This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 131-140 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
K
Austria

"absolutely okay!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"Can´t imagine, there is a much better place to stay (and eat) in Vic Falls. The droning of the helicopters you have to accept i the entire area, especially if you are going on a flight yourself - what I highly recommend." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sir & Lady B
UK

"ilala lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2014
"The location (within easy walking distance of the Falls) and experience (good check in, tourism assistance, excellent breakfast) at Ilala suited us perfectly.

The lodge struck exactly the right note for us and we were very satisfied with it" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Arizona

"Nice Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"The lodge is within a short walk to the Falls which is a plus for staying here. The grounds are beautiful.

There was no directory in the rooms. We wanted a light snack for room service and in order to do so had to walk to the restaurant to review the menu to order. Seemed to defeat the purpose of room service. Even then the menu posted in front of the restaurant was not current. They had to run back and get "the current version."" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Disley

"ilala lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"lovely room and the staff were very good

food at breakfast and evening meals were excellent, though could be improved by warm plates when serving cooked breakfast and the coffee not so good if you went to eat later, shame as it's lovely when hot and fresher

location is very good, but it's marred by street sellers as soon as you leave the lodge area. we were harassed every time and did not explore the town or eat out as a result, and were warned it was not safe to do so after sunset. the tourist police are around but hardly effective. on our second day we were returning from our only shopping trip at elephant walk when I tripped and fell after being distracted by a seller's hands/products in front of my face, resulting in cuts, bruises and damaged glasses. we were very close to the lodge who were very concerned, offered medical help which I didn't need and a tourist police escort if we wanted to go out anywhere!

we then booked an extra tour to the crocodile farm which was very interesting, and later did the sunset cruise which gave us some good final game sightings" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Canada

"ilala lodge"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"The ilala lodge was a comfortable place to stay and close to Victoria Falls. Being in a town, there were banking facilities, which was convenient to get local currency for the days ahead.

The restaurant served very good food and the rooms were very clean and looked over an area where elephants would wander. The Falls were a bit too far to walk, so a taxi is recommended. While there, we booked a ride on an elephant which was so exciting and received a paper with the elephant's footprint which we will frame. The staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H
USA

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2014
"The accommodations were very comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. Food was delicious with good variety and the pool, patio, bar area was both relaxing and very attractive. We appreciated that there were menu options throughout the day and evening as our family of 6 was coming from several different time zones. In addition to seeing Victoria Falls, Ilala Lodge was a great spot for us to rendezvous, regroup from travel, and get some rest before beginning our safari.

The on site office personnel were knowledgeable and helpful with regards to making reservations for attractions. We thought the elephant trail ride might be super touristy but were very pleased with the experience. The young trainer who rode with us cared deeply about his elephant and really wanted to share information with us. It was a delightful experience and a yummy breakfast.

The helicopter ride was thrilling and offered a wonderful perspective of the falls from the air. The 12 minute ride was sufficient to see the sites.

The sunset cruise on Ra Ikane was lovely. We were entertained by frolicking hippos. The drinks were delicious and plentiful. The food that was served was lacking.

The walk all around the falls was spectacular! We were in awe of the stunning beauty and power of the falls and so vey glad we decided to visit Victoria Falls." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"superb centrally located lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2014
"Very friendly, centrally located, lovely room." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Denver

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2014
"The Lodge was very clean and quite comfortable. The staff were personable and ready to help or answer questions. We enjoyed dinner our evening there, and the food and service were good. Transportation to the Lodge and to the airport arrived as we had been told.

Being able to walk to the Falls was a plus for us." See all these reviews: 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The A family
Florida

"Vic Falls - lovely property, very comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2014
"The lodge is very comfortable, well kept, and the grounds are beautiful. The outside seating area and yard are very nice and scenic for enjoying breakfast (which was very good), dinner, or just a drink by the pool (vey nice). The service was friendly and helpful.

You can see Victoria Falls from the backyard. We saw elephants walking through the trees. We saw baboons very close, in the backyard out of our patio doors in the room.

We took a short bus ride to see Victoria Falls. The Ilala is walking distance to the Victoria Falls hotel.

We would certainly recommend the Ilala and stay there again." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs H
Canada

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2014
"Ilala Lodge is a good place to stay. It's very close to the falls, and it's easy to walk there. The town itself was not really the kind of place we wanted to spend any time in. Way too commercial, way too many people trying to sell you things at every street corner. In addition, the various activities that are available are incredibly expensive for what you get.

But the Falls themselves are spectacular and interesting. Well worth a day's visit.

Ilal is an old colonial place. The rooms are fine, the service is adequate (after 7 days in camps in Botswana the service at Ilala was pretty impersonal). The food in the restaurant is very good." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 131-140 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa