This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale
Greystoke Mahale

Reviews of Greystoke Mahale

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Greystoke Mahale and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Greystoke Mahale.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Chimpanzee

100% success

Hippo

83% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"A special place to stay"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2015
"A very relaxing stay in a fantastic setting - the rooms were magnificent. Chimp trekking was exciting and we have hundreds of photos to prove it. Guides were excellent and hugely knowledgable on all the chimp families.

The lunches were great but less so the evening meals" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"The legend of....a perfect wild jugle"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2015
"We had spent a long time wishing for a trip to Greystoke and when we finally arrived there our expectations were very high - we always try to keep them low but all the comments on this place makes it impossible. We were not disappointed at all. The feeling of getting to camp by boat from the airstrip is really "an adventure" - although with a great VIP treatment from the first minute! Reaching the beach and looking at the green mountains with the birds and cicadas singing took our breaths away...and then we noticed the welcome party with an unusual member: no less than a pelican walking at Mark's heel!! now that was unexpected!!!

It would be too long to describe our 4 days experience there so I will try and stick to the main points...those chimps are just amazing!! We were so lucky (Mwiga our super expert super funny super friendly guide nicknamed us the "lucky group") to see the chimps during the three guided walks, plus once during our forest walk just behind camp!! We had the chance to see them grooming, resting, hunting a monkey, fishing for ants, shouting at us to warn us of a snake....Only one day we walked 45 minutes, otherwise it was just a 15 minutes stroll. Apparently it was the season and our luck.
We went to visit the Katumbi village (clinic and school sponsored by Nomad) and we felt it was good to give a little back.

We went out on the dhow in the afternoon and enjoyed the relaxing feeling of the camp. We played with "the bird" and watched monkeys and warthogs.

All meals are communal and we really liked having the chance to chat to Mark and the other guests. At sundown the guides also joined us for a chat and that was always a great time too.
the bandas (not sure hot to call them) are great and so is the food- a mystery considering their location!

In a nutshell we felt privileged to be there and would recommend highly recommend it !" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Witney

"Greystoke Mahale review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"Obviously, we came here for the chimps but the scenery was also stunning. Arriving by boat was different and, had it been as choppy on the way in as it was on the way out, might have been a disastrous start. However, it wasn't and Cameron, Kate and Big Bird made us very welcome. Camp wildlife included a visit by a leopard, regular trips by the Beach Babes - a trio of warthogs - and various red-tailed and vervet monkeys.

The trips up the mountain to see the Chimps were fantastic. We had to go quite a way up - about an hour the first day but further on the second - to find them but once there, our group had to split up and we each followed separate small groups or singleton chimps back down the mountain. We had lots of close encounters - they don't respect the proximity rules - so we got some good photos but on day 2 it rained so the light was a bit restricted and pictures more difficult.

Some might be tempted to be a bit disappointed but how many of us can say we have been that close?" See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"Tanzanian Birthday Adventure"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"What can we say about Greystoke, Mahale? The camp is wonderful with spacious comfortable bandas well spaced out along the back of the beach with the communal area centrally placed. The setting is magical - beautiful white sand on the shores of the crystal clear Lake Tangyanika with wonderful sunsets reflected in the waters each evening.

As the dhow, which had brought us from the airstrip to the camp, pulled onto the beach we were greeted by staff who implored us to quickly disembark as there were 2 chimpanzees in the camp - which watched, awestruck, as the chimps played in the trees by the camp kitchen and then followed them up the small hill behind the camp where we stood watching them groom each other. We could not have asked for a better start to our stay at the camp.

The days that followed were fantastic with marvellous sightings of chimps quite low down and relatively close to the camp on the first day, the second day the chimps had taken themselves off into the mountains so we left the younger guests to make that trek!!
On our final day there were a few chimps low down so Peter and I ( the geriatrics!!) opted to trek them whilst the other guests had quite a gruelling hike back into the mountains to find the main group. Our little trek turned into a delightful nature walk seeing not only chimps but other wildlife too. Our guide Butati told us about the vegetation and plant life and spotted things that we would have just not seen like the green spotted tree snake - very interesting.

Each afternoon after a siesta we all went out in the dhow - the plan was a gentle trip on the water but once the fishing lines came out some how there became a great rivalry between the men and the women as to who could catch the most, the biggest and the smallest fish! I caught the first one - a yellow belly - and for that I had to kiss the fish. Later , Sarah, another guest caught a huge fork tail perch. Over the days we were there the women caught the most and the biggest fish but Peter won the prize for the smallest!

Each evening we had sushi, to accompany our pre dinner drinks, made from some of the yellow belly caught that day, on the first day we also enjoyed some of the fork tail perch with our dinner. Any remaining big fish went to the staff or TANAPA . The small fish were the most important catch - they were for Big Boy the habituated pelican at the camp who is unable to fish for himself
On our last afternoon dhow trip apart from the fishing we also went up a river seeing some interesting bird life as well as many crocodile. We had also had the opportunity to swim in the lake.

All the staff at Greystoke are fantastic. Our guides Mwega and Butati were marvellous. Their knowledge of the chimps ( knowing each one by name and recognising their voices) was amazing and their general knowledge about the environment etc second to none. Added to this they were a fantastic double act and should they ever retire from guiding should go on stage!! Pity they are Arsenal supporters!! ( I jest!)

A very big thank you to Kerry who managed to keep smiling and keep every thing running smoothly despite her damaged ankle whilst her husband, Geoff ( camp manager) and Cameron ( about to take over from Geoff) both took to their beds with flu. Thanks also for our birthday cakes." See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Amazing chimpanzees at Greystoke Mahale"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Chimpanzee tracking with guides Butati and Amos was excellent. Boat trips on the lake to see the forest, go fishing and swimming were very enjoyable. Our banda accommodation was very comfortable and had a wonderful open view of the lake through the open front. Not having to bother with zipping up door (because no biting insects or dangerous animals) was very pleasant.

The location of this camp is absolutely stunning. I am so pleased that Liz persuaded us to come here! Everything about the camp was just wonderful, the views over the lake, the beautiful colours of the trees in the forest, the food, the delightful, friendly staff, Big Bird and finally trekking through the forest to find the chimpanzees. We had such an amazing time just watching them. Listening to their stories from the guides added to the whole experience.

It was a very special way to end our trip to Tanzania." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Greystoke Mahale review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"Quite a way west of other lodges and if traveling from a previous safari lodge destination it is quite a trip to get there, consisting of game vehical, plane, boat (1 1/2 hr boat ride) so all the day can be spend travelling to get to the location.

Very nice lodge and pictersque location, but each rooms are a little bit down a path so as darkness sets in they soon get hit by the light fading. Good food at the main lodge and very nice bar overlooking a sunset location.

Good views and interactions with chimps on both days we were treking, and spent the optimum 1 hr with them on the first day and approx. 1/2 hr on the second before they move away from us. The nearness of the chimps each day makes the distance to walk the factor in seeing them.

If you're into activities they're very focused around seeing the chimps and the boat ride out into the lake or afternoon walk (very little to actually see in the forest) are not too great pulls. The boat trip up the coast to the river estuary is good but beware the insects as the dusk settles in." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Not just about chimps"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"Mahale Greystoke is beautifully located on the shore of Lake Tanganyika and well worth the long trip across Tanzania from the main safari circuits. Its main selling point is the chimpanzees and on this it certainly delivered in style. But we found that it has quite a bit more to offer than just the primates - notably the bird life (even though it requires some effort and patience to see and identify birds in the forest) and lake-related activities. The guides were all good: we would offer a particular word of praise for Mwega who has been at Greystoke for well over a decade but has only recently taken up guiding and is already first class.

The camp is comfortable and well-appointed - a relaxed and relaxing atmosphere (although actually tracking the chimps up the ridge and through dense vegetation is not for the faint-hearted or weak-kneeed!). And it was a real pleasure to spend three interesting days without even seeing a truck!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Greystoke Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2011
"Amazing place. Wonderful location, excellent design, great staff.

Greystoke exceeded our expectations because as well as seeing the chimpanzees, it's also a very lovely and relaxing place to stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"Greystoke was out of this world"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"From the moment we arrived at the airport I knew that Greystoke would be as special as we had hoped.

We were collected by Lazaro and Hamza two of the guides and taken by boat to camp. The colour of the lake was the first thing that hit me! It's so turquoise blue. Its quite a long trip by boat to camp but we were served an absolutely delicious lunch and drinks and were quite happy to lie back and enjoy.

When we finally arrived, we were given a warm welcome by the managers Steve and Kerry and the rest of the staff. Steve, Kerry and the rest of the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. I should also say that Steve and Kerry had the whole place working like clockwork; it was very well managed.

Our banda was delightful; so different from a standard hotel room. It had everything you could possibly need but also had so much character.

The food at Greystoke was the best we had. Every meal was delicious and different. But it all felt quite healthy! Lots of salads and fruit. It was hard to imagine we were so far from the closest market!.

And now to the stars of the show at Greystoke - the chimps. On the first day, the group could not be found. As the morning drew on, a few of the guests including us went for a walk into the forest with one of the guides while the trackers kept looking. We did eventually see a few individual chimps including a mother and very small baby, as well as some colobus and other monkeys. While we were a bit disappointed not to have seen the group, we were glad to have seen the forest and to have had our first chimp sightings.

On the second day, the whole group of chimps were found just behind the beach along from the camp and so, with very little effort, we were able to see them. It was fabulous to see so many and catch a glimpse of them interreacting with each other (and us!). The only downsides were the heat and shortness of time to see the chimps. It was very, very hot and quite enclosed amongst the thick undergrowth. With the addition of face masks it was a bit uncomfortable.

We were allowed one hour with the chimps. While I understand why, and objectively I can see why it is thought necessary to have such restrictions, it felt very short particularly as we had not seen the group the day before.

Apart from chimp searching, we loved just enjoying the views and relaxing in our banda or in the main camp buildings, reading all the fascinating material they have on the chimps. But we also tried kayaking and fishing, and I spent a lot of time in the lake swimmming. So there was certainly no shortage of things to do; just not enough time in our brief stay to do them!.

Each evening drinks were served up in the bar overlooking the lake, with dinner either in the main buildings or on the beach. It was very special to be sitting out on the beach in the middle of nowhere, but in such comfort and luxury!

There were a number of guides at Greystoke. Our main guide was Lazaro. He was a great guy, friendly, helpful, very well informed about the chimps and full of enthusiasm. Hamza had arrived just a short time before we arrived and was still learning about the chimps. However he was a very knowledgeable guide and as his english was near perfect, we were able to have more in depth discussions with him about Tanzania and its wildlife etc. We know he had previously managed one of the other Nomad camps. So I am not sure where he would go next; whether as a guide or manager. But we were really impressed by him and he is definitely an asset to Nomad who they should hold on to if they can!

Paul was the other guide. While he never guided our group and so we did not get to know him quite as well as the others, he was also clearly knowledgeable with a great sense of humour.

If I was recommending Greystoke to others-which of course I would do - I would highly recommend that they tried to go for the 4 nights rather than the 3. Having only two opportunities to see the chimps made it quite pressurised. Also you just want to stay at Greystoke as long as possible - it is so beautiful - and it is such a long way to get there!

The only other observation I would have is this. If I was going again I would go earlier-perhaps late August. There are a couple of reasons for that. First, it was beginning to get very hot and humid when we were there in early October and August would I think have been much less humid but still dry. Also there were quite a few tsetse flies around. We did not get too badly bitten but they were very annoying particularly when out in the kayaks and in the boat, even when swimming. Going earlier would also have avoided this problem.

Also apparently the chimps come to eat the fruit from some trees right behind the camp - right behind the managers' office - and if you go when the fruit is there - apparently August /September - we were told you have a fairly good chance of seeing the chimps on a daily basis without even leaving the confort of the camp" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Stanford

"Greystoke Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"Delightful co-managers, very hospitable, took care of our every need.

Our guide Ka-Kae was outstanding, one of the best we've had anywhere in the world. We're glad that we spent four nights at Greystoke -- three chimp treks are needed to begin to appreciate and understand their behavior.

One of the best wildlife experiences ever." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 39
98%
39 reviews of Greystoke Mahale by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mahale Mountains National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mbali Mbali Mahale

Mbali Mbali Mahale

Mbali Mbali Mahale is a smart lodge on the shores of Lake Tanganyika, primarily visited by travellers keen to meet habituated chimpanzees.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa