This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ole-Sereni
Ole-Sereni
Ole-Sereni

Reviews of Ole-Sereni

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ole-Sereni and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
Ms K & Ms R
Florida

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2014
"This was a good choice for a short overnight before starting our safari." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Good hotel, ideally positioned for airports"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"We only stayed one night in the Ole-Sereni due to the flights times from Wilson Airport to the games lodges. The travel arrangements from Nairobi International Airport to the hotel worked well although even late at night the traffic in Nairobi is terrible.

The rooms were reasonably well apppointed, comfortable beds and good shower facilities. Our room backed out onto the new flyover currently being built in Nairobi but the noise from the work didn't interrupt our sleep. Hotel has free wi-fi although it took a couple of trips to the reception before we could get access codes that worked.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special, pretty much what you would get in any large commerical hotel around the world.

Travel to Wilson Airport the following morning was an interesting experience, the rush hour in Nairobi lasts about 3 hours apparently so leave plenty of time and the driving has to be seen to be believed. Our driver took us on back roads to avoid the worst congestion through the city centre otherwise we would probably have missed out flight.

All in all a good hotel for an overnight stay in Nairobi." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms AW
SW London

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"The hotel restaurant service was very slow; a lot of staff, but had to ask three different people for a coffee.

What I like about the hotel was the fact you could game view on site." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Rayleigh

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2014
"From prior research, the Hotel looked fabulous.

We arrived on our flight from UK round 2145hrs and did not get to the hotel until around 2315hrs so not only was it dark but we were very tired. Checking in was a bit tedious even though there was only three people in front of us, everything seems to work very slowly. There were three positions behind the check in desk but only one person in attendance.

Unfortunately we also arrived at a time when it transpired that the electronic door cards did not work hence when we finally got into our room around 0015hrs and came out out to see our friends we could not get back in and had to wait 20mins for assistance because everyone had the same problem. The staff did not seem very well trained to deal with this sort of problem.

As we had a pickup at 0600 to go back to Nairobi airport our experience was not what it should have been.

After we had checked in we had organised a packed breakfast to take with us, which when arriving at 0545 the next morning was not ready as the information has not passed between Checkin and the restaurant, not good. Anyway, the hotel looks fabulous, the room was great, just the service and our our tiredness let everything down.

If it was not so far away, I would love to repeat the experience so that the Hotel could do me justice." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr P
Ringwood

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2014
"Probably a very nice hotel but we arrived about 11 so were tired and ready for bed/too late to eat other than birthday cake they had supplied. There was a problem with the electronic door 'keys' which delayed our going to sleep.

Because we had to be picked up at 6 the hotel agreed to provide breakfast boxes - however it was evident from the tables that some people had eaten before the stated 6 a.m. Breakfast time." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Amberley

"Base Camp Eagles View"

1 night Arrived 17 Feb 2014
"I only stayed the one night after arriving in Nairobi from London in the evening and leaving after breakfast.

The rooms and service were perfectly acceptable. It was novel being in the converted USA Embassy building...were all our conversation being recorded?" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms S
EmlynGarden

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"We were given a road view room when we think we were due a deluxe park view room. However, it was too late at night when we arrived to bother to complain - especially as check in had taken so long anyway.

The new road being built right outside will make the hotel pretty noisy.

We did go back to the hotel for a meal before our flight home and that was very good - in the 4th floor restaurant." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr MW & Mr M
France

"Adequate stop-over"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2014
"We had to stop over in Nairobi for a night to get an early flight the next morning and this is the closest hotel to the airport.

Though the decor isn't to European tastes, it served its purpose just fine ." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Ole Sereni comments"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2014
"Overall impression was of "an old lady past her prime" (I don't know how old it is but that does not matter)
The bed was the hardest thing I have ever slept on - seriously uncomfortable and I hardly slept despite being tired after a long haul flight.

Three items in the room were broken or did not work - the most important being the door lock which in the current security environment in Kenya worried me quite some." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Chichester

"Ole-Sereni location is great"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2014
"Ole-Sereni is very well positioned for accessing the airport as you can take a back road to avoid the terrible Nairobi traffic. It was lovely to have a great buffet breakfast overlooking Nairobi National Park.

The two downsides for us were the hard beds (a travel agent we met says she asks for her guests to be given extra padding!) and the fact that we were given a room directly above the entrance and there was considerable noise from vehicles/people arriving and departing throughout the night." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 55
79%
55 reviews of Ole-Sereni by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
25
8
3
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (78 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (49 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (32 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (26 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


95% (4 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa