This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp

Reviews of Chiawa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

72 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chiawa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chiawa Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Zebra

44% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 72
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"The most luxurious of all the places we stayed further upmarket compared to sister camp Old Mondoro
Run exactly the same
Very nice indeed
See whole trip comments" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
London

"Chiawa another nice camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Both managers and staff of Chiawa are friendly and the food was excellent.

Guiding was good though we did not see much on our night drives as we did at Tafika and the red light used does mean that taking photographs was tricky, though we do understand why it was used.

The canoe trip was excellent and I highly recommend taking the longer canoe trip. Having a meal on the boat as it travelled down the river was also a lovely surprise, though I wish we had known a little in advance as we would have taken our binoculars and cameras with us." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Chiawa Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"This was the largest of our camps and possibly a bit more luxurious. We did prefer the smaller more intimate camps but still enjoyed our stay here immensely.

Had a great walk which turned into an elephant dodge as there was so many elephants around including one that kept coming into the camp, especially at mealtimes.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Chiawa Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"A magical place, loved every second from the muffins at breakfast to the sounds of the hippos at night." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Northumber

"Chiawa 2014"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Excellent camp with wide choice of activities. Less intimate than other camps. Management excellent.

Lots of treats! Lunch on river and secluded dinner for two (50th wedding anniversary) on river at night. Everyone very friendly, helpful and flexible with activities. Felt quantity of food a bit too much for us with fairly heavy lunch and 4 courses at night." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Zurich

"Chiawa Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"millionaires shortbread!!!
Surprise-Lunch and Surprise-Dinner were stunning.
Very luxury accommodation.
But still a lot of wildlife. Even a huge male elephant in the camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Chiawa Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2014
"Very welcoming and perfectly kept camp.
Good guiding , good food .... and perfect laundry service !

Surprise boatlunch ON the Zambezi.
Thanks to Anita and Peter

Going west we encountered more vehicles from lodges not within the park." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Chiawa offers luxury in the bush!"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"Chiawa occupies a great location and overall the standards are very high. It is luxurious and is a great place to stay for two or three nights and the guiding is to a very good standard.

A great aspect of the Lower Zambezi is the opportunity to spend time on the river and adopt a leisurely pace to observing the birds and animals. The canoe trip is a wonderful experience.

Not something to dwell on but the camp sometimes felt "over managed" meaning that it was not always clear what roles the management were trying to fulfil!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Derbyshire

"Heaven on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"On arrival at the river from Royal Airstrip, we were given a short presentation by 2 young people regarding the Educational Programme being undertaken. We had been given no warning of this and we were led to believe that it was to fill in the time before the boat would be ready to leave for Chiawa. We are afraid that this may have coloured the way we approached the matter; if this could be explained to the 2 people concerned and our appreciation expresses to them.

It was great to meet Grant Cumings and hear his views. Just for the record, our "carbon tax" was given to him to be used in his Education Project.

Like the others, it was an excellent place to stay with both Management & Staff wanting to make our stay memorable and succeeding." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K & Ms R
Florida

"Gorgeous River Setting and Special Treats"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2013
"I've been longing to go back to Chiawa Camp since I stayed there in 1998, and am pleased to have finally returned. The river is still as beautiful as I remembered, but Chiawa has "grown up," with more tents, larger tents, 24-7 hot water and electricity, and 12 hours of internet.

The service is superb, and the managers (Stuart and Maddy and Van and Esmerelda) and staff are eager to please. We appreciated having great flexibility in our activities and schedule. Taking advantage of the wonderful river setting, we mostly opted for boat trips and were pleased that they could be arranged whenever we wanted them. The boatmen were also excellent guides, and our most frequent guide, Ruben, will soon sit for his guide exam.

The food is spectacular--not surprising since Van is a chef by training. He planned several special surprises, such as lunch and dinner on the barge for the two of us. These events required extra time and preparation, and we appreciated his thoughtfulness.

The tents are spacious and well equipped (with a few minor oddities such as faucets that barely clear the lip of the sink, making simple hand-washing a challenge). Some have limited views of the river because of vegetation, but we were pleased with our tent (#7) which looked out on both the Zambezi and a dry river bed where elephants, bushbuck, impala, baboons and vervet monkeys came to drink.

In truth, I missed the smaller, more intimate Chiawa Camp of 1998, but I enjoyed getting to know the new incarnation. And I'm very glad to have also visited its sister camp, Old Mondoro, which is very reminiscent of the "Old" Chiawa." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 72
98%
72 reviews of Chiawa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
9
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa