This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole

Reviews of Pole Pole

Wildlife sightings and reviews

97 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pole Pole and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 97
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
NL

"relaxing Pole Pole"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2013
"supposed to have been a bit more relaxing after 2 safaris but it wasn't - dive centre a 5 minute walk away." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Weybridge

"Beach esclusive life"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"The lodge is very small, with lots of space, very welll maintained. Beautfiul view from the rooms.

High quality rooms, with plenty of attention to details.

Maybe the lodge is even too quiet." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Stamford

"Pole Pole review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family T
London

"Paradise in Pole Pole"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2013
"This was the ideal end to our safari holiday.

Woderful beach side location, very comfortable bungalow, outstanding food, fabulous staff.

Our swimming with whale sharks was a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Reading

"Pole Pole review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"A lovely relaxing way to end a holiday.

I was surprised snorkling was only available by going on a boat trip rather than straight off the lodge beach." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"5 days at Pole Pole"

5 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2012
"Brilliant.
We went for relaxation and diving. Both parts were superb, but the highlight was whale watching up close in a Dow and then having a private lunch on a sand bank!
Can't imagine a better time for any of us.
Can't wait for the time for all of us to return!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Ontario

"Perfect trip ending at lovely Pole Pole"

5 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2012
"Again great management from Robyn.

The best food of our trip & also the accommodation.

Great beach & pool." See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Cheshire

"Pole Pole Review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2012
"We were greeted by Robyn on arrival at Pole Pole and shown to our bungalow which was very comfortable with a lovely sea view.

This once again was a very relaxing resort with excellent facilities, attentive staff and a lovely quiet location. We spent some time chilling by the pool which was very quiet and welcomed at times when the tide was out. A very good addition to this resort.

It was nice to have fresh fish at meal times and once again all the meals here were fantastic although we struggled a little with the portion sizes.

Nothing was too much trouble to organise and we thoroughly enjoyed the sunset cruise and snorkelling trips that were included in the room rates. The local diving centre was very well organised with good equipment and experienced staff and the reefs within the bay area were lovely with a huge variety of fish. Nice to see hardly any dive boats in the bay.

The highlight for us (and reason for choosing Mafia over Zanzibar) was having the chance to swim up close with 5 whale sharks. Absolutely wonderful!

The restaurant area was very pretty and relaxing for a drink before dinner and the romantic dinner for two was very much appreciated!

The only small improvements to be made would be to the service, as there were a couple of times that morning wake up and tea didn't arrive and an evening where balcony drinks orders weren't taken.

Overall a first class resort with friendly staff.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs H
UK

"Pole Pole review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"We really enjoyed our stay at Pole Pole after staying in safari camps. It was very relaxed and designed to allow visitors to chill out. Excellent room with a terrace and day bed. With the package comes a free activity each day - we chose a snorkeling trip in a dhow followed by lunch on a deserted island and a trip to Chole island where we saw the remains of the old slave market, a modern dhow building and hundreds of fruit bats.

A trip to swim with the whale sharks (not free) was a wonderful experience.

The down side of Pole Pole as mentioned elswhere is the tidal nature of the site. Activity timings depend on the tide and swimming from the beach is not easy. We were disappointed that the new swimming pool was not available - we understood it was to be finished in January." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Wembley

"Pole Pole review"

7 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Pole Pole was an amazing place, and just the thing for our last week on holiday. After a busy week on safari it was the perfect antidote and helped to send us back home fully relaxed.

We particularly liked:
- The massage (Robyn the manager gave us both free massages as it was our honeymoon)
- The staff were really friendly and approachable
- Our room was of a really high standard
- The food was really well prepared, fresh, and had lots of really nice fish!
- The diving (and dive guide Tiego) were excellent.

Although it was brilliant, on the whole, there are a couple of things that could be improved. The room service was slightly random: sometimes it came late, sometimes it didn't arrive (morning coffee, for example). We weren't too fussed by this, and just took it as part of the 'relaxed' approach.

Most of the diving was done within the Mafia bay. We were lucky to get a couple of dives outside the bay which were absolutely stunning. It would be nice if guests going there specifically to dive could get a little bit more information here - will it be possible to go out of the bay, are the tides OK, etc.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 97
94%
97 reviews of Pole Pole by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
71
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mafia Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini is one of Tanzania's most environmentally aware lodges. With tree-houses, superb diving and a fantastic location on the rural island of Chole, this is ideal if you want to get back to nature.


94% (28 reviews)
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi is a small, personal beach lodge on Mafia Island that has the features of a larger hotel, including a large pool and spa.


82% (11 reviews)
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

Situated just west of Kilondoni, the main town on Mafia, Butiama Beach is a simple beach lodge with friendly managers and a laid back vibe.


94% (10 reviews)
Thanda Island

Thanda Island

Thanda Island is a high-end private island destination that caters to just one group of travellers at a time.


No reviews yet
Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole is a charming Italian-owned eco-lodge on the coast of Mafia Island, with simple rooms and friendly owner-managers.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa