This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 391-400 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Cheetahs
Shropshire

"A return visit to a great location."

2 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2008
"We spent a night here in 2007 and knew that we wanted to come back for more.

A convenient and spectacular location with no faults to report." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Doormice
Norfolk

"twitchers paradise"

2 nights Arrived 29 Feb 2008
"lovely location with good escorted walks and marked trails (although did get lost once by ourselves on the dassie walk!)

it is a bird watchers heaven apparantly and it does make you feel the size of your telescope is inadequate compared to the other guests!

the food was fantastic" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Baobabs
Kirk

"The perfect end to our Namibia trip"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"Another superb setting for a camp though not suitable for anyone with diffulties in walking as there are lots of steps and often long wooden walkways connecting the individual tents with the restaurant and main areas. The truly amazing granite rock formations, formed by volcanic action, invite one to explore on foot. For those enjoying hiking and birdwatching, as we do, it's a great place. We also experienced 2 spectacular thunderstorms!

The food was good the staff helpful and friendly. The 2 guided walks we did were enjoyable and informative, with plenty to see and learn about, but we cannot comment on outings further afield. In the nearby town of Omaruru is a cooperative where wonderful animals are carved out of tree roots." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Erongo a magical experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2008
"When we arrived at Erongo we had just spent rather too many days driving and we were delighted to be in a place where we could walk.

The location is amazing and the facilities are equally amazing. We were very comfortable and happy here, which was particularly nice since this is where we spent our last two days in Namibia

The managers were very welcoming and friendly - great hosts! The food was excellent.

We went on several walks on our own and also did a very good morning excursion with a guide." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Walk on your own at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2008
"We especially enjoyed being able to go for walks whenever and wherever we wished. Nonetheless, we chose to go for 2 guided walks with Gelosius and these were excellent.

We began at dawn and climbed the rocky outcroppings to see remarkable views, numerous birds we'd never seen, klipspringers, hyraxes, baboons, etc. The guides and waitstaff here were particularly friendly, genuinely friendly rather than being friendly because that's part of the job.

The food was some of the best we had during our month in Africa, although the portions were too large. I liked the shoulder-high stone walls that comprised the bathroom -- showering outdoors was a pleasure. This lodge was one of our favorites." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Lewes

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2008
"Erongo Wilderness Lodge has such a great situation, it was a good place to unwind at the end of our trip.

Being able to stroll around the walks on our own fitted in with this, and we enjoyed our drive out to the rock paintings, which were just there in a cave in the hillside to be walked up to, rather than an organised place as at Twyfelfontain.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Longclaws
Edinburgh

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jan 2008
"Beautiful location. One night is probably long enough.

Very insecty with lots of moths at night and mossies late afternoon. Food very ordinary." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"fantastic location, lovely knowledge people" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"amazing sundowner at erongo wilderness lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"What a surprise when you drive over the huge rock to see the rooms set smong the rocks. I was so impressed by the architecture here, attention to detail and having a mini bar in our room was extremely welcome! Unfortunately we only had one nights stay here and i would really recommend anyone to stay for two so that you can enjoy the walks.

The wooden walkways to the main lodge are really fun, the design is amazing, hosts very friendly and we were taken up for an amazing sundowner on a rock where you can see for miles, that has a chair atop it for great viewing of the surrounding area. Ostrich stir fry very enjoyable and watching love birds while we ate breakfast was a joy - i hope to get an opportunity to come back!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"Completely different lodge"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"Exciting approach by leaving vehicle and being transported in safari 4x4 up a rock face to get in. Tented accommodation alittle less luxurious than other lodges but an experience worth having. Tents are within a covered area with en-suite attached. Can be a bit draughty but still good.

Amazing area within rock outcrops with fantastic views. Main building comfortable witha great outlook on bird and animal feeding area.

The walking, both guided and self guide is recommended and is the main activity although there is a nature drive. Game is not intended to be the highlight. Warm welcome from staff, guides excellent in knowledge and interest. Food very good" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 391-400 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa