp!

In retrospect (having been there etc) I think I would have perhaps added a third camp and skipped the fly camping. This is in NO WAY a criticism just it was not as remote as I thought it was going to be and the walking was not quite as expansive as I felt it might be. Please do NOT take this wrongly, as I really enjoyed it but it was just a bit too much 'down the road' from the main camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs Dolphin
UK

"Selous Impala Fly Camp"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"Excellent guide, good basic camp but with long drop toilet and bucket shower. It was lovely location on edge of a another large lake and we watched sunset before having a really nice meal.

From the short time we are at the Implala camp we were very impressed with the facilities, location and staff and the lunch we had was excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Clown Fish Family
UK

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"From Impala it is possible to 'Fly camp' with dusk and dawn walking safaris. This may be a good way of varing your activities. The walking safari was very interesting. It is a completely different feeling to be at floor level, 10 metres from an elephant trying to work out what you are and whether to charge, than viewing from the security of a Jeep.

Seeing the minuture of the bush added another dimension as well. However, the dining gazebo, linen, five staff and electric light somewhat took away from the 'out in the wild-temporary camp' experience we were hoping for. Having been at Manze Camp already we felt that theyhad done the job better. I guess that it's just a matter of taste." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Flying Fish
UK

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"Great fun - really felt like an adventure. Excellent fun. Tent was really comfortable and we were looked after well.

Gem and I were on honeymoon though and would have liked to have had dinner on our own though!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The Bee-eaters
UK

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2008
"Probably the most disappointing part of our trip - we felt under prepared and rather 'left alone'. Walk was not very informative and seemed a bit superfluous.

Location was very beautiful but it was a long drive (where we had already been earlier in the week) - we felt it would have been better if we had travelled less so the walk could have been longer and/or the camp had been somewhere different" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr J
Hants

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2008
"A great experience but we slept very poorly on the camp beds. Glad we did it - and also definitely glad we only did it for one night!!! Fantastic attention to detail - food, team, facilities (loo and shower) etc" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 31
92%
31 reviews of Impala fly-camping by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
11
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (278 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (221 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (169 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (82 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa