This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 111-120 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S
Beckenham

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2015
"The lodge itself is lovely together with the staff. After eating in Cape Town, it was more expensive however the food was still good.

The only downside was the building works going on, They are building 22 more rooms, finishing in October 2015 and the builders started at 8am and finished at 530pm. A quiet day by the pool wasn't so quiet with banging and crashing." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr C
Newmarket

"Beautiful, relaxing and comfortable."

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2015
"What a way to return to civilization!! Fantastic on all accounts.

Comfortable rooms, kind staff, great amenities, good food & beautiful surroundings. I had a relaxing message, a nice swim, a great dinner and appreciated the locale for walking to Victoria Falls and exploring the rest of the town.

A definite redo." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P family
Philadelphia

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2015
"Our stay at Ilala Lodge was wonderful. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were comfortable and the location was great. It was only a 10-15 minute walk to Victoria Falls.

Seeing the warthogs every day from our room made for a fun, exciting stay. We ate at the Palm Restaurant one evening and really enjoyed the food. The only slight annoyance was dealing with the vendors who came up to us every time we left the lodge, asking us to buy their "one-of-a-kind" goods." See all these reviews: 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Athens

"excellent stay for Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2015
"Great location with very good service, food and location" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Amersham

"The best hotel I have ever stayed in!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2015
"A small intimate hotel with personable, friendly staff; excellent food and a to die for location.

The rooms were very well equipped, with a first rate shower. Outside of the hotel you are constantly bothered by people trying to sell you stuff, so you need to be polite and firm, although we used it as a good excuse to stay more in the hotel!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs
Beccles

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2015
"Lovely hotel and a fitting end to our holiday. We arrivied at about lunch time and after settling in had a light snack . In the afternoon we went on the sundowner which was fantastic lots of animals and birds and drinks and snacks! Our room was on the first floor with doors opening onto a terrace. from where we could see and hear the roar and see the spray of the falls.

Pool area nice and clean. Staff very attentive. Evening meal very good. Next day walked to the falls. No trouble there. Would happily stay again. It is pricey and everything is in american dollars but a lovely lovely hotel." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr E & Mrs H
Botswana

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2015
"Although the facilities are a little timeworn at the Lodge they are of a decent standard and the layout of the communal areas is very pleasant indeed. Food was always nicely presented and perfectly acceptable, and service, whether restaurant, reception or otherwise, was excellent. So, we enjoyed our stay there.

The Falls themselves are, of course, quite stunning; awesome in fact at any rate in late February when the waterflow is high. I deliberately courted a drenching, and duly got soaked to the skin. We went to the Falls in the morning and took the helicopter flight in the afternoon. We are convinced that that is the best way to get the full experience of the Falls. We ate one evening in the Vic Falls Hotel. We dined, satisfactorily, in the restaurant on the terrace. The main restaurant was completely deserted!

As to the town itself, we particularly liked the Elephant's Walk Shopping Village (in which there is a pleasant open-air restaurant at which we had a good light lunch)." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"A Great Place to End Our Trip"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2014
"The setting overlooking the spume of The Falls is wonderful. The walk to The Falls was easy and not as pestered by salesmen as we had feared!

The room was comfortable without being luxurious (and a tad noisy at times as they are building an extension to the Lodge!). Bar and restaurant prices were high compared to Namibia. The restaurant setting was lovely and the service excellent.

I don't think they are used to people staying 3 nights as the meat heavy menu did not vary from night to night!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Great for visiting Victoria Falls."

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2014
"This is a large lodge with many guests, but it is in a perfect position for walking down to the Victoria Falls. It is very comfortable and the a.c. in the rooms was very welcome (especially as the temperature was around 38 deg. C whilst we were there). The breakfasts were lovely with the highlight of churros every day. The evening meals were pretty good too. It was lovely to eat outside.

We did a trip of an evening safari in Livingstone and Stanley Park, which is a private estate where rhino conservation is a success. After a sundowner we were taken to an outside dining area and had a lovely meal arriving back at the hotel at 9 p.m.

Zimbabwe is very expensive after Namibia. They have aligned their currency with the US dollar. The local population was keen to barter with us using any spare clothes or shoes we had as they find it hard to buy these things." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Southampton

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2014
"Well run hotel on the edge of town.

Easy 10 minute stroll to Victoria Falls which has a good trail system with plenty of viewpoints." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 111-120 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa