This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr W. from Brussels

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

3

My Aug 2021 trip

Rwanda and 3 other countries between 5 Aug 2021 and 26 Aug 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our third trip with Expert Africa - I believe it's no coincidence that the Bradt Africa guides are simply the best ones on the market and that Expert Africa are extraordinary in the depth of their knowledge of the situation on the ground and in their capacity to coordinate and synchronise everything to make it an excellent trip for a family with young children.

The team doesn't shy away from having you face some challenging hikes and let you contrast more adventurous camping surroundings with (by then, you feel, properly earned) luxury.

I saw some of the most amazing sights and things in Africa, which I would not have found without the guidance of Expert Africa. And for the unforseeable and unavoidable occasional hick ups, the team is there to help where they can.

I hope Expert Africa stays a well kept secret."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel

"Heaven Boutique Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"the views, atmosphere and food were amazing.

We were not in the boutique/bungalow part, which has nicer rooms (we had a cheaper more convenient family apartment next door), but we could fortunately make extensive use of the pool/restaurant"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2021
"Had this nice end-of-the-world feeling, with a menacing view of a mean morning mountain from our bungalow that we could look at satisfyingly in the evening after a successful ascent.

Lit fireplace in the bungalows and hot water bottled between the sheets!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

7 Aug 2021 • All-day excursion

a necessary confrontation with a shocking past, but in a deeply dignified way.
Mount Bisoke Trek

Mount Bisoke Trek

"Mount Bisoke Trek review"

8 Aug 2021 • All-day excursion

Steep, but we made it!

Sometimes the descent was too fast, not too fast to follow but with a higher risk of falling/tripping/injuring
Excellent
Mount Karisimbi Trek - 2 day trek

Mount Karisimbi Trek - 2 day trek

"Mount Karisimbi Trek - 2 day trek review"

9 Aug 2021 • All-day excursion

We didn't ascent beyond the camp because that would simply take too long right before we had to pack/fly all night to Lusaka.

But very beautiful forest to walk through and magnificent views from the camp. Amazing food that the cook could pull together.

Humbling to see the Rwandans basically jog up the mountain while carrying solid wood furniture on their heads.
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2021
"simply put: out of five stars, they have six.

everything is excellent: the guides, the staff, the food, the location, the rooms, the area. This is one of the three best camps I have been to in Africa.

We saw cheetahs!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2021
"perfect place for our 24 hour stop over.

And really great steak in the restaurant. The kid's version is already more than enough!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2021
"this hotel was cancelled because our flights were delayed, so I can't comment"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2021
"real "cast away" island feeling, and the cabins are great. The coconut crabs are everywhere (outside the cabins!) at night.

The food is really good, but abundant portions there is just no way to finish it all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Qambani

Qambani

"Qambani review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"A real luxury resort that doesn't feel like a honey moon place.

Until I saw this pool, I didn't understand what an infinity pool meant. and the beach is amazingly beautiful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team