This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

88% success

Elephant

48% success

Hippo

45% success

White Rhino

16% success

Showing 191-200 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
BC, Canada

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2008
"We would never return. This was like being in Las Vegas. The lobby full of groups of 20 to 100 people coming and going. To top it off, there were 5 yelling and whistling locals dressed as warriors in the lobby all the time. It was like a circus.

We did walk to the Livingstone Hotel and found it more peaceful. The prices are outrageous. We did not want to eat in the restaurant at the Zamezi Sun because it was full of groups of noisy tourists and they could not control the monkeys from stealing your food.

We took a taxi into Livingstone each night to eat our meals and that was a very good idea. We did enjoy that." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2008
"This visit was at the very end of our trip. We arranged to visit Victoria Falls as we felt we should as we were in Zambia and may not go that way again. However this hotel and the Royal Livingstone Hotel turned out to be a highlight of our four week holiday.

We were initially unsure as to which hotel to stay at and we should like to thank Lucy for recommending that we stay at the Zambezi Sun, which was enormous fun with first class service, but eat in the evening at the Royal Livingstone which is a very plush five star hotel but that we did not consider to be stuffy in any way. When we visit again it will be very difficult to decide in which hotel to base ourselves - funky african v old colonial - a real hard choice.

We canoed down the Zambezi (briefly landing in Zimbabwe), swam in the Devil's Pool and micro-lighted over the Falls. All activities were entirely different but we would recommend anyone to do all three if they have the time." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2008
"A reasonably good location for a stop-over. We were disappointed that there was no facility to have a "lighter meal" other than "room service" in the evening. It was the fullblown "all you can eat" restaurant and that is expensive if all you want is only one course!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
Maine, USA

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"The staff were attentive; several asked questions about my day and was I enjoying myself-they were personally interested. The activity center was ultimately helpful but initially seemed to have difficulty hellping me plan solo activities.

The guide was knowledgable that they recommened for the tour of Livingston but also busy running his business on the cell phone." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Little bee-eater
UK

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2008
"Excellent service. Friendly and efficient. Wonderful breakfast. Lovely grounds in a beautiful position.

We could have done with an extra night, at least, in order to explore and enjoy all the many and varied activities and experiences." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Oxfordshire

"Back to civilization - Zambezi sun"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"A huge change from being on safari, but a great location right on the falls.

Recommend the White water rafting, not for the faint hearted as we went swimming four times.

Food and service good, but for that really special dining experience a visit next door to the Royal Livingstone hotel is a must." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Accra family
UK

"A superlative experience."

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"The slightly disappointing experience at Chobe Safari Lodge left us a little in trepidation of what to expect at the Zambezi Sun. Would it be another large impersonal hotel? Large it may be, but the hotel excelled in every other way. The location is fantastic. While not having the views of the 'smoke' from the falls that the Royal Livingstone has, the 5 minute walk to the falls and unlimited access is fantastic. The Falls are everything you've ever heard and read - and then some.

The adjoining rooms were great - not very large but big enough - comfortable and were very well appointed. The animals wandering around the hotel grounds (zebras, vervet monkeys, giraffes) were great entertainment for the kids. The choice of restaurants was good, though we opted for the Squires bar only for our two nights eating in the hotel. The staff here were really very helpful and friendly - as were the main restarant staff at breakfast. The breakfast buffet had a vast array of food to choose from and was very good.

The activites available from the Activity Centre seemed limitless. We did the sundowner cruise on the African Queen - pleasant but not quite like the 'up close' experiences in Namibia and Botswana. We also did the Livingstone Island trip & the view of the main falls was breathtaking. But it was the falls, which we visited on numerous occasions, that was definitely the highlight and main draw. This was an excellent way to round off our trip and we have recommended the hotel to our friends already." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Surrey

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"The proximity of the falls (5 mins walk) was a major bonus for a one night stay. Hotel staff very efficent, dining facilities acceptable but for anybody wanting to enjoy better quality food we would reccommend an advanced booking is made at the Royal Livingstone restaurant.

The riverboat cruise on the African Queen exceeded our expectations. We also really enjoyed the experience of the border crossing from Botswana into Zambia." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Cape buntings
UK

"Great Victoria Falls location at Zambezi Sun"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"As we expected it was a bit of a shock coming from the camps in Botswana to the brash, busy hotel that is the Zambezi Sun. We chose it solely on the location and we were happy with our choice, We could walk to the Falls in a few moments and did so at different times of the day, avoiding the crowds and seeing the Falls in different lights, and they really were superb.

We were less than impressed with the buffet style dinner at the Sun, and ate at The Royal Livingstone (next door and easily reached by shuttle bus), where the food was gorgeous and the atmosphere quite different. We also treated ourselves to spa treatments in tents overlooking the Zambezi at The Royal Livingstone, and felt they were worth it for the view alone.

We canoed for a full day on the Upper Zambezi with wonderful islands, wildlife and rapids in the morning, but after lunch the going was not so interesting, and as we had a strong headwind all day turned into a bit of a struggle. On a calm day where one could occasionally float with the current this would not be a problem.

We also went micolighting and that was brilliant, giving us spectacular views of the Falls and the most enormous grins when we got back. We both highly recommend this even if you don't like heights." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Lechwes
West Sussex

"Good hotel at the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"This is a good hotel to visit the Falls.

Its well run but obsessed with questionnaires about their service." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 191-200 of 220
85%
220 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
111
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa