This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 161-170 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Wise Monkeys
Bucks

"Return to Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2008
"This was a return trip to Lebala and we were looking forward seeing the new 'rooms'. Unfortunately, we weren't overly impressed. They were very barn-like and drafty and I fear that the parachute silk curtains won't be sufficient to keep out the chill when the mornings turn cold. It was also difficult to locate things like the light switches and the shower looked good but was very temperamental.
Our guide was rather quiet and relatively inexperienced but he 'warmed up' once he got to know us. He tended to rely on the sightings of the other guides but we did see all the big cats, so no complaints. The plains game in May was much less in evidence than in November but we had expected that.
Food was good but vegetarian options were lacking on occasion. The early morning porridge or semolina was always welcome as was the campfire toast when the squirrels didn't steal it!
All the camp staff were friendly and we were remembered and greeted as old friends." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Wild hunting dogs
UK

"A 'Tent' as you have never seen it before"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2008
"We were the first guests at the camp following its refurbishment. The so called 'tents' were out of this world - very spacious, with separate bedroom (with proper beds) and bathroom (flush toilet, bath tub, twin sinks, and the exquisite outdoor 'his and hers' twin shower). I

The tents were upmarket - so was the catering. Large quantities of really imaginative, varied, excellently cooked food appeared day after day. we are hoping that a book of recipes will be published in due course! I noted that the camp coped very well with the special dietary requirements of two of the guests..

The safari drives were brilliant. Our guide, Thabo, was excellent, with an enthusiasm for his country and all of its wildlife. With him, we had our best elephant encounters of the holiday, but felt very safe because it was obvious that he understood the behaviour of these, and the other animals, and would do nothing to upset them or to put us at risk.

We liked the completely open vehicles, and could see the tracker and guide working very closely together - locating animals from the smallest clue. Although it had been a very wet season, and animals were perhaps slower than usual in retuning to this area, we saw a lot, including a herd of 60 elephants and one of 200 buffalo. There were also large quantites of hippo, zebra, giraffe, wildebeest, antelope (including sable) and we had a very good sighting of two spotted hyenas. The bird life was very good, the highlights had to be a brilliant sychronised rolling display by two lillac breasted rollers, and a pied kingfisher that managed to swallow a fish as big as iteself - even Thabo didn't think it would manage it.

Our only regret was that we hadn't taken a tape recorder with us, it would have been good to capture the sounds of Africa - especially those of the nearby Hippos.

All the stalff at the lodge made us very welcome, and we enjoyed the ambience and the relaxed but busy routine of our holiday there." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Remoteness at its best"

3 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2008
"This camp is being renovated in April and the current manager is retiring, so comments might not be helpful. Nonetheless, all of our experiences here were top-notch with the possible exception of the tents. They were of three large rooms which seemed dark and cavernous and simply didn't allow a breeze. If the heavy brush to either side of the bedroom were thinned, a breeze might be possible; and of course, a fan would help.

We prefer vehicles with canopies, but all the game drives were rewarding. We saw wild dogs, for instance.

As an aside, Lebala afforded us with one of those unpredictable experiences sometimes encountered when traveling: the Lebala airstrip had been under water for a month due to excessive rains when our visit was scheduled. Many of the tracks were flooded as well. Consequently, we were flown into the neighboring airstrip (Lagoon) and had a 3-hour game drive to and from the camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr H
Habsburg

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2007
"We had the best guiding experience of our trip at Lebala. Steve and Simon were just brilliant. The management team was very competent. We can recommend to visit Lebala during the rainy season despite the fact that game and prey densities are fairly low at this time of the year, as the guides there work extremely hard to track down predators and make their very best. We saw a coaltion of cheetahs Cheetahs hunting Katembo worked very hard to track leopards, and finally succeeded to find one with a fresh impalay kill. We saw large herds of Giraffes, and Elephants were still fairly abundant." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
Zurich

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2007
"Great guides that make your stay a great experience.

But the tents have to be renewed soon." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Oxon

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Labala camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Two days was not long enough! The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

Our only comment (and this applies to all camps) is that when we were in Namibia a few years ago we tried different local game. The food we had here was very good but consisted of chicken, lamb and beef. The ostrich we had one night at Lagoon was a nice change and was lovely.

The animals we saw were amazing especially the lion cubs." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Spotted wildcats
UK

"Lebala camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2007
"Very similar operation to sister camp at Lagoon. Great standard overal.

Nicer tents and more spacious camp layout than Lagoon so a little bit more pieceful.

Biggest drawback was the tents get incredibly hot (when visited in November).

Great cat spotting." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A Spain
Spain

"Excellent experience at Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2007
"The only bad point about our stay at Lebala was that we only had 2 days, i will recommend at list 3.

The camp was perfect for us with a big and well maintain tent and very very comfortable beds which is great after 30 hours travelling. Maybe a little more light would be nice but this is similar in most camps we had stay.

The common areas where also very nice and we did not need anything else of what they had.

The food was plenty and better than average. It is not a gourmet restaurant but was more than in of for us. The people at Lebala where fantastic, very warm and attentive, always with a natural smile and good humor which is very nice.

We had a private vehicle that was in a very good condition and our private guide was perfect in all aspects.

Finally and most important, the wildlife and landscape where excellent. A big pride of lions kill a buffalo 2 minutes from camp so we visit them in every game drive. Eles, zebras, impalas, giraffs, tsessebe, red lewche, warthogs where all over plus we had some kudus, sable and even wild dog and leopard. Birdlife was very good as well.

Overall i will say our stay at Lebala was great." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Vancouver

"Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"At Lebala we were also very fortunate, our guide was Alwyn and the two of us were the only ones in his car. He is quite remarkable; incredible all-around knowledge, (BTW: also a photographer). We learned a lot about Botswana, animals, etc., etc.

We followed and watched 3 lionesses with their 8 cubs, saw them crossing the water, going to hunt. Alwyn went out of his way to show us as much as possible and to get as close as possible. (F.Y.I. Chris, no, didn't see a Caracal - but got some shots of a very pretty Serval after dark at Lebala, also a White-faced Owl). There seemed to be somewhat less wildlife at Lebala then at Lagoon - but that may be also a matter of luck.

We still miss the sound of the hipos and the little frogs outside our tent at night at Lebala." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Wales

"3nights at Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2007
"Vundi was fascinating, and highly knowledgeable. When he started talking of a kingfisher having two foveas, I knew we had someone with an encyclopaedia to pass on to us.

Whenever we weren't finding something to watch, he would stop and tell us about something of the ecology, or termite mounds or trees or birds or something that enriched what we were seeing. We again saw all sorts of wonderful animals.

The food again was great - I do not know how they cook so well in what must be difficult circumstances, and as for how well our washing was done and returned all beautiful - much better than I manage." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 161-170 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa