This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Central Lodge
Central Lodge
Central Lodge

Reviews of Central Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Central Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-59 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F & party
Portugal

"One night stopover."

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"Well appointed hotel for a one night stopover. The ambience of a small and typical Southern African town on a Sunday afternoon could be felt.

During the day while driving down from Bagatelle, we visited Quiver Tree Forest, Giants Playground which are well worth a visit. Fish River on the way to Brukkaros was dry and no birds could be spoted." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs SB
N London

"Central Lodge at Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Beautiful location. Driving down dusty street looking for the hotel, and were whisked into cool interior, Rooms laid out round courtyard with fountain and palm trees!

We also enjoyed going to Naute Dam after leaving the next morning. Spent a quiet morning there with refreshments supplied by pleasant English couple - great way to spend the Sunday morning." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The Blue waxbills
UK

"Central Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2008
"This was comfortable and more than adequate. It was perhaps more of a motel, or in the UK a Travel Lodge, that is more a base to stay to see interesting sites round about.

In particular we went to the Quiver Tree forest just before sunset and the Giant's Playground both of which were well worth the short trip. Very atmospheric (if not a little spooky).

We were lucky in that when we went to the farm office to pay we were told the cheetahs were being fed. We did not know there were rescued cheetahs on the farm, it is only mentioned in the Bradt guide under the accommodation section that we had not read. We were treated to the spectacle of two fully grown cheetahs enjoying their rock dassies for dinner from a distance of about six feet. The young lad who showed us round was obviously proud of them and very willing to talk about them and the farm" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"A passable stop-over"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2008
"A bit of a disappointment. When we arrived we were told emphatically that we did not have a reservation by a very snooty young receptionist. However an older lady who was just going off duty quietly got the file and showed her colleague the booking from Wilderness Safaris with a handwritten note on it saying 'reserve room 8'. As room 8 had already been let, we were finally given a rather tatty room at the back of the hotel. But at least we didn't have to sleep in the Nissan!

The younger receptionist treated us to icy indifference for the rest of our stay, as though her loss of face was our fault." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Bitterns
Twickenham

"Stopover at Central Lodge"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2008
"Convenient stop on the way to Fish River Canyon in clean, comfortable lodge. Friendly and helpful staff and plumbing problem was dealt with quickly." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Mar 2008
"Good location and lovely courtyard area and pool area. Room was fine, perhaps a little dated in places and the toilet plumbing was not working very well.

Breakfast was of a much poorer standard to the Rivendell guesthouse. Evening meal was eaten at the hotel and was very nice and service was also good, so overall pretty happy with the place but nothing was exceptional about it." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"terrible towels,s mall and worn out, otherwise convenient and good" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
M & M Oxford
UK

"Central Lodge Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"The main road from South Africa to Nambia was also under going upgrading and we had to take a 30 mile (approximately) detour along the worst gravel track I have ever been on. I doubt if this could have been done with an ordinary saloon car. None were to be seen. I was so glad that we had ordered a 4 X 4 .

Border crossing formalities were uneventful.

At the hotel we had another nice comfortable and quiet room off the courtyard. Also enjoyed a very good meal in the restaurant with an equally good wine!

We then made an early start the following morning and drove up to Brukkaros and were able to drive almost to the rim of the "pseudo" volcano which was something we were keen to do." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr L
Bristol

"A nice little stop-over at Central Lodge."

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2007
"A worthwhile stopover for seeing the Quiver Tree Forest and Giants' Playground. We found Bill Cllinton (pet wart-hog at ticket 'office')) more amenable than the warden!

Exceptional value dinner at Central Lodge. Also, lodge well situated for buying supplies from local supermarket across the road." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-59 of 59
71%
59 reviews of Central Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
25
24
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa