This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen


25°53’27.8"S 16°49’23.5"E

Reviews of Hotel Helmeringhausen

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hotel Helmeringhausen and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hotel Helmeringhausen.
Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"A quite nicely done hotel and garden but not over welcoming compared to many other places.

Lots of notices of what not to do around the hotel and rooms.." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr S & Ms H
Belgium

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"Good stopover, nice location and site although the owners method of communication (face to face and in writing) is at times quite direct...

The food (steak) was the worse we had all holiday." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms P
Clayton

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2014
"We were glad to have an overnight stopping location between Sossusvlei and Fish River Canyon. The roads were all gravel and we saw almost no one else on the road. The Hotel Helmeringhausen appeared to be a green oasis.

Hotel Helmeringhausen provided an excellent dinner and breakfast for our family. The food was very good, and well presented. We appreciated that the hotel was open on the day after Christmas, as we were the only guests that night.

The rooms were basic, and we were told not to drink the water. There was a very nice hotel intern working there and our adult children enjoyed talking with him. The hotel owner was a little gruff, but provided everything we needed." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"In the Middle of Nowhere !!!"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2013
"The drive from Canon Lodge to Helmeringhausen was long and tedious and the c14 was badly rutted so slow going in our 2WD. Some rain had also made the road a little treacherous in places. So when we reached the hotel it was a great relief ! Petrol station there and a store plus post office.

The hotel was ideal for a one night stay en route to the Sesriem area and the room was comfortable and the food good. We did find the room too hot and the fan did not help much however. Try the apple cake it is delicious. A nice touch by Wilderness Safaris as they had put a printed welcome on the room door with our names on." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"Handy Hotel Stop"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"Handy and pretty spot to stop over to break a journey. Even the 'new' rooms here lack warmth and charatcer with not a stick of furniture apart from the bare essentials ie no chair, table , wardrobe or anywhere at all to hang anything except on the door hook. No surface whatsoever to place anything save for the bedside tables so we used the windowsill from where we had a not so lovely view of the Mens toilet in the garden! As most people will only stay a single night we can see the logic of this simplicity but it is not a very welcoming environment. The beautifully kept garden is a delightful oasis though.

Dinner outdoors was a bit chilly for most and the food was less than hot too and very slow to come! The whole meal took ages with big gaps between courses . We were told the meal was at 7pm but we sat for ages before even drinks orders were taken and served let alone the food.

The main course was tasty if lukewarm and we felt it was too ambitiously presented when by then all we wanted was a hot plate of filling food after a simple starter of a bowl of soup with a small triangle of bread. The breakfast buffet was very simple." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr B
Suffolk

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2010
"A pleasant and very quiet one night stop (we were the only guests that night) A friendly welcome from the owner preceded a peaceful night with the place to ourselves. The room and bathroom were attractively decorated but it seemed strange to be given twin beds when were the only guests and there was no shortage of rooms.

The very pretty floral garden is like an oasis and we enjoyed the open air museum exhibits next door and going up the little hill to admire the sweeping views. The breakfast table was beautuifully laid with a white cloth and huge vase of flowers and was a very civilised, enjoyable affair.

Although we had been told someone would be around in the main buidling all evening we were slightly unnerved when we could not raise them and later found the door locked and all the lights put out (inside and out) quite early on so we could not return the museum key and buy a drink as planned." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2008
"The room was not particularly bright and cheerful but ok for the one night.No contact with the owners this time although they were around.

The evening meal was fine but we did have to wait over half hour for main course. Staff not in the best of moods next morning, little disappointed with the place on this visit." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-17 of 17
72%
17 reviews of Hotel Helmeringhausen by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
5
8
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (184 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


84% (19 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa