This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole

Reviews of Pole Pole

Wildlife sightings and reviews

97 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pole Pole and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 97
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Worcs

"Pole Pole review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"Lovely location on a good beach.However a pool would have made a difference especially as the high tides meant the beach was inaccessible on most days.

Very spacious rooms and wonderful terrace with day bed.

Lots of activities on offer including a range included in the price" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"polepole in mafia is a fantastic place"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"We thought PolePole was excellant starting from the warm welcome from Robyn and Zenny. The room was fantastic,the food excellant and plentiful. All the staff were very friendly. The location made it very special.

We are not peole who are happy to spend the day sitting on the beach so we appreciated the trips to the sanbank, the excellant snorkelling and trips to villages. All were great fun The weather was not perfect and we had a low tide at lunch time.This meant that sea swimming was not really on and highlighted the need for a pool which is being built.

The only confusing issue was to do with the availability and pricing of excursions. The clarification on what was included, which I had asked for from Expert Africa, differed from what was detailed in the room brochure and this differed from the information given by the person from the Diving Center Tiago, who took the bookings. his rules were not consistent either." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda; 5n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wimborne

"Magical place to relax and enjoy tranquility"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Pole Pole was everything that we wanted, it was relaxing, quiet and interesting. The accommodation was extreemly comfortable and the location of the bungalows was exceptional with views of the bay from the varanda.

The staff were all very attentive without being intrusive and the food exceptional although we found the portions a bit too much at times." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B
Barbican

"Pole Pole review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"Mafia Island is probably the way that Zanzibar was years ago. The airport is tiny with a bougainvillea draped “waving bay” and the 20 minute drive to Pole Pole on a rutted unmettalled road was hair-raising (well, it was my first rural African driving experience) but Pole Pole was an oasis of pleasure when I reached it.

The food was (IMHO) terrific and the manager, Robyn, couldn't have been more charming and helpful.

The individual houses are arranged do that the back porch faces a fantastic view of the sea. On the porch there is a day bed as well as a couple of tables and chairs. At 6 pm, the barman comes around taking orders for cocktails, which are then delivered to allow an uninterrupted enjoyment of the sunset.

As well as three wonderful meals each day, a daily excursion is included. This included a morning snorkelling followed by a picnic on a sandbar (including a fresh caught fish roasted over an open fire), a visit to Chole Island, a whale watching trip and more great things to do than I had days for. I would return in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The L family
London

"Pole Pole review"

6 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2011
"Pole Pole is a wonderfully relaxing place to stay after the early mornings of safari drives. It is small and intimate, very quiet and the guests are very well looked after.

The rooms, reached by a lovely thatched-over sand path, are spacious with verandahs overlooking the palm trees and the sea beyond. The staff, including the manager, Robyn, are attentive and helpful and relaxed. The mealtimes are as flexible as the guests want them to be and the food plentiful.

We were lucky with the tide during our 6 nights, so that we had the beach uncovered during the majority of the day (the high tide comes right up to the sea wall). This will be less of a problem when the almost-complete swimming pool is finished. It is interesting to walk along the beach at low tide, as there is all manner of life in the pools (starfish, cowries etc).

The free excursions arranged for Pole Pole guests each day were much appreciated. It was unfortunately quite windy during our stay, which made the sea choppy for snorkelling and the underwater currents very strong for diving, with unclear visibility at a lower level. Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed all these excursions, especially the snorkelling and barbeque-on-the-sandbar trip, with white snapper cooked over coconut husks on the sandbar." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Surrey

"Pole Pole review"

7 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2011
"Pole Pole was an ideal ending to our trip.

A small lodge with a lot of character, great location and wonderful people working there. Robyn and her team really looked after us and nothing was too much trouble. The food is exceptionally good and the italian bread which they serve each day delicious. The rooms were beautifully furnished.

We spent most of our time just lazing around although we took a trip to see the whale sharks and also some diving / snorkelling (found the accessibility of the boat a bit tricky due to it being a dhow and when we were there the water was quite choppy). If travelling here remember to pack some waterproof shoes - if you are there when the tides are changing they are a must for walking out into the bay (Tania from the dive centre did kindly lend us some)." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G & G
Glasgow

"Kicking back in a truly exotic location"

6 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2010
"It's only a short hop from the mainland but Mafia island is a wonderfully unspoilt place. Pole Pole lived up to its name as a small informal hotel where you can enjoy quiet and relaxation.

The staff were excellent and a real pleasure to have around with their regular big smiles and greetings and Gabrielle an excellent manager during our stay. The bunglalows were very nice and clean if showing the odd sign of wear and tear. Food is very fish/seafood orientated unsurprisingly with a set menu which changes each lunch/dinner and all cooked very fresh. Breakfast was the same options each day though and could do with a bit more variety.

The small beach does front a very tidal bay so at times the water is way out and you can only really take a dip at high tide - not a problem for us and there is a cold shower to cool you down anyway. The inclusive excursions were good - particularly the sundown sail on a dhow whilst the fruit-bats flood across the sky. Diving is the big attraction and the reefs are stunningly beautiful.

We tried the whale shark trip but no joy - an expensive $60 pp whether you see them or not. We were thinking about trying again on our last morning but decided not to which is just as well as there was another no-show. One other point to note is that with the daily marine park entry fees, additional excursions, diving and equipment hire plus drinks is that, whilst these are all clearly dispayed, the additional costs do mount up." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Island luxury at Pole Pole"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2010
"The food is exceptional and the staff are charming. The
rooms are spacious , luxurious and beautifully
appointed.

It was a very comfortable end to the holiday." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JK
Surrey

"Pole Pole"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"A quiet and well organised camp with only 7 rooms and making for a peaceful stay. A small beach to ourselves except at high tide.

We enjoyed the boat trips for snorkelling and then lunch on the sandbank cooked by the boat boys. Very interesting trip to Kua ruins on Juani Island.

A great way to relax after our safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
St Albans

"Chill out by the seas"

5 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"Just what we wanted to wind down with post safari.

Excellent service, food and facilities at a decidedly chilled out venue." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 97
94%
97 reviews of Pole Pole by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
71
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mafia Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini

Chole Mjini is one of Tanzania's most environmentally aware lodges. With tree-houses, superb diving and a fantastic location on the rural island of Chole, this is ideal if you want to get back to nature.


94% (28 reviews)
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi is a small, personal beach lodge on Mafia Island that has the features of a larger hotel, including a large pool and spa.


82% (11 reviews)
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

Situated just west of Kilondoni, the main town on Mafia, Butiama Beach is a simple beach lodge with friendly managers and a laid back vibe.


94% (10 reviews)
Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole is a charming Italian-owned eco-lodge on the coast of Mafia Island, with simple rooms and friendly owner-managers.


No reviews yet
Thanda Island

Thanda Island

Thanda Island is a high-end private island destination that caters to just one group of travellers at a time.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa