This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale

Reviews of Greystoke Mahale

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Greystoke Mahale and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Greystoke Mahale.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Chimpanzee

100% success

Hippo

83% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Magical chimp encounters"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"When we saw Greystoke, after a pleasant boat trip with an enjoyable picnic, we were delighted. The main rustic banda on a large sandy beach is definitely a show stopper. Our room was very pleasant again in a similar Robinson Crusoe fashion but there was a long walk to the en suite bathroom. The staff were all pleasant and the service good.

We preferred the one night when we had pre- dinner drinks around a fire on the beach to having them in the very dark bar at the side of the beach. This bar was pleasant during daylight but in our opinion was to dark with no view for pre dinner drinks, The stars of these occasions were the two excellent guides Mwiga and Butati who told hilarious stories about the chimps and previous encounters.

The meals in the restaurant where great where the star of this show was the camp Manager Julian who held center stage with his stories and experiences. These were amusing if slightly over the top, but it was not the normal guests chatting and sharing their experiences.

The afternoon boat trips were great fun with deep water swimming in the warm lake and fishing. Marcia again showed her fishing expertise as she caught four times as many fish as Mike. We had the fish as sashimi for a bar snack prior to dinner.

The real magic of our stay at Mahali were the chimps. We were in a party of four guests, the excellent guide Mwiga and a very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable park ranger Hussain. We had great chimp sightings on the first two days and watched a big group playing, grooming and fighting on our first two treks. The hour we were allowed to view them each day flew past.One of the amusing highlights was when one of the chimps decided to sit with us when we were watching a group of other chimps playing. The treks were quire challenging especially the second day when we went right off path to be with the chimps and we were grateful to Hussain who helped Mike on the steeper bits .

On the third day the trackers struggled to find the chimps but we went on a less challenging trek and were rewarded with a sighting of a red tail monkey, excellent sightings of red Colubus monkeys plus numerous birds and other small species

Mahali was not an easy place to get to but it was definitely worth the travel to have a magical experience

" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Martina
Austria

"Face to Face with the Chimps"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2017
"To begin with a critical comment, an important fact is certainly not stressed, maybe not even mentioned in the descriptions of this place: as we were told by our guides (very good and very competent !!) it depends on the time of year how far up into the mountains you have to climb in order to meet the chimps.

However, we were lucky (and as amatter of fact fit) enough to make it to the chimps ( all in all a five and a half hours walk ) and we were very well rewarded !!! Meeting them up there in a rather unaccessable mountainous area was certainly one of the highlights of this whole trip !!

Julian, the manager of the place, tried hard to be a good host - he could, however, spread his attention more evenly to all members of the party. Guests from other parts of the world should be as well cared for as people from Australia......

The staff seemed not as well trained and not as ambitious as in the other places we visited. " See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Sweden

"A dream location - Greystoke"

3 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2017
"We finally got to Mahale National Park and the lovely Greystoke Camp with lake Tanganyika at our footstep. The camp has been described as a dream location and to large extent it was. Isolated own bungalows overlooking the lake and with all you need for a very relaxing and enjoyable break.

The highlight was of course the chimp trekking which we did twice, both times reminding us that it is not always easy to find the chimps. The plan was at breakfast around 08.00, we would know from our guides where the chimps were and then we would head out. The practice was that on day one we went out after lunch and on day two around 10.30 only proving that chimps tend to be further away from the camp during the rainy season. Anyway we saw chimps both day, in the trees or on the ground. The walking took about an hour, mostly in rainy conditions.

The camp manager (Julian) was very entertaining and the staff was simply excellent in providing service and caring for the guests. Being at the lake we took a boat out and jumped in 25 degree crystal clear water and afterwards did some fishing (which we had for dinner the same evening). The sunset and evening skies, one day with a distant thunderstorm was magical.

The food was good, nothing to complain about but nothing to be overly positive about either. " See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Greenwich

"Greystoke Mahale review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"wonderful"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"This place has to be heaven on earth. Just wonderful in every way." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Great Falls

"Greystoke Mahale review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"I was a bit worried coming to Greystoke Mahale. It seemed so amazing in its descriptions I was afraid it would be a bit of a letdown. Rest assured it lived up to expectations.

We had three chimp treks. The first was a bit quiet, but the other two progressed nicely. Chimp trekking is a bit more hit and miss than, say, a gorilla trek, as the chimps don't stay in a tight group.

Out guide Mateus was top-notch, very conscience and extremely knowledgeable. And eating freshly caught sashimi was not something I expected on an African Safari." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Scotland

"Magical Mahale"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"A truly magical place. Chimp viewing was an amazing experience.

The camp was the perfect base to do this and provided enjoyable additional activities and great hospitality.

Kate and Cameron were excellent hosts and Butati and Mathias were passionate and enthusiastic guides." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms W
Geneva

"Great chimptrekking"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"We stayed three nights at Greystoke Mahale.

The camp is divine, the setting is fantastic. You feel as if you were on the seaside. It is remote and beautiful.

Chimptrekking was exciting, we had the opportunity to see so many chimpanzees and to walk alongside. Our guide Buttati was fantastic, so funny, passionate and kind. We loved to listen to him explaining us the behaviours of the chimpanzes and sharing so many anecdotes. We had the chance to see the chimps grooming, resting, walking,... The first day we had to walk long hours before to meet them as they had the idea to go far in the bush but the second day we met them only 30 min far from the camp.

We highly enjoyed too our trip to Katumbi, a nearby village, for which we had raised funds and supplies. We went to visit the school and the clinic which we wanted to support through the Nomad Trust and Packforapurpose. It was a great opportunity to meet the community and to discover their way of life.

We would definitely come back." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Thor & Deb
Vancouver

"Unique.... The best....."

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Ah.... Mahale..... Of our five weeks in the bush, it was the best, but it is difficult to compare with the others because of its uniqueness. Aesthetically, the buildings (and much of the furniture and fitments) are made of old dhows and are exquisite. Cam and Kate were consulate hosts and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect--including setting the entire dining table for the 12 of us on the beach on the final night. Happy hour at the bar on the point was divine.

Butate, our guide, was one of the most caring and lovely people I've ever met, to say nothing of his knowledge and guiding skills. He loves the chimps, that is clear. He also took us through his village, which was a wonderful experience. He is also a very, very funny man, and we spent an inordinate amount of time falling over with laughter.

Chimp trekking was fabulous, though my camera struggled with the light and shadow, and with the focus, because the jungle can be very dense. We had one very easy trek to see them, and one very tough one.

And then there's Big Bird, the tame pelican who, if truth be told, rules the camp. We guests had to fish for him, rescue him from a boat that threatened to cart him to the nearby village--where he would have ended up in the pot, and generally ensure that his life was bliss. He was the most wonderful bird I've met, and I miss him and worry for him. He is too friendly for his own good. Long Live Big Bird!" See all these reviews: 25n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Amy
Sacramento

"Amazing Greystoke Mahale"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"I had high expectations for Greystoke Mahale. I've been dreaming of going there for years, and I was afraid it wouldn't live up to the amazing things I've heard and read about it. It turned out to be even better than I could have possibly imagined! This is a truly magical place, and there's no place like it anywhere in the world.

We spent four days trekking and interacting with chimps and monkeys, relaxing on the white-sand beach, swimming in the amazingly clear water, fishing off the wooden dhow, playing with Big Bird the Pelican, kayaking from the beach, and hiking the gorgeous forest trails. The thatched-roof bandas are whimsical and luxurious at the same time. They're made entirely from reclaimed dhows (boats), and they are completely open to the environment (there's just a mosquito net around the bed at night), and yet it feels safe, secure, and a little adventurous. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the service was flawless.

Kate and Cameron, the managers, created a very relaxed and easy vibe, where nothing is a problem and everything is possible. I had been concerned about whether we would want to swim in the lake.. I had heard about crocs, hippos, water cobras, bilharzia, etc. Once we got there, we realized that there was nothing to worry about. The water is slightly alkaline, which keeps it crystal clear and makes it feel very silky and soft on your skin - we didn't want to get out of the water once we were in it! The worrisome creatures only hang out near the rocky shoreline areas, so all you have to do is stay well away from the rocks and there's nothing to worry about.

I really can't say enough good things about Greystoke Mahale. If you have a chance to go there, don't hesitate - just go!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 39
98%
39 reviews of Greystoke Mahale by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mahale Mountains National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mbali Mbali Mahale

Mbali Mbali Mahale

Mbali Mbali Mahale is a smart lodge on the shores of Lake Tanganyika, primarily visited by travellers keen to meet habituated chimpanzees.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa