This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel


17°55’9.4"S 25°51’49.7"E

Reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Livingstone Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Royal Livingstone Hotel.
Zebra

100% success

Hippo

75% success

Elephant

50% success

White Rhino

25% success

Showing 61-70 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Camberley

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2008
"Disappointed by the cost of trips - for example the short hop to Livingstone Island - having seen how little many Zambians have in other parts of the country and we suspect in relation to the wages of the hotel staff.

We thought the lawns were over- watered and the electricity could have been better used elsewhere in Zambia. (We advised the hotel of our view.)

Not a hotel problem but the cost to go to the Zimbabwe side of the Falls was incredibly expensive and both Governments could usefully re-examine their Visa charges.

Shopping excellent at the village by the Falls (as you advised) and also in Livingstone itself." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Bucks

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2008
"The Royal Livingstone hotel lived up to all our expectations. The white water rafting activity was a great experience and the company Saf Par were well organised and paid a lot of detail to safety.

Our helicopter trip over Victoria Falls and along the gorge was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Heslington

"night to recover from travel"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"Lovely welcome splendid position and atmosphere great terrace by the river for cocktails helpful staff good rooms
would probably have benefitted from a further day here. Arrived at 2pm for a 3pm helicopter ride.. and was picked up next morning at 8am.. all felt lovely but a little rushed. I am not sure if we could have dione other things here apart from the falls.. not that we had time!

Helicopter ride was good and well orga nised.
The guide who picked us up the next morning was fab, friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Lisbon

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Service should be concerned with so many mosquitos in the room. Also food quality is bellow expectations." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Lisbon

"excelent but very slow service"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Excellent place and location, confortable, good taste in decoration, but still far away in service terms when compared with similars in Kenya and Tanzania.

Very nice staff that still needs a lot of training." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Bogogno

"Great stay in Royal Livingstone"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"They have been able to recreate the colonial atmosfere in a brand new fantastic hotel" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs IS
USA

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"Very nice hotel right on Zambezi River; monkeys, baboons, zebras, giraffes right on the property and short walk to Falls. Transfers from airport to hotel, and then from hotel to Botswana ferry, were very smooth.

All personnel we dealt with were wonderful...very friendly, polite, cheerful, helpful & intelligent. The Falls were impressive even though it was the "dry season."

We enjoyed dinner at Ngoma Zanga restaurant in the town of Livingstone (traditional African food). We stayed just one day here and that was just right." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Kingston

"A really great place to unwind..."

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2008
"We finished our trip to Zambia at the Royal Livingstone. It is a great hotel with a 'colonial' feel to it. Service was unbeatable! Its walking distance to Victoria Falls. Rooms comfortable. Food good, especially dinner. 'High tea' was a real treat. Sunset views from the terrace bar are great. Its next door to the Zambezi Sun so you can use their restaurants and bar also." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"Having been to the falls previously we knew what to expect and the Hotel did not let us down. It is a step up from the Zambezi Sun and it was really nice to have the easy access to the falls.

Water levels are lower this year than when we were here previously. If you wished it was possible to walk across the river to the top of the falls. We took the river Safari organised by Wildernes Safaris which was very relaxing and enjoyable giving us sightings of lots of wildlife and of course those spectacular sunsets. I have read previous comments on the web site about the hotel and I would agree that wine is far too expensive but we overcame this by having a glass not a bottle.

The staff were excellent when we were there, attentive without being over bearing. I was dissappointed to see and hear some tourists, not Brits, being in my view very rude but to their credit staff ignored it and behaved superbly. Finally the question of rooms.

Yes they are perhaps a bit smaller than you might expect from a 5* hotel but overall the facilities are very good and the price is good value, especilly compared to what some lodges cost." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Delta
Spain

"Best location in the area"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"The Royal Livingstone is a very nice hotel, luxurious and well kept. It is very big (170 rooms), so it is rather impersonal and touristy, but that was expected. The best thing about it is its location: on the eastern bank of the Zambezi, within walking distance (10 min) of the falls, we could see the spray from our very comfortable second-floor room (though we couldn't see the river because of the trees…).

The garden is big and full of large trees, and also plenty of vervet monkeys and some baboons, which are fun to watch for a while but then become a nuisance as they are very bold, you really need to keep your room well shut. We also saw zebra, impala and giraffe in the hotel grounds.

The service is generally very good, though it has many small glitches typical of big hotels in third world countries: one day they took the towels without putting new ones, another they didn't refill the minibar, didn't put more toilet paper, etc, no big deal really, and every time we called our butler he quickly came to fix whatever hadn't been done right.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and served pompously, which is kind of funny. The sunset bar is great, though it only opens from 5 to 7 and it's small, so you have to be there early to get a good seat as it quickly fills up for the sunset. Watch out for the monkeys: while I was enjoying a Dry Martini looking at the sunset, a vervet monkey jumped on the table, snatched the olive out and ate it! at least I reacted fast enough to give the little bstrd a slap in the back, and the good thing is that they gave me another drink.

On the day of arrival we had a 45 min swedish massage, which was great to recover from the long flight from Europe. They give the massage in outdoor gazebos overlooking the river, very relaxing (except when you hear the occasional hippo grunt nearby!)

We stayed 3 nights, which I think is perfect for exploring the falls from both sides (Zambian and Zimbabwean) and doing the 3 key activities: Livingstone island, river safari, helicopter. You can probably cram everything in with just 2 nights, but it would be very tiring unless you leave something out. I strongly recommend going to Zimbabwe to see the falls from there, the views are much better and it is perfectly safe.

We also did an elephant-back safari, which was great but there are other places in Africa where you can do it, so I don't think it is a “must” here. The activity I recommend the most is Livingstone Island, it's incredible how close you get to the falls, don't go if you suffer from vertigo. The heli ride is also awesome, breathtaking views over the falls. The river safari is very recommendable (certainly better than the bigger “booze cruise” in the African Queen), but not that unique (e.g., the one in Chobe is much better)" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 84
93%
84 reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa