This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

87% success

Elephant

45% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

11% success

Showing 181-190 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
NorthHumb

"Ideal position to enjoy Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2009
"Breakfasts were excellent but limited choice for dinner.

The A La Carte restaurant was dismal with 3 T.V.s on so we ate at the Royal Livingstone a much better ambience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Flaunden

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2009
"Our luggage got lost for >24h between Jo'burg and Livingstone. When the bag arrived nobody informed us and even when we enquired at the lobby desk there was general poor communication between reception staff. It was only due to our own persistence that we got the bag back at all! This was my main gripe about the hotel.

The second point is that at $39 a head for the evening buffet this was overpriced. The service in the restaurant was very good and attentive and has obviously improved since previous reviews I have read. Location was superb. We were hassled by locals trying to sell things when walking over the bridge towards Zimbabwe (we didn't cross the border proper) and other travellers should be alerted about this as they were persistent and difficult to get rid of.

I presume that if we had taken a walking tour organised by the hotel this would not have arisen and we would have been happy to do this had it been recommended for the reasons given." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr SM
NW London

"Great location at the Falls"

4 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2009
"The Zambezi Sun is an excellent location with great access to the Falls allowing guests to visit as often as they wish without having to pay park fees, so we were able to visit at various times of the day.

The rooms were very comfortable and the staff at the hotel very fiendly and the resident giraffe and zebra added a nice touch. The hotel is also home to a young albino vervet monkey - worth looking out for. the only negative on the hotel was a lack of an al a carte menu - the evening buffet menu being rather pricey if you ony want a standard meal. However, Squires restaurant on the site did offer an alternative which was very good food at a good price.

It might also be nice if the hotel promoted trips into Livingston a bit more, to help encourage vistors to see some of the real Zambia." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms Y
UK

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2009
"Overpriced and rather dated. The dinner buffet was average but expensive. We walked to the Royal Livingstone and had dinner for a similar price but was a first class meal." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
V family
Avon

"best venue to explore the falls"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2009
"unbeatable location - hotel a bit disney and food expensive" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & family
Dorset

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2009
"A very bad experience at the Squires steak restaurant - most of the steak orders were not cooked as requested. A pasta dish was inedible. Not to be recommended.

The setting/facilites are fine - very close to the falls.

Excellent breakfast

Service very patchy. On check out had to ask repeatedly for bags to be collected from rooms, despite having arranged in advance and checked that they had the message. Resulted in a very tight transfer to the airport. Getting room service to react to minor problems in the room was a challenge. They need to get their act together" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Hythe

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2009
"Location is everything. Access to the Falls whenever you want to go is fantastic and this was a very good time to go if you don't mind getting very wet.

The hotel is a typical large hotel but rooms are very good and clean. There is plenty to do around the hotel including unpublicised nature walks and bird hide. The hotel takes advantage of being out of town by inflated prices. Suggest eating dinner at Squires restaurant which whilst not cheap is better value or take a taxi out. Buy drinks in town or at the Shop at the Falls.

We organised our own trip with Bob the Birder from Livingstone - very knowledgeable and very interesting.

We would go back to the Zambezi Sun rather than paying the extra to stay next door." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2008
"Fine big hotel fficient service.

Pity there wasnt a staff box to be shared around.instead of tryng to find Zambia money for individuals" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F
Nottinghamshire

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2008
"nice hotel so close to Vic falls. Lovely to also be able to use facilities at Royal livingstone where we ate part of the time" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
BC, Canada

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2008
"We would never return. This was like being in Las Vegas. The lobby full of groups of 20 to 100 people coming and going. To top it off, there were 5 yelling and whistling locals dressed as warriors in the lobby all the time. It was like a circus.

We did walk to the Livingstone Hotel and found it more peaceful. The prices are outrageous. We did not want to eat in the restaurant at the Zamezi Sun because it was full of groups of noisy tourists and they could not control the monkeys from stealing your food.

We took a taxi into Livingstone each night to eat our meals and that was a very good idea. We did enjoy that." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Terrible
Showing 181-190 of 219
85%
219 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
110
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa