This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel


17°55’9.4"S 25°51’49.7"E

Reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Livingstone Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Royal Livingstone Hotel.
Zebra

100% success

Hippo

75% success

Elephant

50% success

White Rhino

25% success

Showing 51-60 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
MGC

"what a place to spend Xams!"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2009
"this was the luxury part of our trip and the hotel combines old world charm with excellent facilities and frendly staff.

The falls being so close was great and to sit having sun downers watching the sun set in this location was superb! Was great to go to the falls early in morning before the crowds arrive and to see a rainbow in the morning light! what a view!

The staff and the chef were very accomodating to our vehggie diet and the Xmas eve meal was excellent - further enhanced by Zebras trotting by as we celebrated Xmas!!

We also liked the hotel committment to growing its own fruit, vegetable, herbs, flowers etc. The gardeners gave us a an informative tour of the gardens." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Ms E
London

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"Just marvellous! I stupidly went white water rafting which for me was a disaster ( I am too old) But that is not the hotel's fault.

Everything about it was brilliant, location and service in particular and the breakfast was something people were taking photos of. I would love to go back and maybe explore more of Zambia too. I even found a very good hairdresser in Livingstone, at the hotel's suggestion!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs MB
Farnham

"Fantastic stay at the Royal Livingston Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"I was slightly worried about this hotel due to some negative comments on Trip Advisor. It was superb, both rooms and suites were fantastic (we got ugraded to a suite so we were lucky enough to try both. The food was great and the location is stunning. It made the perfect end to our holiday as the pool was fantastic to relax by after our busy safari." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Guernsey

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2009
"After the long trip from London this was a most welcome and relaxing start to our holiday. The location is stunning, the staff very friendly and helpful.

The food at breakfast was first class. We would have no hesitation in returning. I would have given an excellent rating if the choice of evening meals had been better - also we chose to sit outside to eat, but this resulted in poor lighting by which to eat our meal. I also found the choice of wines to be rather expensive." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
H family
London

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"Fantastic location, very nice rooms and very helpful staff. Restauant service a bit slow in the evenings." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
P family
Sheffield

"A wonderful 'colonial' atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2009
"Arriving at the Royal Livingstone was like like stepping back in time to a bygone era. The location on the bank of the Zambezi and within sight (and earshot) of the Falls was perfect.

Rooms although well furnished and prepared were small considering the reputation, grade and cost.

The choice and quality of the food available in the main restaurant was excellent with a choice of whether to eat on the verandah or inside. The wine list was comprehensive but extortionately priced even for 'local' South African' wines. I would have been happy to pay a premium for French champagne but not $80 for a bottle of South African Pinotage which I bought myself for $10 last year!

Assistance for planning activities was very efficient and helpful although we weren't brave enough to do any of the extreme experiences available. Our highlights included the 30 min helicopter ride and the rhino walking safari which we would definitely recommend." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Maida Vale

"Lovely way to end our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"We weren't quite sure what to expect from this hotel - we thought it might be a bit brash/new but it really exceeded our expectations. It was very elegant and well appointed.The bar /restaurant areas on the veranda looking out over lawns and the river were really delightful and we were quite happy to while away at least a couple of hours a day there. The breakfast buffets were very lavish without a doubt the best on our holiday.

Service was also of a very high standard. Guests have their own butler who is very good at sorting out wet gear after trips to the Falls!

We're not sure how much we paid for this experience but (in our blissful ignorance on this point) our view was that it was well worth it to be able to end our holiday on a high point.

One minor niggle. We booked a Livingstone town tour via the hotel with Bushtracks. We enjoyed the tour (and were glad we had done it) but thought it rather overpriced particularly as our vehicle was not suitable for town driving being a clapped out safari style landcruiser. When I asked to sit in the front seat so I could hear what our driver/guide was saying I had to clamber over the front door as this was tied shut with string and could not be opened. Not up to the Royal Livingstone's normal standards! Generally everything was very expensive (not helped by the dollar pound exchange rate) but if they're charging those prices they should be providing the service to match." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Berkshire

"Royal Livingstone - our views"

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2009
"The hotel is in an amazing position and looks wonderful and rooms are good. Sadly, the standard of service does not match its appearance and is definitely not 5 star. The staff are either poorly trained or just indifferent. bags took THREE hours to get to our rooms and had to be chased three times.

Meals were painfully slow - 45 minutes between starter and maincourse on one occasion. Wines are outrageously overpriced. When have you ever had cocktails in the bar and been told there are no nibbles to go with them; nuts or crisps?

The sundowner cruise organised by the hotel was lovely to see but the hospitality on the boat was poor - a few nuts on paper plates and no wine included. We felt it was something of a rip-off. On the other hand, the helicopter trip was magical.

We found on our trip to the airport that we were not alone in these views." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Middlesex

"Beautiful Royal Livingstone Hotel"

4 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2008
"This is a magnificent hotel set in the most beautiful surroundings. I was slightly surprised, however, to have to ask for a drink on arrival as no "welcome drink" was offered despite the fact they knew I was feeling slightly unwell after the flight.

I'm very pleased we stayed in the park as the location to the falls was perfect and it was lovely to sit on the Sun Deck and watch the magnificent sunsets over the Zambezi River. We went to the falls on several occassions and visited the most informative Visitor's Centre as well as taking a taxi to Livingstone to visit the museum.

The breakfasts were extremely good but we only had dinner on our first night as we found the menu a little pretentious for our tastes. I really didn't fancy eating impala! Although I don't really like buffets, we decided to eat dinner at the Zambezi Sun on the remaining evenings as there was a wider choice but I'm pleased we didn't stay there as it was quite noisy with lots of children. However, they had a very nice group playing which made the overall experience very pleasant.

The grounds of the Royal Livingstone are lovely with lots of places to sit and relax although I did find it somewhat offensive to have someone having a foot massage next to me whilst at the swimming pool." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr SKS
Monaco

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2008
"A very well run five star set-up. Delivered all that is expected of a top international hotel.The activities were rudiculously over priced!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 84
93%
84 reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa