This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

87% success

Elephant

45% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

11% success

Showing 171-180 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
New York

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2009
"Our stay at Zambezi Sun was quite a change of pace from our visit with our daughter near Serenje and our safari experience. I must admit I wasn't quite expecting such a Westernized experience (aside, of course, from the baboon that smashed one of the sliding glass doors of a guestroom near us and the zebras that strolled around the grounds).

Initially we were assigned a non-smoking room that had been occupied by a smoker. One of the desk staff was exceedingly helpful, immediately reassigning us to another room and then returning with us to help remove our luggage from the old room and ensuring that our new accommodations were acceptable.

The food was delicious and plentiful, the wait staff was very helpful, and our white water rafting adventure was exhilarating." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Service in the Sun"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Fabulous service. We felt that we were treated as individuals, despite the size of the place. MASSIVE buffet breakfasts and dinners maintained good quality. We ate at the Royal Livingstone one night and wished we had stayed at home!

They seemed a little secretive about the shops on site and when we found Squires restaurant we ate there. Food not so good, but great atmosphere and portions manageable! And, of course, we could walk to the falls any time we wanted. Waiters and barstaff particularly charming.

Elephant safari and day canoeing recommended, but be careful if you take a sunset cruise - some are loud drunken revels!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Wroughton

"Zambezi Sun review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2009
"Hotel fine, felt like a partial step back into the real worls after the camps. Whilst set in the National Park it didn't come close to anything we had seen in Botswana and was a sanitized version of the "real thing". That's not a criticism as they were very different experiences but an observation of how different they were.

No anti mosquito repellent in the rooms

Buffet dinner was expensive. Service at breakfast was below par." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs & Mrs G
UK

"Zambezi sun unbeatable location"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2009
"Chris & Lisa's comments -

We have stayed here before & chose to return to this hotel due to its superb location. The falls are only a few minutes walk from the hotel grounds making it so easy to view them at different times of day & in changing lighting conditions.

There was a problem with our booking on arrival but the hotel staff were very helpful and quickly sorted everything out with little fuss. We requested rooms facing away from the main pool area as last time we were here we found the evening entertainment a little noisy. These rooms on the other side on the building were much better for us - there was no noise from the pool area at all. The only sound was the roar of the falls themselves which would have been heard from anywhere within a couple of miles!

The choice of food here is vast, the hotel itself has a huge buffet in the evening. Lots of choice but quite pricey at $38 per person. We also ate at Squires next door and had an enormous meal which was much better value. On our last evening we went to the Royal Livingstone hotel for an evening meal, we were thoroughly spoiled & had a lovely meal which considering the setting & the service was again good value.

There is now an activities desk at reception as well as the main activities centre in the next door complex. We were easily able to organize all our activities at this desk & the staff were always friendly and helpful. We went on a tour to the Livingstone museum and the Mukuni village, both really worth a visit. We also went on a helicopter flight over the falls at sunset - amazing! On our last morning we went on an elephant ride - a lovely way to spend our last morning in Zambia.

John & Uschi's comments -

We agree totally. What an experience to walk 5 minutes and be at the falls! This hotel is just the right place if you want to be close to these impressive falls. We absolutely loved the helicopter flight. Everybody should do it to really appreciate the falls. Also the elephant ride - that was so wonderful!

I also loved the visit to Mukuni village. It gave us a little insight into the hard life of the locals. Of course, John's mother being a Livingstone, we had to go to the museum - and found it very interesting. John, especially, enjoyed the extra treat to see (and climb aboard) the Royal Livingstone Express.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M & Ms D
New York

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"Excellent location. Somewhat cheezy but since we could use the facilities of the Royal Livingston, it was totally acceptable.

The breakfast was extensive and included in the price but lunch and dinner were on our own and unless we took a $10 taxi into town, VERY limited." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Below average family hotel"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"For the most part this hotel/resort is your standard 3 star resort you would find in Mexico or Spain. It was well situated on the Zambia side of the falls but recommend going over to Zimbabwe for the real view of the falls.

The biggest issue was the room was infested with cockroaches... not pleasent experience.

The rest was average." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Barnstead

"Zambezi Sun - Not bad"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2009
"Room and view good but there was not much atmosphere about the place. Perhaps due to the quiet time of year. Small niggles: a light wasn`t working in the room and we twice had to request our complimentary tea / coffee /milk.

Location ideal for the Falls but needed a taxi to go into Livingstone. We felt the buffet dinner was expensive, only alternative was nearby Squires restaurant or the even more costly Royal Livingstone Hotel. Reception staff not overly welcoming but other staff friendly and helpful.

Beware of self appointed " guides" near the Falls. Helicopter ride over Falls was an expensive but great 15 minutes.

Prices for meals and activities had risen considerably from those estimated at the time of booking." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Dr A
Delamere

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs B
Snettisham

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2009
"generally not enough information about trips and other arrangements eg nothing in the room re prices at the restaurant, pool towel availability and yellow waterproofs for use by the falls. The activity centre was not very useful.

Food good and rooms very nice.

River trip rather expensive for what it offered - just a gentle cruise up river to watch the sunset for $60 pp" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Bishopston

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2009
"The zambezi Sun is in an amazing location right next to Victoria falls. The complex itself is more of a "theme park". That said it is perfectly fine as a place to stay so conveniently close to the falls to which you have unlimited access. To actually see very much of the falls ( particularly when the river is high ( at record level when i was there ) you need to get into the air. I took the extended 30 min. helicopter ride which gave great views , but even the extended flight doesnt actually give you much time over the falls themselves so if you are a photographer you need to be quick on the shutter!

The nearby croc farm is not for everyone but i found it fascinating, particularly when a big male flashed its dental work when it lunged for a branch that the guide waved near it! The river Safari was also good fun just before sunset, when we saw more crocs , got very close to hippos ,who yawned obligingly! and many nesting waterbirds in the small Zambezi islands.

All these activities can be booked at the hotel activity centre, from where you are picked up,but I booked mine through the Wilderness Safaris ( Zambia ) representative as he drove me from Botswana to the hotel, which was a very convenient service ( full marks to wilderness ! )

I didnt really have time to try the very inviting and large pool, and am surprised that so few guests were using it. The hotel was only half full so I had no delays in checking in or out or using any of the facilities. I found all the staff helpful and charming. The rooms are more than adequate and efficiently air conditioned and comfortable with very nice bathrooms.

The food at the hotel is very good and plentiful but I do agree that the price of dinner is rather extortionate. ( all prices are high here ) I tried to go to Squires restaurant as others have recommended, but as it is not actually on the site but outside the hotel wall I couldnt get to it easily at night as the gate through from the Zambezi Sun is locked and not manned.

Mnay comments have been made about the monkeys being a nuisance, and whille I did see one lady lose part of her breakfast while she was distracted, they are not really a problem, especially if as i did you have already encountered them and baboons on Safari. all in all I felt that it was a good place to finish my first adventure holiday in Africa, and I would go back.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 219
85%
219 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
110
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa