This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ruckomechi Camp
Ruckomechi Camp
Ruckomechi Camp
Ruckomechi Camp
Ruckomechi Camp
Ruckomechi Camp

Reviews of Ruckomechi Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ruckomechi Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ruckomechi Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

20% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Eland

67% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Roan antelope

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Birdwatcher
UK

"Wonderful location, excellent guiding"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2014
"Very efficient comfortable camp great location and all tents comfortable. Staff v attentive and guides excellent..knowledgable and tailored it to our interests..walking birds and detailed observations. loved the tree house...would in retrospect liked to have stayed there long after sun up watching the waterhole..would have been happy to have been left there in the early am with a flask and a few biscuits and be picked up later.
The starlit bath was memorable and we saw wonderful wildlife moments..including elephants swimming across the river just in front of the camp
I would like to have had a star map perhaps,but this is a minor point.
also to say the transfers were good and the pilots personable and efficient which was reassuring!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms N
Toronto

"Ian and Michelle - Ruckomechi Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2012
"After having the time of our lives in Zambia, our very first impression of Ruckemechi was a touch concerning. By comparison it seemed corporate and a little over-the-top, with a very large staff and great big permanent tent accommodations with concrete floors giving the impression of a small hotel room rather than a bush camp tent. Really very impressive, but different than than the first camp we had just come from. But I really can't say enough about the view we had - facing the Zambezi River, with Waterbucks grazing in the foreground and elephants wandering on a small island in the background. Truly awesome! It took very little time for us to recognize all the amazing attributes of Ruckomechi, and we enjoyed it very much.

We did not use some of the alternative activities offered such boating/fishing/canoeing/walking because we had just come from 4 days of walking and were about to go on a 3 night canoe trip - so we focused just on the game drives. Due to the time of year, well into the dry season there was not a lot of activity in the upper regions of the trails but there were a lot of animals bunched closer to the river.

We were lucky enough to see wild (painted) dogs, and a lion kill, as well as many other animals and birds. We had just one guide, Kevin, who was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour - so we forgave him for failing to find the elusive Cheetah. We will have to come back sometime to fill-in that one small gap." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Toronto

"Comfortable Camp - good for first timers"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2012
"Although our experience of Rukomechi was good this had much to do with the accommodation and the service. The camp is very well run and everything works. The very spacious large Tents are extremely well appointed and artistically decorated yet are tastefully integrated into the riverbank setting.

However the game drives seem to be restricted in the area they covered due to the boundaries of the concession. Compared with other camps this was a relatively tame experience. There were not enough charging points to accommodate all of the guests and their cameras and laptops.

We enjoyed the pontoon cruise along the Zambezi followed by a Sundowner on a river island.

We would not recommend taking a transfer from Lusaka to Chirundu, through Zimbabwe Immigration and then by boat to Rukomechi as this was a long and very tiring route especially as we had started our day at 6:00am at Kaingo Camp in South Luangwa, Zambia." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"Ruckomechi Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2012
"We stayed here just one night as a transfer stop and loved the place. Beautiful location and wonderful staff.

As I recall there were no guides qualified to do walking safaris at the time we visited. It was good to be back on the Zambezi." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Malawi; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"A Zambezi dream"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"If I had a wish free I would return to Ruckomechi right now. The last three days of my safari will stay in my memory for ever. The camp has everything a guest could wish. The location breathtaking, the tents spacious and beautifully furnished, the main area inviting and, the most important point, the people who work here.

Game viewing was excellent with the highlight of wild dog sightings. Elephants, my favourites, were in camp all the time, I loved it. The afternoon pontoon boat cruise with a visit of the carmine beeaters colony and the river crossing of an elephant family just in front of the boat will for ever stay in my heart.

Thank you, Carel, Juju, Belle, Gus, Gadrick and, above all, Rachel and Jeff to having made this safari one of my best ones" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Ruckomechi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2011
"Beautiful setting by the Zambezi. We arrived at camp via an hours boat ride from the Churundi crossing. No better way to leave your busy world behind and settle into your holiday.

Accommodation and food up to a good standard.
Staff were very helpful, professional and with good senses of humour.

We saw 3 wild dogs a number of times. Elephant plentiful and relaxed,close up of eland, lots of birds and the mixture of different enviroments made it most enjoyable for the 3 nights we stayed" See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mr L
Amsterdam

"Lacklustre experience at Ruckomechi"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2010
"In an nice setting on riverbank with great views across to Zambia. The game was OK although lots of water meant that parts of the concession were shut off (not the camp's fault of course). But we saw the usual stuff and some nice eland herds. Lion a couple of times at night.

Overall though we were very disappointed with the camp which had an odd, tense atmosphere. It felt poorly run versus other Wilderness camps we have stayed in and not a patch on Somalisa down at Hwange. Lots of niggly stuff and the guides / camp were very inflexible in the way they treated and interacted with guests.

In summary by no means terrible but much better places to go in Zimbabwe in our experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-17 of 17
94%
17 reviews of Ruckomechi Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
2
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, Vundu Camp is a small, comfortable bushcamp offering top-notch guiding.


95% (46 reviews)
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


92% (17 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


95% (15 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


97% (13 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


91% (7 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


95% (4 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


93% (3 reviews)
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


90% (2 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (2 reviews)
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


100% (1 review)
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Tembo Plains Camp

Tembo Plains Camp

Building commenced on Tembo Plains Camp in February 2021. Details are sparce at this stage but we'll update this page once we know more.


No reviews yet
Mana River Camp

Mana River Camp

Mana River Camp sits on the banks of the Zambezi River, a site formerly occupied by Mwinilunga Camp.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa