This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 141-150 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B & Ms C
Vancouver

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2014
"We found the Victoria Falls in general a culture shock after being in the unspoilt uncommercialised world of the Botswana concessions. We felt somewhat gouged by high single entry entrance fees to the Falls. The falls are in themselves totally spectacular and no disappointment.

The environs have become touristy and expensive. It is difficult to cross the border into Zambia without a big cost. The zone needs to become more tourist friendly so that people will want to stay there.

Ilala Lodge was okay. The internet did not work very well. The reception staff were not consistently pleasant and helpful. The dining staff were mostly very nice and the breakfasts were very good." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms V
Chelsea

"Illala Lodge wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2013
"Super hotel - couldn't get nearer to the falls.

Lovely vibe, super helpful staff - Martin Vaughan the manager very helpful and attentive (no relation) good pool, fantastic piano player" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Right next to the Victoria Falls."

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Shropshire

"Returning from safari"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"I have already written at length about Ilala at the start of our safari. [Ed: See below!]

It is an excellent place to end a safari, being calm, clean and a great place to adjust back to reality." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Shropshire

"Relaxing place to start and end a safari"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"We stayed here just before and just after our safari into Zimbabwe. It has very pleasant rooms which overlook a lawn that is open to the National Park and there were warthogs and mongooses walking past only feet from our patio door. It was the ideal place to prepare for a safari, and a delight to return to to wash off that safari dust and return to the real world!

The breakfasts were delicious and offered a lot of variety, although I was at a loss as to find marmalade for my toast! Not that this was really a problem as there was a wide range of dishes available.

There was also free internet here although on arrival it seemed to be somewhat temperamental. Something quite common in Africa. The staff were very helpful and accommodating with regard to staying a little after check out time and looking after bags etc.

The location is excellent. Very convenient for both the Falls and the shops and it is right next door to the banks and post office." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2013
"Being only a moderate sized hotel we felt more relaxed than if staying at a much larger hotel.

Service levels were good." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms N
Idaho

"Convenient location."

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2013
"Meals were excellent, if expensive; many choices of game on menu. Eating outside on the balcony was a treat and service was excellent. Room was ordinary, but the wildlife just outside our French door was marvelous for our first introduction to Africa (other than airport hotel). There was a family of wart hogs frolicking for our entertainment, along with meercats.

They were excellent in trying to set up activities for us, but the girl in charge of booking spoke so softly she was impossible to hear. We were able to a arrange a trip to Victoria Falls very spontaneously as he was about to leave with a prebooked group. Although falls were close to hotel, it was just too hot to walk.

The main drawback was the very steep staircase with dangerous footing. Pool beautiful. Nice to have air conditioning as we adjusted to heat. Very close to shops, but the young guys descending on us to buy stuff was tiresome; they were very persistent. Service was excellent and they allowed me direct access to refrigerator for my medicine." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Luxurious"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Very surprised at how beautiful the lodge was. Felt like a 5 star hotel. Dinner and breakfast were best yet. Expensive but thats Zimbabwe! Very close to Falls. easy walk.

Only one night here and to be honest we were happier to spend time in Botswana as once you have seen the falls and maybe managed to fit in an activity you feel like your time is better spent elsewhere esp if you are looking for wildlife experiences." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs R
Daventry

"Good lodge near Falls"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"A good place to stay near the Falls. Comfortable and friendly.
We had a garden room with access to the lawned area and had a lot of bird visitors, plus warthogs, baboons and monkeys
Would definitely use this lodge again." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Great location for Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"The hotel is in an excellent location and ideal being just a short walk to Victoria Falls. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the quality and choice for vegetarians in the evening was surprisingly good.

We did think the bedroom and bathroom were a little tired and needed updating. But both were clean and this didn't detract from the two nights we spent there.

We were surprised to be starting our wildlife sightings here with mongoose, hippo and warthogs in the hotel garden.

We enjoyed a sunset cruise on the hotel's boat Ra Ikane which, though quite expensive, proved to be a terrific experience thanks to the skipper and his mate." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 141-150 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa