This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

87% success

Elephant

45% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

11% success

Showing 161-170 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Bristol

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2010
"Good 4 star hotel with all the necessary facilities but great location and short walk into the Victoria Falls. Would use again the next time I'm there.

Efficient airport 'pick up' and transfer's through 'wilderness safaris'." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The D Family
Ontario

"Zambezi Sun was beautiful"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2009
"We felt we had to pay quite a bit for any meals or drinks except for the complimentary breakfast for the amount we paid to stay there. The rooms were nice but the safes in both rooms did not work and the TV in one of the rooms was not working. My daughter got an electrical shock when she touched a lamp switch that was taped up with black tape.

Overall the rooms were very nice and the facility was very beautiful." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Edinburgh

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2009
"We stayed at the Zambezi Sun purely because of the location and in this respect it was excellent - we could wander down to the falls on our own and it was close the other activities on offer - white water rafting etc. We were not expecting much from the hotel itself but were actually pleasantly surprised - there were a lot of Saga tours and kids but the breakfast was good and the rooms were clean and you can easily eat/drink at the neighbouring Royal Livingstone (which we did) to get away from the tour groups.

The activity centre on site was very helpful in booking activities. If you want to stay close to the falls but do not want to pay the higher prices of the Royal Livingstone then I would definitely recommend the Zambezi Sun. It is not luxury but has everything you need if your focus is more on the falls and the various adrenalin activities on offer in the area." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sisters
London

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"Very pleasant big hotel - ideal for a short stop over. Loved seeing the zebras in the grounds." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Banbury

"great views"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"Fabulous location, being only a few minutes walk from the Falls. The service, food and facilities were all very good.

We took a trip to Livingstone Island, arranged through the Activity Centre - that was spectacular and guide was great.

We were at Falls when water level was quite low but they were still magnificent and we were able to get much closer to them at this time of year." See all these reviews: 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Mr L
Northants

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"Wished we had gone here first because after the incredibly high standard of accommodation and service on safari no hotel could ever match up. The staff were pleasant and friendly and the hotel was generally what we had expected. We were delighted to be so close to Victoria Falls and able to visit it several times and the hotel gardens were very pretty. We also enjoyed being able to walk into the next door hotel and eat and drink there too as it was even more pretty there.

Only complaints were that the air conditioning in the room was very noisy and mostly ineffectual and the hotel reception couldn't change us a 50 dollar note, which we thought was not great service from such a big hotel. Minor things really though." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Miss A & Miss L
UK

"Impressive start to holiday"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2009
"Everything was perfect for a relaxing start to our visit to southern Africa.

The staff at Zambezi Sun were only too willing to assist with any queries and couldn't have been any more helpful." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms C
NL

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2009
"After 6 days in the bush, arriving at the Zambezi Sun to be greeted by dancers in loincloths brandishing spears was a little like stepping onto the set of the Lion King and quite a shock! But once we got used to the airconditioning and rubbing shoulders at breakfast with Southern African Finance Ministers attending a conference in the hotel, all was well.

The location is unbeatable - just 4 minutes from the Falls and set in beautiful grounds. The food at Squires was very good - and so was the buffet, despite some complaints posted on various websites.

Staff were courteous and helpful. We'd have rated it Excellent if there'd been a choice of a fan-cooled room instead of airco, and if a map of the grounds had been handed to us on arrival (we had to hunt for Squires)." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"We enjoyed the possibility to visit the Victoria Falls more than once and whenever we liked from our hotel. The only other activity we did was visiting a village in the area, which was very interesting as well as confronting.

The swimming pool was also very nice and surprisingly not crowded; a pity the water was shallow at most places.

Lots of choice at breakfast, but a pity some of the bakery wasn't well done (it was as if they didn't know exactly how to prepare the food that was probably deep frozen). Different choices of restaurant." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The R family
Berks

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"good for the budged. Have dinner at the Royal Livingstone" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 161-170 of 219
85%
219 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
110
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa