This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole

Reviews of Pole Pole

Wildlife sightings and reviews

97 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pole Pole and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 97
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Pole Pole: too pole pole for us!"

4 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Pole Pole - the staff are friendly and helpful, although quite reserved. The food was outstanding and plentiful.

The location on the beach is attractive and quiet. Although we didn't try it the pool looked inviting.

Our bungalow was very comfortable & spacious with a lovely balcony. We even had a friendly rat with a penchant for underwear!

We had chosen Pole Pole to end our holiday with some snorkeling. Unfortunately we were only able to go out once a day for approximately 30-40 minutes snorkeling due to the tides and currents. We hadn't read anything before our trip about the activities being so tide dependent and the reasons for the limited snorkeling opportunities weren't explained to us properly until our last day. Despite making it clear on our first evening that we weren't at Pole Pole to just sit on the beach and relax, we were never offered any other activities apart from a village walk even though we were happy to pay for trips in addition to the complimentary snorkeling. There is a nice walk along the beach that we did every day and we saw some good birds but again this is tide dependent.

Our snorkeling with lunch on Fisherman's Island was cancelled due to the rain and the whale shark operators had already stopped for the season - obviously both of these were outside of Pole Pole's control.

It's a lovely lodge but our trip was perhaps poorly timed for the tides." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Rayleigh

"Pole Pole review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2014
"This resort is right on the edge of the Indian Ocean. It was quite a shock to be informed, only at the time the tickets arrived, 10 days before departure, that to get to the Resort would cost us each USD20 per night's stay, which immediately added USD240 to the cost of the holiday, naughty!!

The Resort is lusciously landscaped and as it only contains seven "Bungalows" you are not going to bump into too many people, in fact, no more than 14 plus staff. Everything appears to be built using local materials which is charming, even the Bungalows seem a little "olde world" and the outside decking areas charming. The restaurant area is particularly attractive, just a pity that some of the food lets them down.

Considering this to be quite an expensive, niche Resort, meals was predetermined, no alternative choice and also as the information suggested an Italian influence, I was looking forward to Pizzas and pasta, but alas none of each and no sign of the Italian experience, the nearest we got was supposed to be bruschetta which was just chopped tomatoes and a slice of hard toast. The food was a let down as well as mysteriously the "house" wine not being available but plenty of the more expensive.

The staff were great, trying to make your stay a happy and memorable experience. When looking back it would tend to make me think that profitability is sometimes a more important issue for the owners than providing a really unique experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr P
Ringwood

"Paradise found"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2014
"Superb location for a post-safari chill out after a fairly hairy drive which will be much better when the new road is completed.

Was surprised to find so tidal such that it is not possible to swim from the private beach at low tide. Nice swimming pool though - adequate for the max 14 guests in the 7 bungalows. Only spoilt on the last morning by Marta the manager agreeing to let 6 x testosterone filled/beer swilling South African guys from a neighbouring resort to utilise the facilities who crowded out the pool and raised the noise level from its usual peaceful tranquility.

The management very kindly laid on a 'Special birthday' meal for me on the last night which was a nice gesture.

The snorkelling was good and I even got to helm the dhow on the way back." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr SS
Holborn

"6 nights at Pole Pole"

6 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2014
"Pole Pole is wonderful and a very good combination following a safari.

Marta the new manager is doing a great job but is only 3 months in and perhaps it tells. The staff at the hotel are very kind and helpful but there is a slight lack of efficiency in taking food and drinks orders and there are clearly some language difficulties. It seemed at times that the bat and kitchen could do with some guidance to sharpen things up.

Having said that they were all charming and such elements didn't detract from the stay at all. I got the impression that Marta was having to refer decisions up the chain to management when she was clearly capable of making such decisions herself. One got the impression that she was not granted total autonomy that a manager needs. Doubtless this will change as time goes on.

The relationship that Pole Pole has with Mafia Lodge for activities works well and guides from there were helpful in planning the following day's activities. The food was good, sometimes excellent, but for an exclusive location, I had expected more consistency in quality. All in all I would give it a 9 out of 10. in part the score is high because of the sublime locality and access to snorkelling and scuba diving in a location only in the early days of tourism." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V & Mr H
Greece

"Great location, a little tired"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2014
"We were a little disappointed by Mafia and Pole Pole. feel that maybe new management is struggling, and also that the place needs some TLC to bring it up to scratch.

The excursions were very good, our guide Sadike was excellent and very friendly. Generally felt that staff were very shy at communicating, and that the island was very overrated. The enclosure of the Marine park and daily entrance fee made it feel like an us and them situation." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The T-R family
London

"Pole Pole review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Pole Pole which was very relaxing. The current manageress had only been in charge for two months .

The food was little disappointing as only fish was served, however they were happy to find alternatives when asked.

I was ill during our visit and the manageress was extremely helpful and sympathetic. I think to make full use of this Island you need to be interested in diving to make best use of the marine park , some of the other activities were quite expensive.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Leeds

"Pole Pole review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2013
"Pole Pole meaning Slowly slowly was exactly what it was like relaxing and everything you needed to hand and easily organised. Was very impressed with the trips offered and the area. Would highly recommend the personalised service recieved. Very quiet almost flet like you had the whole area to yourself.

A short walk when it was low tide to meet with the boat/ dive shop. Just need to be aware if booking trips/ dives to ask and make sure lunch/meals have plenty of time - ask in advance." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Pole Pole : beyond brilliant!"

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"6 days at Pole Pole over New Year 2014. The best way ever to bring in a New Year. Wonderful new year party arranged on the beach brought the new year in in memorable style.

Superb food. Local fresh fish with every meal and they catered for my non fish eating son seamlessly.
Superb complementary outings arranged daily i.e snorkelling +/- picnic lunch / sunset dhow rides.

Next door is an excellent diving operation 'Mafia Island diving'. They recognized our names from our trip in 2013, and so kept places assuming we were still keen ++ divers. We had not pre-booked so without this we would have had problems as the season was so busy. Typical of the detail that they look after us with.

We went on a Whale Shark snorkeling trip with Kitue Kiblu as advised by Mafia Diving. It was a totally professional organization so well worth paying the extra over the local guides. The experience was truly awesome. They are magnificent creatures and the contact was long and detailed even though we felt like Jonah for much of the time!

This experience was 100 USD per person, and they only take cash, so it would have been helpful to budget for this before departure. Fortunately Pole Pole accepts tips in Sterling otherwise we would have had a cash crisis. All other add-on's use Visa cards." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Pole Pole review"

6 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"We had a pleasant six days rest and relaxation here. Sara was a good host.

Service and food were excellent and the banda was well laid out and equipped.

The activities were OK for filling out the days, but not particularly exciting." See all these reviews: 19n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Hampshire

"very friendly"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Pole pole was great. The staff so helpful and always smiling. All did their best to improve my Swahali speaking skills! The chef went out of her way to cook alternatives for me as, for example, I eat no shellfish except prawns. It was never forgotten and the alternatives were unfailingly delicious. The daily complimentary excursions were very good - in particular the dow trip to a reef where we snorkelled then on to a sandbank where were given fish grilled on the beach while we lazed in the sun

The one problem we had was with the beach. The tides were dramatic. At high tide there was no beach and at low tide the water so far out swimming was not possible. Also the current was strong as the tide was going out and,again, we could not swim. We were disappointed as we had not had a good experience in Zanzibar (razor sharp rocks by the shoreline making it impossible to enter the water) and expressly asked for a location where we could lie on the beech and swim in the sea.

This should not realky be marketed as a beech holiday (the photo in your brouchure is misleading). Fortunately there was a lovely swimming pool and that is where we spent much of out time quite hapily. The spa was a welcome luxury." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 97
94%
97 reviews of Pole Pole by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
71
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mafia Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini is one of Tanzania's most environmentally aware lodges. With tree-houses, superb diving and a fantastic location on the rural island of Chole, this is ideal if you want to get back to nature.


94% (28 reviews)
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi is a small, personal beach lodge on Mafia Island that has the features of a larger hotel, including a large pool and spa.


82% (11 reviews)
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

Situated just west of Kilondoni, the main town on Mafia, Butiama Beach is a simple beach lodge with friendly managers and a laid back vibe.


94% (10 reviews)
Thanda Island

Thanda Island

Thanda Island is a high-end private island destination that caters to just one group of travellers at a time.


No reviews yet
Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole is a charming Italian-owned eco-lodge on the coast of Mafia Island, with simple rooms and friendly owner-managers.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa