This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

87% success

Elephant

45% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

11% success

Showing 121-130 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr C
Toronto

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2012
"This was a big typical hotel you can find anywhere in the world! Our room was clean, service fine, food Ok, and location perfect to view Victoria falls. We preferred the guesthouses and tented camps we had experienced.

The only way we knew we were in Africa were the zebras on the lawn, the rumble of the water falling, and vivid colours in the rooms!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Bucks

"good location with extorbitant food prices"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2012
"Great location right next to the falls. Room comfortable. Very comfortable pool area. Main complaint about this hotel is the absolutely ludicrous food prices and the poor quality food. Buffet $45 pp at dinner is ridiculous. Judging by the standard of food at breakfast, dinner would not have been good.

Breakfast food was often cold and greasy (cold poached eggs....bleugh!), the waffles are tasteless cardboard, burnt and dry pastries, the fruit is the saving grace. So we learnt....eat a good lunch at the excellent pool bar (why is this fab place closed for food pm?) and snack on UK biscuits and bar peanuts for dinner. Very sad." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs B
Portugal

"Ideal location for Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2012
"A super location as it was so easy to walk to the falls.

The grounds were well kept and the overall standard of the hotel was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms B
Birmingham

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2011
"The Zambezi Sun is very comfortable, and just next to the Falls. The only reason I rated the trip good and not excellent is because I got food poisoning from the cafe in the Zambezi Sun on my last day!

The toilet in my room also malfunctioned and flooded the room, but they immediately moved me to another one and were very prompt in dealing with it." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs S
Morden

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"Lovely location with unlimited access to Victoria Falls for hotel guests. The service was not as good as at the lodges we stayed at and it's the only hotel I've ever been to that said that if I wanted a small jug of fresh milk for the tea in the room (i don't like the powdered creamer they provide), i'd have to order it, and pay for it, on room service. We found some cockroaches in the room but the staff we told didn't seem too bothered.

We stayed in ten different hotels/lodges during our holiday, and this was the only one with a bed that gave me backache. We did like the choice of fresh fruit at breakfast, but didn't like being chastised by a member of staff for putting the bread into the toaster using my hands instead of tongs - I had to point out to her that there weren't any tongs (someone had moved them out of that area) and felt she should have checked the tongs were there before complaining at me! Also wouldn't have objected to her apologising for her mistake. Can't fault the service that the porters gave though.

The hotel Activity Centre arranged an elephant safari excursion for us through Mukuni Big 5. This was well organised and the people in charge of the elephant rides/feeding made us feel very welcome. I had some feelings of guilt booking this trip, being afraid of indirectly supporting animal exploitation, but they obviously cared for the animals and we were assured that the animals were rescued orphans and their offspring. It was a very interesting and enjoyable experience." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Essex

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"This hotel is very well situated for the Falls.

It's nothing special but suited our purposes and budget." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Super location by the falls, nice rooms, but one would expect more from the service and the food. The breakfest buffe was nice, but the stay away from the a la carte restaurant, and it was impossble to get a late night snack in the bar" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"This was a big change after staying in bush camps for 3 weeks. The hotel is in a superb location a few minutes walk from the falls.

Rooms are good and the service was very friendly. Breakfast was good and we had an excellent but expensive buffet dinner one night. The other nights we ate at the Royal Livingstone sister hotel which has an a la carte menu which was very good.

We enjoyed watching the monkeys, zebra, and gireffes that live on the hotel grounds. Went into Livingstone one day and enjoyed the crafts maket and museum." See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Austin

"Right on the edge of Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2011
"Zambezi Sun is located right on the edge of the falls, just a short walk to one of the natural wonders of the earth. Our room had trouble with shower flooding, shower door not closing property and the toilet never quit running. Several calls to the front desk finally brought maintenance to fix the toilet and shower drain. Unfortunately, the door still never shut properly.

Buffet food was average but we did enjoy a wonderful meal at an adjacent steakhouse." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 121-130 of 219
85%
219 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
110
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa