This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

221 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

88% success

Elephant

46% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

15% success

Showing 101-110 of 221
Duration
Arrival date
The L family
Jersey

"Victoria Falls at Zambezi Sun"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"This is an impressive but large hotel that simply can't compete with the charm, individuality and personal care of the Robin Pope Lodges and Camps. The breakfast choice was immense, but the food otherwise uninspiring and the rooms, while spacious, were grubby!

The huge trump card for this hotel is its proximity to Victoria Falls. A 10 minute stroll and you are in the presence of one of the newly categorised seven wonders of the world. Stupendous and essential to visit at different times of day and night. We were fortunate to see the Falls framed in a lunar rainbow in the presence of a full moon and then to dip our toes in the cauldron of the "Boiling Pot" below the Falls as the sunrise lit up the Vic Falls Bridge.

That very bridge is only a 15- 20 minute walk away and is the location for the Big Air Experience- 110 metres of free fall Bungee, Gorge Swing and Zip Wire. It is simple to find but does require crossing the border post. A "bridge pass" is readily obtained there (passports required) but do allow 20-30 minutes for queueing. Once on the bridge be prepared for enthusiastic locals befriending you, encouraging you, congratulating you (post jump) but then expecting you to buy a selection of their wares!

The hotel is also well located for white water rafting, with local companies picking you up and driving you to the set off point. We did this with Safpar, who were very professional, great fun and ensured that our expectations were exceeded- an awesome experience.

Finally, ensure you take a stroll through the grounds, to visit the neighbouring Royal Livingstone Hotel. This is a sister hotel, of a higher class, understated elegance and sophisticated with a stunningly located terrace over the Zambezi River, with a fantastic panorama including the top of the Falls." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Bristol

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"If you want to be close to the Falls but not spend a fortune this is the place to stay. Superb location with easy and unrestricted access to the Falls.

We went back to seem them several times and at different times of the day to really appreciate them. The rooms are comfortable. The atmosphere and service is relaxed and efficient if a bit impersonal. Breakfast is very good but lunch and dinner seemed expensive and not great quality.

However it is a short walk to the Royal Livingstone for something a bit nicer and surprisingly not much more expensive." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Toronto

"Good choice to stay overnight"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2013
"Nothing special but good place to stop over to see Victoria Falls. A busy place which might not be conductive to relaxation." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms P & Ms G
Antigua

"The hotel was fine, wifi was very expensive!!"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2013
"The Zambezi Sun was pretty much what we expected for a big hotel. The rooms were fine, pretty, clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to the falls, Francis at the front desk was really helpful and patient. They say free Wi-Fi, but you get 15 minutes a day only, then you have to pay. We never got our second free 15 minutes, and we ended up paying almost £60 for a day and a half's worth of internet.

The food was average, however the food at the Royal Livingstone next door was fantastic. The Royal Livingstone seemed to be a really wonderful hotel, but much more expensive than the Zambezi Sun.

Our only complaint was the internet price, and misleading advertising." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mrs L & Mrs T
Norwich

"Victoria Falls experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2013
"The Hotel is in the perfect location for access (free) to the Falls." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs U
Luton

"Great Access to Falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2013
"A great and easy place to recover from a long flight before embarking on Safari. A bonus having free access to Victoria Falls from 6am-6pm.

Nice to have some wildlife in the grounds, Zebra, Impala and Giraffe and many colourful birds. Very comfortable beds. A few options for eating, we used Squires which was very affordable and served excellent steaks. Breakfast buffet was very varied and of good quality. Large pool in pleasant surroundings.

Easy and safe to take a taxi into Livingstone centre not expensive we paid 50 Kwacha (about £6) but agree price first. We changed a small amount £ for Kwacha at the airport, there is a Barclays bank to the left as you come through arrivals. Tip; Hotel has large Umbrellas to borrow for visiting the Falls, no charge." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr E & Ms P
Spain

"Great helicopter ride"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2013
"Great location. Very slow service (specially at the front desk and laundry facilities).

With Max having trouble walking around the grounds, we were not offer a ride from the lobby to our room on the day we arrived. Considering the trip from Madrid to Zambezi Sun took over 24 hours, we would have appreciated that extra help. Again, the front desk people were not very helpful in trying to help us move around in their golf cart; we had to "befriend" one of the cart drivers and bypass management.

Check in and check out processes were painfully slow. Breakfast buffet service was not very "visible"; it would take forever to find someone with a coffee jug.

However, the location is great; you could easily walk (or be driven in a golf cart) to the entrance of the Vic Falls Park. We heard from people who went to Zimbabwe had to pay for entering the park every time, and we did not. We also could take advantage of the other hotel in the property and got dinner there one night, experiencing the different ambiance and extraordinary view of the Falls from afar.

The helicopter ride is a must to recommend; exciting, well organized. The only thing to complain about it is that the video that they tried to sell to you after the ride is quite expensive ($140), specially when you think that it was not taped during your flight except for the camera inside the cabin..." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Our third stay in less than a year!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2013
"It says much for our satisfaction with the Zambezi Sun that this was our third stay there in less than a year (and fourth in all) and there is little if anything we can usefully add to the feedback from our previous two visits." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Nottingham

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The OR family
Ireland

"Good reasonable priced place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2012
"Rooms were very nice as is the pool area. Dining options are not great. We eat in the hotel restaurant the first night at the buffet but we found the quality of the food very poor for the price charged. The other 2 nights we eat in a different restaurant located at the conference centre.

The food was much better here and not as expensive" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 221
85%
221 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
86
111
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (43 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa