This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 121-130 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
P&L
Hackney

"Lovely"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2014
"Absolutely lovely hotel; most staff very attentive and helpful, although reception staff a bit brisk in their manner sometimes. Gorgeous, very comfortable room with balcony from which you could see the spray from the Falls and hear them too; lovely bathroom. Very good food, including a separate vegetarian menu for dinner which was excellent. Everything was close by. Great to have a pool to chill out in (literally and metaphorically). One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

We were concerned when we got there to find out there were building works immediately to the left of our balcony view. Thankfully this stopped soon after we arrived and didn't continue as we were there over the weekend. It should have been mentioned to us in case we felt we needed to move room or even our hotel given that we had specially arranged a suite for my husband's 50th birthday." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Lovely lodge, great location.

Very convenient for walking to the falls and into the town. Pool and bar area very relaxing, good way to start our holiday" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Hemel

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"Great views from our well appointed room. The situation of the Lodge meant that we could easily walk both into the town and to the Falls. Though we walked through the impressive Victoria Falls hotel, we would not have swopped!

News that this was our ruby wedding celebration had obviously been passed on (thank you Nick) and we were greeted with champagne and flowers in our room - both much appreciated." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Ms H W
Calgary

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
PA

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Ilala Lodge is a beautiful lodge set within walking distance of Victoria Falls. We were given what we believe must have been the best room at the lodge and for that we thank you very much, Claire and Nick! Any time not spent at The Falls, the town, on a cultural tour, on a river cruise or eating and/or drinking in the lodge's lovely dining room or bar was spent on our terrace. I cannot imagine a better way to start our trip. The staff was most helpful and the people who arranged our activities were knowledgeable and eager to chat with us about the various activities open to us. The best tour for us was the cultural tour. Our guide took us to the homestead of Crispen and we learned so much. It was a major highlight of our trip. We also visited the local school. The children are beautiful, polite, friendly, happy, beautifully groomed in crisp uniforms. It hurts that they have so few classrooms available to them and can only attend school for half days because of the number of children and lack of space.
Information on how to avoid the curio touts would be most helpful.

I would follow Nick's advice and wait to arrange any tours after arriving at the lodge. I had thought of doing it ahead of time but, as Nick suggested, there was no need.

The only complaint we have is that the dinners were not good at all. We did not eat our main course the first two nights because the beef on the first night had a strange, unappealing taste. The vegetarian curry dish the following night was too spicy to eat - and we usually enjoy food made with curry. Just too spicy hot to eat. At our first camp, the manager told us Ilala Lodge had recently lost its chef which seems the most likely cause for the poor food. But the breakfasts were outstanding!

Because it is pitch black at night and because there are so many men along the walkways trying to get us to buy things from them, we were too uncomfortable to leave the lodge at night to find a different spot to eat." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Ilala; great location for a day at the falls."

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"Ilala has nice rooms opening onto a lovely garden with frequent wildlife visitors. I was surprised how few birds bothered the guests or food outside, unlike the cake-stealing birds at Serra Cafema, until seeing a slingshot in the fellow's hand who was pacing the perimeter. The compromise at Ongava was to cover the food with a net lid/top--I never saw a problem there, so I assume it was effective without being brutal. Maybe too difficult with the huge layout and number of people here, but I feel it is rather sad.

It is a short walk to the park, and though I never felt intimidated by any beggars, be prepared to be asked.

We were delighted to see microlight flights offered, until learning there was a significant transfer fee, plus needing to repay the entry visa to Zimbabwe. Never mind. Maybe the next time we visit Zambia." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Fort Myers

"Very nice hotel"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2014
"This is a great place to stay because the Falls are in easy walking distance.

The rooms are nice with little patios on the lawn where you could sit and watch the little deer and warthogs. We also enjoyed sitting in the bar area near the pool and relaxing." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
C family
West Sussex

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"Lovely place and great location for Victoria Falls. Helpful staff and excellent food." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family S
Leeds

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"A lovely lodge to relax and finish our trip with. We didn't do the boat trips as we had spoken to someone who had been to Chobe the same time as us, and not as good as there (hardly any animals and far off), so we relaxed here instead. Having looked around the town, this did seem the best.

We walked to see the Falls and we did the helicopter flight (the shorter one -12min-Flight of Angels) - it was expensive but felt worth it, just to see the Falls, so close from above-amazing. We booked it from the lodge which seemed competitively priced and felt safer in that we were staying there. Although there were other activities to choose from, we chickened out of the zip-wire rides, having watched them and the Devil's pool was not possible as the water was too high. We had done so much throughout the trip though,so it was great to chill in such a lovely lodge.

The breakfasts were great as was the outside bar to chill beside the well maintained pool. The evening menu was not that adolescent-friendly, so we only ate here once (but was delicious). We didn't find a restaurant in Victoria Falls for evening eating to recommend for families." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Bedfordshire

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"A very attractive lodge. Rooms are lovely.

Staff attentive and pleasant.

Food disappointing- think they were trying too hard and it didn't come off.

It's the nearest lodge to the Falls ." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa