This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu

Reviews of Siwandu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

83 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Siwandu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Siwandu.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

17% success

Wild dog

41% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

95% success

Spotted Hyena

79% success

Eland

59% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 83
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs T
Andover

"Fantastic bush experience"

5 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2018
"This was our first safari in Tanzania having been to South Africa, Namibia and Botswana previously.

The selous was so different in terms of the diversity of the terrain and it didn't disappoint. We had some great sighting aided by the passionate and knowledgable guides. Siwandu camp was superb and every member of staff seemed genuinely pleased to have us there. The food was great with plenty of choice.

Our luxury tent style accomodation was also very good although I think the lavatory needs to have a bit of a screen around it for a little bit of privacy.

Would definitely recommend Siwandu to anyone." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Top class camp in a beautiful location"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2018
"We spent four nights at Siwandu. It is an excellent camp, very well managed by Conrad and his team. Very comfortable tented rooms well spread out from each other and overlooking the large lake. We enjoyed the variety of game viewing activities - drives, boating and walking.

It had been unseasonally wet for two weeks before we arrived, so there were areas of Selous that were inaccessible. Consequently we were unable to find most of the predator species during our stay, although we did see a pack of wild dogs. However, there were remarkable densities of several other animals, notably giraffe and zebra as well as impala, along with sightings of less common species such as kudu, waterbuck and eland. Being the green season, the bird life was prolific. Flocks of carmine bee-eaters around the safari vehicle were particularly spectacular.

Our guide, Mohamed, was very knowledgeable and competent, as was Allen, who led our game walk." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lonely traveller
Bens

"Wonderful place and surroundings."

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2018
"Very good service from helpful and attentive staff. Dinners under the stars as in the bush. The tents are very comfortable, too dark, lamps should be brighter.

Game drives were well organised and lunch at the boat perfect! I enjoyed Allan our guide, he really is very experienced.

The airstrip could not be used for arrival nor for departure due to the heavy rains, but everything was an adventure." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
france

"Amazing stay at Siwandu"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Incredibly friendly, efficient, professional team at Siwandu made our stay an absolute delight!

Location fabulous, food was really, really good, accommodation excellent, guide and activities brilliant, attention to detail spot on!

Would love to go and stay there again!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss R
Barnsley

"Amazing!"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"Simply stunning! From the moment we were collected at the air strip we were made to feel extremely special and welcome.

We cannot rate every part of the service, facilities and experiences highly enough. The safari tours were so personalised with extremely knowledgable guides who were so enthusiastic. The food was on par with Michelin star quality! The personal touches such as the river boat lunch,sundowners,camp fire and our private dining experience were sensational.

All of the staff,especially Conrad, Kim, Onesmo and the Massai did everything they could to make our stay the most memorable experience we have ever had.

A huge thank you!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs RG
Godalming

"Siwandu review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2017
"Our experience at this camp was spoiled by the scarcity of wildlife to be seen. Whether this was because there had been some rain before our arrival or whether there is always a scarcity, we do not know. We suspect that the rain probably made it unnecessary for wildlife to visit the lake in as great numbers as it would have done in drier conditions.

The camp is well located in the sense that it provides good views over the lake, but not in the sense that it offered satisfactory game viewing. The rooms are in many ways beautiful, but lack a certain practicality in some respects. The very personal service provided was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Denmark

"Wonderful birds"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"We liked the location of this lodge & liked the locatoin of our tented room, overlooking a lake. The food was nice & our guide was excellent.

I did not like the fact that the toilet & shower facilities of the room were simply an extension of the bedroom so that to obtain a modicum of privacy one had to lower a curtain that in turn cut off all cross ventilation. I also did not like the fact that there was no way to communicate with the lodge in case of some emergency or other. A walkie talkie would have been welcome.

My cousin & I were also annoyed by the fact that drinks at this place were charged as extras. My cousin found that non bottled water disagreed with her. Both she & I agreed that while it might be acceptable for a place for which one was paying many hundreds of dollars to stay might be justified in charging guests for alcoholic drinks, to charge them for non-alcoholic drinks was simply cheap & unacceptable.

I loved the bird life in the area." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 10n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Siwandu review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"Really excellent stay at a top notch camp. The guiding and the 'tents' were excellent. Indeed the tent was one of the best I've seen, large and very open, with mesh all round (and blinds when you want privacy). They even have a writing desk on our veranda facing the lagoon.

There can be some long (and bumpy) drives.

Very pleased with our stay here and will stay again." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
UK

"Unforgettable safari at Siwandu"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"The Siwandu experience was amazing. Emma and George run a very well organised outfit which offers everything you need, even before you realise you need it!

The staff were fantastic: friendly, approachable, professional. The facilities were beyond our expectations. The 'tent' was luxurious and provided us with everything we needed. The laundry service was excellent and the food was first class - plenty of variety and catered totally for our needs. The extra touches such as the bush breakfast, coffee and sundowner stops during the game drives and lunch on the boat were unexpected and made the holiday so special.

We couldn't fault any part of the trip and would highly recommend this to anyone considering going on safari." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"A wonderful camp"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"In terms of layout, design, accommodation, atmosphere and food this was our favourite lodge by a long way. It was really well run. The managers, George and Emma, were very professional and really nice people, good fun and very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. They had a very good relationship with their staff, who really did seem to work like a large family. All the staff were great too, very helpful and friendly without being deferential. The guide we had, Mohammed, was very experienced, with an uncanny knack for being in just the right place at the right time. He also had a wealth of local folk stories told to him by his mother, which were very amusing.

The accommodation was just about perfect. Everything was really well thought through, down to the smallest detail, and it all worked. The banda we had was a very clever and pleasing design, and really comfortable. And all sorts of game just sauntered past! All it lacked was a hammock on the veranda (although the beanbag chair was a pretty good substitute).

The activities were very well organised and planned. As well as the game drives, we had a really interesting walk with George and Mohammed, and a couple of excellent boat trips with Mohammed. We saw a large variety of animals, birds and plants, and were given very good explanations of how they fitted into the ecosystem, and how it all worked. We had some up-close (but very well handled) confrontations with elephants, and got very close to lions, crocodiles and lots of other animals.

The food was really excellent – up to London restaurant standards. The locations chosen for sundowners were amazing.

We saw and did so much it didn’t seem possible it had all happened in only 4 days. However it was never rushed, and always felt very comfortable and relaxed. All together a very comfortable, relaxing, but intensive experience: just what we came for." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 83
97%
83 reviews of Siwandu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
73
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


94% (222 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (170 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (81 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (11 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa