This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

88% success

Elephant

48% success

Hippo

45% success

White Rhino

16% success

Showing 201-210 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr Serval
Ottawa

"Friendly, helpful staff - ideal location."

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"The room was great, hotel location ideal, staff helpful, but the cost of meals is excessive." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Cheetah Family
USA

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2008
"The rooms were fine. The food was so-so. The access to the falls was great." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Wild hunting dogs
UK

"Wet, Wet, Wet at the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2008
"We started our holiday here with two nights / one full day to 'chill out' after the overnight flight. So we didn't have very long to enjoy the activities on offer, or to explore the surrounding area properly.

We enjoyed visiting the Falls by ourselves, so that we could explore in an unhurried fashion. We got very wet! There had been a lot of rain, and the Falls were probably at their best. Well worth seeing.

We chose to go on a suset cruise on the African Queen. This trip was organised very efficiently by the hotel and the boat trip was very luxurious, unlike any other we have experienced. We were fortunate to be directed to the top deck of he boat, and so escaped the noisy chatter of the other two decks, and experienced not onlly very good views of the countryside and wildlife, but a very informative commentary from the very knowledgeable captain on the wildlife of the area.

We also sampled the large hotel swimming pool and spent a happy hour in the bird hide watching weaver birds and kingfishers.

We are not normally fans of large hotels, but we couldn't fault this one. The food was particularly good and varied. The wild animals wandering loose around the campus were an interesting bonus, and the Falls really were just five minutes walk from our bedroom.

It would have been good to have at least one more day to explore the surrounding area. I did not feel we visited Zambia, we basically had a hotel experience (we were ferried to and from the hotel for the river trip). This was due to our lack of time in the area, and our choice of activities during the time we had." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
South Bank

"perfect location for visiting Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2008
"The location of this hotel is excellent for visiting the Falls, which was our main reason for being there. Our room was at the back of the hotel which gave us a wonderful view of the spray rising from the Falls, with rainbows included ! Our room was small but adequate.

The main buffet restaurant gave a good choice of foods. We ate one night in a smaller restaurant on-site and although the food was o.k. ,the restaurant looked a littlle shabby and in need of re-decorating. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Python
Kent

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2007
"Good hotel, ideal location for the falls.

Afternoon tea at the Royal Livingstone is a lovely experience, but a must do is the helicopter flight over the falls. Do the 30 minutes rather than 15.

Something to remember, the water levels of the falls is seasonal - Nov/Dec is "low tide"." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Spotted wildcats
UK

"Zambezi Sun"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2007
"Excellent location.

Good service.

Nice choice in restaurants.

Rooms not particularly special or large but are perfectly adequate for any normal requirements. Over all not to flash but does a good job at the basics." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B Bath
UK

"Back to the real world!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2007
"Even though one stays at the Sun, it is easy to get the shuttle to the Royal Livingstone and this is what we did each day as it had a lovely piano bar, and generally more facilities.

We were a bit niggled that upon arrival we went to the pool bar for a drink - one menu said a glass of wine was
USD 4.25 and another USD7. when we queried it, the waiter took the cheaper menu away. We wondered if there is a weekend price! Wine in the Royal was cheaper!

The international buffet dinner in the Sun was USD 35 whereas silver service dinner overlooking the Zambezi at the Royal was USD28 - no contest. Wonderful sun deck for a glass to watch the sun go down.

The Sun was very comfortable and I would definitely stay there again but drink and eat at the Royal." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms S Southampton
UK

"Zambezi Sun - Ideal Falls location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"The Zambezi Sun is in a geat location for the falls and is only a short walk. The facilities at the hotel are good and the staff are pleasant and friendly. The only downside was the service in the restaurants which was quite slow despite there being a lot of staff around, slow to take the order and slow to bring the food." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Zambezi Sun"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2007
"The choice of food at their buffets is excellent although we felt that compared with a visit two years ago there was a slight reduction in overall quality.

The prices for extras (drinks) seemed quite expensive." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mrs G
UK

"Great location for the falls"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"Bit of a culture shock staying here after the bush camps!

A large hotel, with very good facilities. Great location for viewing the falls as they were only 5 minutes easy walk away. The staff at the activities centre were helpful, although we think it would have been better to pre book some of the activities as many were fully booked for the whole time we were there, we did however manage to go rafting & on an elephant ride.

The nocturnal noises were some what different to the bush, the hippo and hyena calls were replaced with the strains of pop music!

The food was very good with plenty of choice, room service was also a good value option if you were not so hungry. We ate at Squires restaurant one evening which was also a very good meal. Bottled water was very expensive here, we found a bottle of "sprite" was half the price of water!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 201-210 of 220
85%
220 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
111
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa